×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Stone Prison (A Gothic Macabre Tale-Book #1 in the Twisted Tales Series)
     

Stone Prison (A Gothic Macabre Tale-Book #1 in the Twisted Tales Series)

4.0 11
by H.M. Ward
 
By NEW YORK TIMES & USA TODAY bestselling author H.M. Ward. This new series of novellas have a Gothic feel with a dark twist reminiscent of Edgar Allan Poe's famous stories.

This dark tale is like the fables of old, with a twist...

While other seventeen-year-old girls are dreaming of marrying the prince, Ella is hoping that she doesn't get caught.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stone Prison 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OMG! The twist on this story is awesome! It's like the old fairy tales that were gory and dark, but the ending twisted in a way that I didn't see coming. Amazing writing. Kept me turning the page from beginning to end. Can't wait for more stories in this series.
AngieHAH More than 1 year ago
This was amazing! Can't wait to read more stories like this. It was like the old scary fairy tales that were kinda gross and really nasty bad guys. As for the length, it says novella and is listed in short stories. Read the listing. It says the paperback is 77 pages, but u can blow through it on the Nook screen really fast.
JimGumm More than 1 year ago
Surprisingly good. There hasn't been anything like this around for a long time. Had a huge dark twist. Didn't see it coming. Looking forward to more of this series.
MikeWak More than 1 year ago
Awesome story! I read this right around the time they announced the discovery of all those lost fairy tales in Germany, from the time of Grimm Bros. Now I'm on a huge fairy tale kick - and there just aren't enough out there! It's dark, macabre, and has a great twist. As for the length... come on, people! It's listed in "short stories," says it's a novella, and gives the length. I'll happily pay $3 for the next one in the series.
Smcfarland13 More than 1 year ago
Great! Dark and gothic. Fast and easy read that was an easy flow. Great character detail with several twists and turns. I loved that it was had a fairy tale type feel with a surprise at the end! Great read!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
STONE PRISON is aptly named, and the genre fits it perfectly. "A Dark Gothic Tale" is an ideal description. I enjoyed the many subtle references to just about every classic fairy tale. Yes, the ending was somewhat abrupt, but it fits the genre and definitely matches the pacing of the tale. In fact, the pacing throughout was amazing. H.M. Ward is a master storyteller...as this short dark Gothic illustrates. This short left unanswered questions, such as: * Why did the older woman (I refuse to give away too much here) make Ella steal supposedly inconsequential things from the palace in years past? (never answered in the short) * Why, at the end, when the magic had dried up...was Ella still in her magical ballgown? (not that I would've preferred her in the buff...but perhaps her ragged day dress?) Heed the warnings-- not for children! (Even though original, historic fairy tales were meant to frighten children into behaving the way their parents desired.) Other than being gruesome (and graphic in fairy-tale violence), the language is clean and there is no sexual behavior.
b_ls More than 1 year ago
I am a huge fan of fairy tales! This was a fairytale like no other I have ever read. The summary says it best. It is an old tale with a heck of a twist! 10,000 words and I couldn’t put it down. I don’t want to give too much away and it was such a short tale which makes it hard. She fit a very entertaining story into a short novella. I was like, oh Ella such a nice girl. Then I was like oh love it’s so cute! Then I was like holy crap O_o! Sorry that is the best way to summarize my feelings. That’s a lot of feelings for 10,000 words. I should not be surprised that I enjoyed this short story so much. Demon Kissed is one of my favorite series. I can’t wait to see what happens in later installments of the Twisted Tales books.
sassypickle More than 1 year ago
Short and super fast read, best read in one sitting. This is not your typical fairy tale ... get ready to be surprised at the end. Reads like a children's book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Maybe its my fault for not reading the reviews but I'm pretty upset I just spent $3 for 20 pages. The other 7 are title pages and pieces of other stories. Good I guess but I finished it in less than an hour.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well its only 27 pages and i like the twist but it was really short hmmm
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very short book.