×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Subterraneans
     

The Subterraneans

3.9 21
by Jack Kerouac
 

See All Formats & Editions


Written over the course of three days and three nights, The Subterraneans was generated out of the same ecstatic flash of inspiration that produced another one of Kerouac's early classic, On The Road. Centering on the tempestous breakup of Leo Percepied and Mardou Fox--two denizens of the 1950s San Francsico underground--The Subterraneans is a tale of dark alleys

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Subterraneans 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was far from all that. it was okay but... people are giving this book way too much praise. it's the story of leo and his fling w/a black/native american woman, a crazy brawd btw. the relationship lasts all of 5 minutes and the woman is beyond annoying for most of the story, but i still rooted for Leo to treat her better than he did. you really end up feeling bad for the chick. i would tell more about the story but i don't want to ruin it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Surely in Kerouac we have (had) a true genius. The way his thoughts seem to flow on the page so... poetically is mind-boggeling. His words seem to make a beautiful, rythmatic arch in your mind and you can hear his voice, his honesty in his ramblings (for lack of a better word.) This is not your everyday, run of the mill novel. It is not shaped and crafted the way most writing is, but seems to be splurges of inspiration he throws down on the page, holding nothing back. Admittedly, some may seem incoherant, but is beautiful none the less. One of the most beautiful and inspired things I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of Kerouac's best, I could not put it down. A love between two people that was so good at times and so troubled. It was one of the best Kerouac books I've ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
teh tender and sophisticated love story of Leo and mardou- couldnt have better expressed - and those benzederine hallucination and telepathy cant be better conveyed, mostly autobiographic- keroucks all book are though-- the best i have ever read - better than 'on the road' and 'vanity of jack duloz' well you dont haver to agree. but its best kerouck creation so far.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Covers very different territory than most of his other books; written nearly stream-of-consciousness but with a plot; a quick read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another drunkin memoir from jk. Read four of his novels and each one is worse than the next .