×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Stories of Eva Luna
     

The Stories of Eva Luna

4.7 9
by Isabel Allende
 

See All Formats & Editions

An intoxicating collection of short fiction by one of the most beloved writers of our time.

Eva Luna is a young woman whose powers as a storyteller bring her friendship and love. Lying in bed with her European lover, refugee and journalist Rolf Carlé, Eva answers his request for a story “you have never told anyone before” with these twenty-three

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stories of Eva Luna 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
G-Perez More than 1 year ago
This is definitely a book for readers who love Magic Realism. Isabel Allende creates amazing stories and situations, some more dramatic than others but all very creative and very different from each other. She does a great job of incorporating her style that everyone loves. She catches you from the very first tale, "Two Words" in which a girl actually 'sells words'. This book is perfect for those who just want to read a small chapter before bed or have a lot of time to kill but lose interest quickly. It is definitely stand alone, a person does not have to read "Eva Luna" in order to understand this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was filled with stories from the most creative mind. - Mind Grasping - Surprising - Clever - Intense All these aspects were put into this book with such intelligent thinking. Isabel Allende is one amazing writer who creates different and cultural stories that take you by your chair and make you think about what just went on. The tales in this book are crazy,nail biting,feirce and just ridiculous sometimes, but it works. What makes most people keep reading a book? A good book gets you hooked in the first sentence. This book does just that. It's jam packed with altered ways to clasp your attention into what's happening. The stories of Eva Luna is fascinating book that i think anybody would be fond of. The thing i like most about these tall tales is that they are so different fomr each other, each new chapter is like jumping into a new book each time.Legends that tell of made up monsters that make you think it could have been real once apon a time, and myths that make you curious as to just how these things are actually talking place.The characters in this book all portrayed a different aspect of them that made you have respect for them.This book sparked my curiosity because the first little adventure i read kept me reading all the other ones. To me it's so interesting because the stories are either romantic, strange, or just plain interesting to get your head into. There were a few things i did not enjoy in some of the stories. For example there were a couple different scenario's about man handeling or cruelty toward women so maybe the author of this book writes these things to show past experiences. Whatever the case Isabel Allende is a great writer and should pursue in the types of stories such as these.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Walk far off the beaten track with companion, carrying your wine, bread and cheese, as if they too were another person on this picnic. Spread out the largest blanket you have in a meadow, or a grassy outcropping overlooking a lake. Breathe deeply and let go of the world. Give your lover a slow kiss, ask him/her to ready the food while you read 'two words'. Think on the passion that directs your soul and body to one person, for however long your passion lasts without waning. Then visit Amadeo Paralta and ask yourself 'Can beauty be a conceptual thing, which exists in the purest mind and soul, while reality may well be the most cruel and unkind to true beauty, the beauty that comes from the heart?'
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Stories of Eva Luna are enough to make Scherezade herself blush. A wonderful collection by a master storyteller.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The book has a hypnotic feel to it that would make you refuse to put it down. The stories are sometimes funny, sometimes creepy, sometimes there's a happy ending, and sometimes you would wonder where the heck the end of the story went! Very original and the way Allende describes her characters will make them pop out of the book--no matter how dull your imagination may be! I read this book as an English class requirement and thank heavens to my professor who assigned it! I highly recommend this book to everyone who wants to enjoy a really, really good book without having to understand complicated ideas or heavy english.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I recommend any of her books. This book was so good I didn't want to finish it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
These hypnotic, strange and poetic stories deal with the darker side of love. In each tale, Isabel Allende paints mini-portraits of men and women who suffer from the twin-disease of passion and obsession. These stories will haunt you long after you've finished reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The first story that hooked me on Allende was "If You Touched My Heart", a great story about a girl that is suduced by a appalingly self-centered man that ends up locking her in a basement for the rest of her life. Allende's imagination is remarkable and is only complimented by her beautifully sensual style of writing.