×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior
     

Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior

4.2 21
by Leonard Mlodinow
 

See All Formats & Editions

Winner of the 2013 PEN/E.O. Wilson Literary Science Writing Award

Over the past two decades of neurological research, it has become increasingly clear that the way we experience the world—our perception, behavior, memory, and social judgment—is largely driven by the mind's subliminal processes and not by the conscious ones, as we have long

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Subliminal: How Your Unconscious Mind Rules Your Behavior 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fascinating look at the relationship between the unconscious and conscious mind written in understandable scientific terms. The author leaves Freud behind (where he belongs) and looks to the work of William James as the seminal authority on the modern view of the relationship between the conscious and the unconscious. The material on memory gaps and the role of the unconscious in producing "filler" is found in other works, but the treatment here is particularly clear and readable. The author demonstrates how our unconscious plays a positive role in shaping our conscious views and why none of us, no matter what we believe, are truly unbiased because the unconscious protects and defends our view of ourselves. I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm 13 and I found this very fascinating, and easy to follow along with only a seventh grade understanding of the brain.
WriteReason More than 1 year ago
An interesting study on the subject matter. Filled with examples of studies of the conscious and subconscious, and the histories of men who pioneered these studies. Perhaps to many examples--but how else to present this type of information? If you have any interest in this subject I recommend this book, otherwise it bogs down with all these studies that are interesting, but are a little over done.
joyscola More than 1 year ago
I was a bit unsure about getting this book, at first, seeing as how I'm not a scientist – nor do I have a degree equivalent of – but am glad I purchased it. This book breaks down how your unconscious (along with how it affects your conscious) mind works and relates it to everyday situations so that you may easily understand and grasp the concepts. Think of it as the book version of the show, Bill Nye the Science Guy (for those of you who are young/old enough to have watched it as a kid) – it’s funny and laid-back all while being EXTREMELY informative.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
watkd25 More than 1 year ago
This is a good book. I felt that the author could have talked more about the subconscious and conscious parts of the mind at a more technical level. Since this is the second book I have read on the topic partially including "Thinking Fast and Slow," I have reason to calculate this reasoning and generate an inference.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Book_Lover_Bob More than 1 year ago
I found this book very entertaining and informative and it surprised me with a very uplifting ending.
louieML More than 1 year ago
I couldn't follow along, too lengthy and seemed repetative.
cupiddave More than 1 year ago
This book draws attention to the ever watching third eye that has been "subliminally" guiding us, the conscious living generations after generations with an over view of the past we are not yet privy to consciously. This is the Personal Relationship available to us all who seriously respect and take note of "his" presence. The Unconscious mind is an experientally based source of Truth that has grown, developed, and matured over the 150,000 years of modrn man's existence and surely even further back in our phylogenetic roots. Taken too lightly even now, after this book has at least scratched the surface of our conscious awareness of this secret friend inside our head, who time and again has whispered great insights and bubbled up in our mind thoughts we ourselves know were not original within the boundaries of our own conscious intellect. "In 1920 when Neils Bohr was getting on a bus and thinking intently only of his daughter, the entire structure of quantum mechanics came to him in a flash (as he describes it). Where that flash or intelligence came from, and the timing of it, this is the Pure Intelligence I'm speaking about." (This experience revealed the inner immanent God to which Christians refer when they speak of a personal relationship with God). . Revelation 21:4-5 And God, (blessing them with Total Phylogenetic Consciousness: [Carl Jung]), shall wipe away, (in their awakened Unconscious Mind: [Freudian Hypothesis]), all tears from their eyes, (for life is a genetically remember able continuum from one generation to the next living generation); (in genetic memories of prior existences held in our Unconscious Mind) there shall be no more death... (For we shall not all "sleep:" [1Co15:51], but total phylogenetic Consciousness will have evolved), neither sorrow... (for we, individually, are part of a living continuum of our own past(s), flowers upon our genetic vine), nor crying,.. (for we are happy in these revelations of reconstitution from our human gene pool), neither shall there be any more pain...) for the former things (in Modern Homo sapiens paradigm of the life experience) are passed away. And “He,” (the ancient, phylogenetic, Collective Unconscious Mind), that sat upon the throne (within the kingdom of the evolving Homoiousian sapiens' brain: [Luke 17:21]) said, Behold, (in this way, through evolution: [Gen 9:11-18]), I make all things (in human experience) new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true, (rational, and scientifically feasible), and (worthy of) faithful (belief).