×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Strega Nona
  • Alternative view 1 of Strega Nona
  • Alternative view 2 of Strega Nona
     

Strega Nona

4.8 31
by Tomie dePaola
 

See All Formats & Editions

Tomie dePaola serves as "biographer" to his delightful Italian sorceress, Strega Nona, in this beautifully drawn prequel. The tale begins with little Nona's birth on a dark and stormy night, and ends where the original Strega Nona picks up-with Strega Nona taking on the bumbling, knock-kneed Big Anthony as an apprentice. This winsome story is illustrated

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Strega Nona 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Firestar51 More than 1 year ago
A good story for young children - entertaining and an easy opener for discussing one needing to take responsibility for the actions one takes. Set in easy to understand terms so even very young readers [4 or 5 yrs old]are able to see what happens when you do something you are told NOT to do... A favorite in our family with my 5 yr.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like strega n. Mees her match but this is good
Olivia-the-Great More than 1 year ago
Strega Nona By Tomie de Paola The people whisper about Strega Nona because she has a magic pot. Anthony made pasta for the people in the town. Anthony had to eat all the pasta all night long because he made a big mess. I will give it five stars. I love this book because Anthony had to eat all the pasta he made with the magic pot. It is good, awesome and great. I think moms, dads, kids, friends and family will like this book. I would recommend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book! My 4 year old enjoyed it as much as I did. Love the music with the narration and the illustrations are beautiful. This is a book all ages can enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My teacher read it i love it!!! I love tomie de polo check out the art lessan by tomie de polo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My st udent, love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite Tomie dePaola--great story, very appealing illustrations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Strega Nona is a wonderul book that allows children to peek into the costumes of the Italian culture. The books are engaging and children enjoy the fun illustrations. The strega non books also allow children to learn a few Italian words. I really enjoy the Strega Nona series and I highly recommend Strega Nona books to parents, students and fellow teachers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. I've read it to many of my students when they came to the school library. The pictures are wonderful. BUT, why does it cost more as an ebook than the hardcover???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have loved strega nona ever since i was little and now im twelve and i am sick in bed with a fever and i cant wait to read it one again
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a family classic for us, and we give it to all newborns in board book format. It's a perfect read-aloud book with a good moral, but also with a compassionate message.
michie8702 More than 1 year ago
This is one of my favorite childrens books. I had it when I was little and I'm planning on reading it to my children. I still remember that magic pasta pot! :)
Guest More than 1 year ago
Stega Nona or the old witch who everyone talked about in the town, went to see her for anything from an headache, to finding a husband, and getting off warts. She was the witch of the town that solved everyones problems. But Stega Nona was getting old and needed some help. So Big Anthony came to work for Strega Nona. He had to 'sweep the house and wash the dishes. You must weed the garden and pick the vegetables. You must feed the goat and milk her. Amd you must fetch the water. For this i will give you three coins and a place to sleep and food to eat.' So it was a deal, Big Anthony went to work for Strega Nona. Then one day while doing his chores he hears Strega Nona sing to her pasta pot. Then all of a sudden the pot began to make pasta like magic. Will Big Anthony use the pasta pot for himself? Will he do the spell right? Will he ever get it to stop? Read and you will find out. This book is a delight to read. I think that it is good for students because it helps them learn about what is not theirs to use. this book is good for second grade Tomie DePaola lived in Connecticu and studied at Pratt Instutue in Brooklyn, NY. He now lives in New Hampshire. dePaola, Tomie. SRTEGA NONA. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1975.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Such a FABULOUS book. my teacher taught this to us back in the second grade and i have loved it ever since!! MARVELOUS!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Felicity0 More than 1 year ago
The story is an Italian folktale about Strega Nona, or “grandma witch” who cures everyone’s troubles through magic. Big Anthony is hired to help her with her duties and disobeys her instructions to keep away from a pot that he later sees she uses to perform her magic. Big Anthony uses the wrong words in trying to imitate her mystical works and ends up in a big mess. He learns his lesson in the end. This book is the start of a series of books about Strega Nona. This particular story won the Caldecott Award and was recognized for its marvelous illustrations. This book is fun and will truly be enjoyed by anyone who favors folktales.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this story ! I love sterga nona. I think that teachers would love reading this story to their class. It teaches a informatoinal lesson. I think the lesson is when someone tells you not to do it you should not do it. The illastrations are very colofull and nice, it tells what is happening this story. Whoever has nook color or a nook i think you should get this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Strega Nona means ¿Grandma Witch.¿ This is what everyone in the town called the old lady. All of the people would talk about Strega Nona but ¿even the priest and the sisters of the convent went, because Strega Nona did have a magic touch.¿ She cured anything and even ¿made special potions for the girls who wanted husbands. She was getting very old so she hired Big Anthony live with her, take care of her garden, and animals. One day he saw Strega Nona singing a song and a magic pot making pasta. What Anthony didn¿t see was ¿Strega Nona blow three kisses to the magic pasta pot.¿ When Anthony told everyone in town what he saw they didn¿t believe him. So he decided one day he would prove himself to them. When Strega Nona went to see a friend over the mountain, Anthony saw his chance. Strega Nona warned him to stay away from the magic pot. But Anthony didn¿t listen. Anthony ends up getting himself in big trouble and wishing he would have listened to Strega Nona and stayed away from the magic pot. Tomie dePaola is best known for his children¿s books. In the 40 years that he has been publishing books, he has written and/or illustrated over 200 books. Some of these include 26 Fairmount Avenue, and Meet the Barkers. His awards include the Caldecott Honor award (for Strega Nona), the Newberry Honor award, and the New Hampshire Governor¿s Arts Award of Living Treasure. Now he lives in New London, New Hampshire with his Airedale dog, Brontë. dePaola, Tomie. Strega Nona. New York: Prentice-Hall, 1975
Guest More than 1 year ago
What exactly does the name Strega Nona mean? Strega Nona stands for Grandma Witch. This enchanting old tale is retold by Tomie dePaola. He has written and/or illustrated more than two hundred children books. The strong illustrations are able to communicate the entire plot of this particular story. All the people in the town come to Strega Nona¿s house for their troubles. ¿Even the priest and the sisters of the convent went, because Strega Nona did have a magic touch.¿ Strega Nona hired Big Anthony to help her out at the house because she was getting old. One day, Strega Nona had to go out of town, and she left Big Anthony in charge. However, Big Anthony did not follow her instructions. She told him to not touch the magic pot. Big Anthony¿s curiosity took over, because he had seen Strega Nona talk to the pot and make continuous pasta. So, Big Anthony decides he will take the magic pot to town and show the people in the town. He managed to make continuous pasta, but he couldn¿t stop the pasta. The pasta kept coming out almost taking over the whole town. Finally, Strega Nona comes back and takes care of it. So, what was the secret to stop the pasta from flowing out of the magic pot? The answer is a simple three kisses. dePaola, Tomie. Strega Nona. New York: Aladdin, 1975. Reading level: Preschool-Third Grade