×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Stolen Season (Alex McKnight Series #7)
     

A Stolen Season (Alex McKnight Series #7)

4.4 23
by Steve Hamilton
 

See All Formats & Editions

In Edgar Award–winner Steve Hamilton’s latest novel, Detroit ex-cop Alex McKnight faces his absolute darkest hour in his most engrossing, emotionally complex, high-stakes adventure yet…
 
A COLD FATE

On a freezing night in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula, a night that wouldn’t feel so unusual if it

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

A Stolen Season (Alex McKnight Series #7) 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the Upper Peninsular of Michigan, retired Detroit cop Alex McKnight noted how freezing the Fourth of July is this year as he stops in Brimley for a drink or two and a baseball game on TV to warm his insides though he knows summer here lasts one day. Even a brass monkey would freeze its balls off in this cold. Alex, his so-called sleuthing partner Leon Prudell (of Prudell-McKnight Investigation fame) and Coast Guard Auxiliary Tyler soon are outside in the cold rescuing three drunken men (Cap, Harry, and Brucie) from a boating accident in nearby Waishkey Bay. --- Not long after saving the lives of the trio, the grateful threesome return to Brimley and accuse Alex and his two friends (make that one pal and a possible bud) of stealing their locked box from their devastated boat. Angrily, Alex does a bit of investigating and learns that the gruesome threesome are extorting the Bay Mills Indian tribe out of government funded painkillers that they resell on the black market. As he continue his inquiries, his Ontario police officer girlfriend Natalie Reynaud arrives at his cabin in Paradise because her undercover illegal arms case has connections on the American side of Lake Superior that soon ties into Alex¿s prescription medicine investigation. --- The seventh McKnight mystery is a superb entry that not only brings to life the area, but also highlights a growing problem with prescription pill contraband. The story line is filled with twists and turns, and red herrings as everyone seems as if they are double crossing one another until the shocking climax. Steve Hamilton is at his Edgar best with this unnerving tale in which the chilling weather fits the mood. --- Harriet Klausner
jytn More than 1 year ago
Alex must deal with a great amount of emotions and of course dangers in this book. Vinnie, Leon, and Jackie are all there to help and even Chief Maven plays a part in this one. I really enjoy these books and cannot wait to get to the next one!
tedfeit0 More than 1 year ago
Summer is a very short season on the Upper Peninsula of Michigan; but in this story it almost never appears, along with some semblance of normalcy. Which is not unusual in an Alex McKnight plot. It begins when a boat with three men aboard crashes into some old pilings on Lake Superior and Alex, his sometime partner, Leon, and a third man rescue the drowning passengers, who turn out to be less than desirable characters. The progression from that point on is one beating after another for either Alex or his blood brother, Vinnie. Alex also faces tragedy and almost loses his life a few times as well. He comes to terms with his long-distance romance with his Canadian policewoman girlfriend, Natalie Reynaud, and becomes involved in not one but two international major crimes. The local color is always a major feature of the series, and the descriptions of the weather and geography are no disappointment. Characterizations are strong and the action is vivid. Although this book is a reprint of a novel first published in hardcover in 2005, it is as timely and interesting today as it was almost a decade ago, and is recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like Steve Hamilton's writing, and the Alex McNight series in particular, this is one of Steve's best! If your new to the series, I wouldn't start with this one - go back to at least #5. I keep thinking he's going to run out of things to say, but it certainly hasn't happened yet. Good Stuff!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
corvettemary More than 1 year ago
If you are from Michigan this is a "must read". Even if you are not from Michigan, the Alex McNight series is great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Arlene70AL More than 1 year ago
I only found Steve Hamilton last summer and since then I have read all of his books. The characters are interesting and loyal to the hero of all the books, Alex McKnight. Once you get to know the characters you'll love them too. I would recommend this book (and all the other Steve Hamilton books) as good mysteries with lots of information about the upper peninsula of Michigan.
hockeygranny More than 1 year ago
I seem to be out of step with the other reviewers (except perhaps Kirkus Reviews) because I really disliked this book in the series. More pages were devoted to a mawkish account of Alex's obsession with Natalie, whom I have not liked since her introduction in the previous book, than to the mystery. The book lacked the quirky humor that made the previous books -- and Alex -- so enjoyable. It felt almost as if the book had been written by someone else because it was so different from the previous books. I've started the next book in the series and, thankfully, the writing style and Alex seem to be back on track. My advice is to skip this book in the series and go straight to "Misery Bay." You won't miss a thing.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It's extremely rare for me to remain loyal to an author who completly breaks my heart. Steve Hamilton is one of those very few. A Stolen Season is beautiful in all of its violence and I continue to love Alex more and more with each book. I love how the weather and its elements remain as strong a character in Steve's novels as the humans. But man, Steve, cut this guy a tiny break. Please. My heart is heavy for Alex and his 'I'm destined to be alone' thoughts. I'm ready for the next Alex novel and I'm going to have a real hard time waiting for it.