×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Strange Candy
  • Alternative view 1 of Strange Candy
  • Alternative view 2 of Strange Candy
     

Strange Candy

4.0 149
by Laurell K. Hamilton
 

See All Formats & Editions

The #1 New York Times bestselling author's short story collection-including an all-new Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter story-now in paperback.

From a woman who marries into a family of volatile wizards to a couple fleeing a gang of love-hungry cupids, from a girl who seeks sanctuary in the form of a graceful goose to the disgruntled superhero Captain Housework,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Strange Candy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 149 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My fault I should have review the book before purchasing, if I had I would have skipped this book and went on to the next one. The short stories were good but I think they should not have been added as one of the books to the Anita Blake Vampire Series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For those who are Anita Blake fans, you'll find a couple of stories in this, but the rest are different short stories and I found very few interesting or intriguing enough to recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was skeptical at first about this purchase. Anita Blake is my favorite character and I was concerned that I wouldn't enjoy Hamilton's works outside of Blake's world. I'm please to say my fears were unfounded, her dark sense of humor translates and transforms in each story. I found myself wanting all of the shorts to carry on, these characters captivated me right away. I hope she will publish another compilation of short stories soon!
alexuszabel More than 1 year ago
I love* Laurell K. Hamilton's series (Anita Blake, Meredith Gentry) so I grabbed just for the heck of it. Three or four cought my eye, but the rest were okay. Ish. -- Heavy on the ish. Not bad, but not very memorable either. It was stuck in passive tense which really annoyed me. (It had been a.. She had gone to..) I cought myself constantley changing it in my mind. I just read this book a few days ago and there are onlly a handful I even remember; a triton, vampire real estate, one about geese, magicians, and one mentioning Jean - Claude. But that's all I really remember. I was a little disappointed, but not entirely. It's one of those that you have to read, just 'cause, but it's nothing to get excited about. I guess I could recommend it.
harstan More than 1 year ago
This fourteen short story fantasy collection showcases Laurell K. Hamilton¿s dark humor and strong female characters. Six are brand new three were published in 1989 four in 1990s and one in 2005. The first tale, ¿Those by Themselves¿ is an Anita Blake story back in her early days when she was an unconfident inexperienced rookie and the Hamilton-Blake mythos had not quite developed for followers of the executioner this will be fun culture shock as she has come a long way baby. Three of the contributions are set in the sword-and-sorcery realm of NIGHTSEER (the author¿s first novel from the earl 1999s). The compilation is solid with most of the stories great fun. Fans of Ms. Hamilton and anyone who appreciate her dark droll fantasies will want to read this delightful anthology.------------------------- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually prefer my books having more sustenance but I so enjoy the characters she creates I have to admit this was fun. Great having small doses to read before bed that don't make me stay up all night!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have not read any of the Anita Blake stories, this collection has two stories that will introduce you to her alternate world of werewolves, vampires and zombies in St. Louis, Missouri, of all places. Other stories in the collection include cupids, vampires, witches and other supernatural creatures. These stories are really twisted, so be prepared to have your head spinning by the end of the stories. An excellent introduction to an author of really unique supernatural stories that are situated in the every day. If you like Charlaine Harris, or Lynsay Sands, you will find Laurell K. Hamilton to be very interesting reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kristen!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
aats More than 1 year ago
These short, dark stories reminded me of why I love Hamilton's writing. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SOME OF LAURELL HAMILTONS SHORT STORIES IN ONE! LETS YOU KNOW WHAT OTHER IDEAS SHE HAD RUNNING THROUGH HER HEAD!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But still good she has donebetter. But i am a loyal fan so Ill kep reading. Thanks Girl!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed all of the short stories presented in this collection but "here be dragons" really made the book for me. It's definitely worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago