×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Stranger's Gift (Women of Pinecraft Series #1)
     

A Stranger's Gift (Women of Pinecraft Series #1)

4.5 24
by Anna Schmidt
 

See All Formats & Editions

You’ll be swept away by the endearing characters created by award-winning author Anna Schmidt. On the heels of a horrific hurricane, Hester Detlef, field director for the Mennonite Disaster Service, blows into the life of self-made, shunned Amish man John Hafner. Will she find a way through his shield and into his heart? Although the hurricane has left John

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Stranger's Gift 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hesitated when trying to decide whether to read this book. An Amish series set in Florida? But am so glad I made the decision to go for.it. One of the.things I enjoy most, other than an authors ability to.make you truly care about the characters, is learning something new about Amish culture. Anna Schmidt did it all. I connected with the characters, her descriptions of the tornado's aftermath made me feel as if I were there. I hate reading reviews that tell me the whole story. So.much that I no longer need to read the book. For that reason I won't spoil it for.you! Purchase & read. O promise you won't be dissappointed. Within the first few chapters Anna drew me into the volunteer organizations she was writing about. So much so that I have already.signed up on two.of the websites, MCC & MDS, to receive their.monthly news letters. While I can.not do volunteer work, I.hope to donate not only.money but possibly enough furniture & other household items to furnish a few homes for people trying to.rebuild their lives. My parents died recently, within 15 months of each other. I was left to pack.up over 50 yrs of memories. Everything was put in rented storage spaces. While I have been trying to find organizations who would welcome not only slightly used items but also new clothes, new shoes. As well as furniture that were in unused guest rooms.
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
A Stranger's Gift by Anna Schmidt 5 STARS It makes me want to go help more or at least get out and make a goal again to make at least 52 hats this year for those in need. I enjoyed reading this book to start the new year. John Steiner has spent the last two years since he moved to Florida fixing up the old house,orchards,gardens and packing warehouse. He wants to be alone and self sustaining on his land. He is Amish but left his church and state when they shunned him. Two different people came and told him he need to ride out the hurricane in a shelter. John refused he went to a shelter the last time and it was crowded and he didn't have to go. Hester Detweiler is in charge of one of the Mennonite charities that help in times of diaster. Because John's Aunt's is a Senator she was asked to go warn him. Hester resented having to go warn him and than he refused to go. She felt their were others who needed her help more. Margery Barker is a widow that lives and runs a fishing charters close to John and trying for the past two years to friend him. She was the first to try and get him into a shelter. Well the hurricane hit his place hard. The river was coming into his house fast as he was gathering stuff to take upstairs with him the roof and a wall crashed in on him. He was lucky to have survived holding onto a beam. all of his trees the old and the new ones destroyed. Could not get to town by road with all the trees down across his road. Chicken coop destroyed, damage to the warehouse. Broke his wrist and had to be airlifted out. He had to learn again that he had to accept help and give it. Forgive himself for his mother's death and realize that he can trust others again. It is a Christian story of helping others,relying on prayer and scriptures. That positive things can come out of our trials. I would read gladly more books from Anna. I was given this ebook to read in exchange of honest review from Netgalley. 11/01/2011 PUB Barbour Publishing, Inc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was hesitant to read this considering that i'm not a religious person, but i'm glad i did. Besides being well written, I would recommend this to anyone who would appreciate a different perspective, and possibly some relief from the doldrums of the average american lifestyle
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this book. Anna Schmidt is a wonderful writer. She really brings the book alive.
RadersFavorite_Reviews More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by Lynn F. for Readers Favorite A Stranger's Gift by Anna Schmidt is a novel about two different individuals: Hester Detlef, a Mennonite woman and John Hafner, a shunned Amish man. Hester, the daughter of a Mennonite minister, is a registered nurse and head of the Mennonite Disaster Service. That she is well past the age of what one figures a woman should be married does not bother Hester. She enjoys what she does, and if the right man comes along, then so be it. John, leaving the Amish way in Ohio, moved to Florida, bought his own place and will show that he can live a solitary and self sufficient life...that is, until two storms race into his life: the category 4 hurricane named Hester and a Mennonite woman named Hester, who seemed like the hurricane herself. Ignoring her pleas for him to leave, John not only loses almost all he has but also sustains injuries. As Hester keeps intruding into his life, will John restore his faith not only in his religion but once again in people and especially this stranger called Hester? With both of them feeling guilty over a past, can they let go and find a future? This is the first book in the author's Women of Pinecraft Series and a very good start. I found the novel to be very well written. The author portrayed the characters as normal people, and not perfect. They had their faults, jealousy, egos and more, but they worked to overcome them instead of shrugging them off. As I read, I found the characters were very easy to become involved with and felt like I was right there in the midst of the cleanup after the hurricane, as they all worked together to help each other get back into their homes. There was no one who was any different regarding race or religion, rich or poor, fancy home or homeless that did not work together to help each other. That¿s the way it should be after any disaster. I feel this is a great start to a wonderful series that takes place in Pinecraft, Florida. It's a wonderful Christian novel with a very enlightened message,¿ Love your neighbor as yourself,¿ and I highly recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't want to put this book down . It was so good. I will be reading more books by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were believable and the overall story was really sweet. I fully enjoyed reading this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
enjoyable read.
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
A Stranger's Gift by Anna Schmidt Book 1 ¿ The Women of Pinecraft John Steiner was a loner. He had left his Amish community in Indiana after his mother's death and bought property in Florida. As Hurricane Hester is building up in the area a few people try to get John to leave but he refuses to go to a shelter and leave the home he has spent so much time and money fixing up. After the hurricane hits and his property is in dire need of help, he refuses the Mennonite disaster crews and anyone else who offers help. The young woman who tried to get him to leave before the hurricane and has returned once again is rightly named Hester. She seems as strong and stubborn as the same named hurricane. John has changed his clothing style but otherwise he has stayed with his Amish upbringing. And yet he feels unbalanced and unsure where he truly belongs. He had started this journey a few years back after reading Walden: Life in the Woods by Henry David Thoreau. A story of a man who goes away from civilization as well. Hester Detweiler is busy doing for everyone she can. As she helps run the disaster group her father started and working with others in the County. She went to a non-church school to become a nurse and some in her community feel that the Pastor's daughter works too much with the outside world. To Hester it is helping people. She has trouble containing her anger when she has to ¿babysit¿ a stubborn man who did not leave his home and now needs help as he recovers, just because his aunt is a Congresswoman! John does not want help or appreciate it and yet she is forced to help him. She also has Samuel, a man who came from Pennsylvania and works building furniture with her father. She knows the intention was for the two of them to marry but she does not feel romantic towards him. These two characters seem to lose all their peaceful heritage traits when they are anywhere in the same vicinity. At one point John does see the need to start helping those who stuck with him and helped him, he sees how selfish he has been. There are many unique characters such as Margery Barker- she runs boat charters and treats John as a son, Zeke who is homeless but from a wealthy family, the local crabby lady Olive Crowder who is always negative to Hester. This book also gave a view of all the workings before and after a hurricane and the different disaster organizations. **Book received through NetGalley for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A good read that I would have been willing to pay for, but especially good for free. A nice clean romance that shows characters struggling with Mother Nature, their past choices and tragedies, and their community and religious values. It also introduced me to aspects of the Mennonite faith and traditions that were new to me. I would read another book in this series or by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
drmomJM More than 1 year ago
I am an avid reader, and on average read one book every week. I have completed many series already so am always on the lookout for a new author. I am very happy to be able to recommend Anna Schmidt as a very talented writer whose strong story lines and clear descriptions along with thought provoking interactions between the members of the families and their communities kept me page turning riveted. I treasure the way that one's faith is shown to be a common thread and a strength, sometimes not fully comprehended, then seen again as the blessing it is. I just loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved the book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I so loved and enjoyed this book. A very good read for anyone who loves to read amish books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were believable and likable, not something I can say about every book.
Marilyn65 More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book very much.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago