×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Street Soldier: My Life as an Enforcer for Whitey Bulger and the Boston Irish Mob
     

Street Soldier: My Life as an Enforcer for Whitey Bulger and the Boston Irish Mob

4.1 31
by Edward J. MacKenzie
 

See All Formats & Editions

For decades the FBI let James “Whitey” Bulger get away with murder, an almost unbelievable story that entered a new chapter when Bulger was arrested in California and put on trial. During the 1980s, Edward J. MacKenzie, Jr., “Eddie Mac,” was a drug dealer and enforcer who would do just about anything for Bulger.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Street Soldier: My Life as an Enforcer for Whitey Bulger and the Boston Irish Mob 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
ashleym7342 More than 1 year ago
Street Soldier is a great read for people interested in the mafia. The writing style is not for the light hearted, there are some gruesome parts, but what you read is very fascinating. Mackenzie draws you in and makes you feel like you are out on the streets with in. He does not skimp on the details, Mackenzie lets you in on the most private details of his life. After reading this book you will look at Southie in a whole different life, and you might even wish you were there to see it all.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Before I read this gritty and plain-brutal book, I thought that the Irish street tough was a dead relic, for better or for worse. The contradictions in this book is stunning, and really adds to a very realistic and not so wholesome look at the inner workings of the mob. MacKenzie tells the story of who he was: a tough and vicious pugulist, reeking of sex, womanizing, and kickboxing with a bonus of details so personal that overwhelmes you, and makes this criminal seem very human. Nobody in this book is innocent. Especially Whitey Bulger. Bulger was the last of the last great Irish mob bosses. So, inevitably, we who have Irish origin romanticized him. Once, anybody reads this, nobody that has scruples could call this man decent. At best, he was a smart, calculating individual whose outward altruism was driven by internal ruthlessness. At worst, he is a sadistic killer, destroyer of children, drug dealer, and even pedophile. Hopefully, Mr. MacKenzie told the truth, maybe for catharsis, change of heart, or just money from his other life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Eloquent, Vivid, Shocking. This book is the window to a world where one either died or thrived at the mercy of one's own brutality. This is the story of a true survivor in an unfortunate world that he finds himself in. It is fantastic to know that a Tiger who kills ruthlessly has a code of honor and loyalty that many so-called civilized people lack.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Glad this guy didn't live in my neghborhood. Gritty, real and scairy. The scariest part is that this is true. A worthwhile read. Dives into some Irish American history also that I found extremely interesting.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't have time to read many book, so when I do read one I hope it is worth the time I spent. This one goes well beyond my expectations. I bought it on a Saturday night recently and finished it by Sunday morning. It was that good. Although a criminal, murdered, thug, and so on, Edzo(nickname for Eddie Mackenzie) is wise beyond his years and intelligent beyond his limited schooling. He writes very well (if he actually authored the book). If he didn't, he told the stories well enough and in enough descriptive detail that it was translated into a great novel. I am Irish. I am not a thug or a killer. I did however enjoy this story and was completely intrigued from page one right through page 241. I recommend this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When I read this book it was horrific to thimk that there are people out there who are willing to eat your finger and throw hot coffee at someone. I am glad that he exposed himself so we all know who is the bad guy. I thought the book was fantastic with all the details of beatings. I wouldn't want to mess with this fruit cake but he wrote a great story, and hopefully he has changed the way people think when they go out and do things that make someone like him come after them. say no to drugs and stay away from thugs, great book!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is an excellent account of true crime in a big city.I found it very hard to put this book down and read it in a matter of hours the best true story I have ever heard.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I found this book so fascinating, I've already read it twice! Eddie Mac is quite complex and I believe everyone can relate to him at some level. He shares painful details of his childhood, of how he grew up on the streets and eventually became an enforcer for Whitey Bulger. He offers readers a unique view into the Whitey Bulger days of South Boston and his own participation in the illegal activity that occurred. He names names, and is very specific about events. He shares many aspects of his personal life, such as being a husband and a father, as well as areas of life where he succeeded or failed. He makes it clear that he knew right from wrong and offers no excuses for his behavior. I hated him at times and cheered him on at other times. Despite it's serious subject matter, the book has many humorous parts and you can't help but find yourself turning the pages faster and faster! I highly recommend this book, as well as ALL SOULS by Michael Patrick MacDonald who grew up in the projects of Southie. I also recommend the well -researched, BLACK MASS by Dick Lehr and Gerard O'Neill.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awsome read. Sraight badass
lorettacic More than 1 year ago
If you are following the Whitey Bulger Story this is a must for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Like Kevin Weeks' 'Brutal', Eddir MNac's story is brutal, fascinating and compelling. Fortunately, it lacks the psychodrama babble that soem reviewers like to impart. Vicious - but you can't put it down.
Guest More than 1 year ago
hey it is adam parker tammys son i havent seen u in a while talk to u later