×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Storm Glass
  • Alternative view 1 of Storm Glass
  • Alternative view 2 of Storm Glass
     

Storm Glass

4.3 129
by Maria V. Snyder
 

See All Formats & Editions

As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers—particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade—require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again. But when the mission

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Storm Glass 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 129 reviews.
sj9642 More than 1 year ago
I loved it. I want everyone I know to read it (along with the Study series of course). I picked it up last night and before I knew it, it was 4am. The only problem I have with Maria Snyder's books is that I wish they'd go on and on forever. They never seen long enough - even thought this one was over 440 pages. I enjoyed Opal's story and was glad she ended up with who she did. I also liked seeing characters from the Study books in the story. I can't wait for the next one to come out and look forward to anything that involves the Ixia/Sitia world.
mrdarcy3 More than 1 year ago
Opal studies at the Keep with the other magicians. She doesn't feel she's living up to expectations. She continues with her glass making skills at a shop outside of the Keep, creating animals that help the magicians communicate from a distance. While making glass figurines, which helps her relax, she's urgently called back to the Keep. There's a problem with the Stormdancer's Orbs. They're shattering, killing the Stormdancers and making it impossible to fill the orbs with energy. Opal must travel there to discover the why the glass is shattering. While there are other glass experts, it's possible that the glassmaker used magic to enhance the orbs. Opal must leave immediately to help solve the situation. During the journey, Opal and her magician companion are attacked; it's clear that someone doesn't want the Stormdancer's Orbs working or maybe someone just wants to steal the secret recipe for themselves. Opal must be careful not to reveal too much information to anyone, unless she wants her life to be in severe danger. Can she solve the Stormdancer's problem and help them fill the orbs before it's too late or will she be stopped? Opal's adventure is set in the same world as Yelena from Poison Study, Magic Study, and Fire Study. Characters overlap in the series, extending knowledge from the previous series. It's good to read the previous books prior to this series, but it isn't necessary. I really enjoyed reading about the workings of glass blowing. It's something I've always wanted to try. Opal's tale is just as addicting with danger, romance, betrayal, jealous, and magic. It's hard to put this book down, it's so addicting. I'm already eagerly awaiting the next installment of the tale - which comes out Sept 1st of this year.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Storm Glass is an adventure which follows a character that was in the Magic Study series. Recommend reading that series first as it introduces and develops many of the characters that are in Storm Glass, as well as defines the main character. It is a good book, although it moves too fast through some of the "magic" details - how, why, etc. - leaving the reader a little confused and feeling like something was missed. There is a mild cliffhanger at the end, leaving us wanting for the next book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the first 3 books and i was hoping she would keep going, and when she did I read this book in 2 days ( work is so annoying getting in the way of reading time). Great story line! I get sucked in to the setting its old fashion but not really. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Sitia the Stormdancer clan is near panicked over some recent deadly incidents. An apparent diabolically clever traitor has killed some glassmakers and destroyed the glass orbs they were creating that is needed to catch elemental power. They know this unknown adversary must be stopped before the realm is devastated beyond recovery by the power of unabated torrents.------------- Master Magician Cowan assigns glassmaker and apprentice magician Opal Cowan to investigate the deadly incidents as he believes her two skills make her uniquely qualified to learn what is going on. The two males who seem interested in her, Kade the Stormdancer who grieves the death of his twin and Ulrick the glassmaker who is a long time friend, help her. None of them realize the peril they place themselves in from crafty foes; none of whom have any compunction with killing someone even a person they have known for years.----------------------- This is a terrific mystery fantasy told mostly by the unconfident Opal, who believes she is a failure due to her inability to expand her magical skills, which is ironic as she was a heroine in MAGIC STUDY. The action-packed story line is fast-paced, but character driven while the whodunit is fun to follow. Fans of the Study trilogy will enjoy returning to that world as Maria V. Snyder writes an entertaining coming of age simply superb fantasy whodunit. ------------- Harriet Klausner
SmalltownSR More than 1 year ago
Fantastic story, non-stop action, very creative; I finished it in 24 hours. My one small complaint is that Opal keeps having the same feeling guilt, and coming to terms with her guilt over and over again.
AVoraciousReadr More than 1 year ago
*Book source ~ Purchased at Audible From Goodreads: As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's glass orbs, killing their most powerful magicians. The Stormdancers—particularly the mysterious and mercurial Kade—require Opal's unique talents to prevent it happening again. But when the mission goes awry, Opal must tap in to a new kind of magic as stunningly potent as it is frightening. And the further she delves into the intrigue behind the glass and magic, the more distorted things appear. With lives hanging in the balance—including her own—Opal must control powers she hadn't known she possessed… - powers that might lead to disaster beyond anything she's ever known. Guest Reviewers T ~ My 16-yr-old son K ~ My 15-yr-old son First, we listened to the Study series and really enjoyed it, so we thought continuing in this world be entertaining. Well, it kinda sorta was. We like Opal as the protagonist and some of our favorite characters are back, such as Leif, Yelena, Fisk, Ari and Janco. Unfortunately, no Valek. There are new characters introduced with various results: everyone likes Kade, doesn’t like Ulrich and agrees Devlin makes a good villain. The mystery is twisty, turny and keeps us guessing and the villains are appropriately villainous. The overall story arc is pretty good even though by the end the mystery isn’t really solved and there are some ends not tied up. It is a trilogy, so we know they will be eventually. However, the narrator ruins it for us. Yes, we really, really enjoyed Gabra Zackman’s narration of the Study series, but we were prepared to give Jennifer Van Dyck a fair shot. However, she mispronounced some words, made Janco sound Russian and, in general, we didn’t care for her narration. So we won’t be continuing with the series. K and I have read the books, but T hasn’t. He’s ok with not listening to any more since he’s not a huge Fantasy fan anyway. Plus, Valek is his favorite character and since he won’t be showcased in Opal’s series, it’s no great loss to him. Quotes: “Yippee. I’ve been promoted from fire lighter to delivery boy. I’ll write a letter home to Mother. She’ll be so pleased.” ~ Leif “I know I hated magic for a reason," Janco said. "Congratulations. This is the first time you've had a VALID reason to hate something," Ari countered. "Remember your campaign against sand?" "Sand! Horrid little stuff. Gets everywhere. I had a perfectly good argue--" "Janco." Ari's voice rumbled deep in his throat. In a heartbeat, Janco switched gears. "Well, this blood magic sounds worse than sand.” “Everyone grieves in different ways. For some, it could take longer or shorter. I do know it never disappears. An ember still smolders inside me. Most days, I don’t notice it, but, out of the blue, it’ll flare to life.” ~ Opal
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are any of this authors books for preteens or teens???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Copper1Fox More than 1 year ago
Following on from the "Study" series you follow a magician glass maker through her training and are quickly thrown into a very indepth hiararchy of political intrigue and espionage and are kept guessing all the way through the book to some unexpected events. Would strongly recommend this to anyone who has ready the "Study" series as you'll already know some of the politics in this book but it isn't necessary as you are filled in on the basics you need to understand the book. Give it a go
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am a huge book reader and have read hundreds of books but I have to say Snyder's writings are my favorite. I have been completely captivated by all of Snyder's books and this was no exception. As soon as I got into the middle of the book I could not stop!! Finished the rest of the book in one day! I strongly recommend her books you will not be disappointed.