×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Suffer the Children
     

Suffer the Children

3.9 56
by John Saul
 

See All Formats & Editions

One hundred years ago in Port Arbello a pretty little girl began to scream. And struggle. And die. No one heard. No one saw. Just one man whose guilty heart burst in pain as he dashed himself to death in the sea. Now something peculiar is happening in Port Arbello. The children are disappearing, one by one. An evil history is repeating itself. And one strange,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Suffer the Children 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
John saul is one of my favorite authors and in my opinion this was one of his best books. If you liked this book i suggest you read another of his books, Comes the Blind Fury. This book was very intruging but a few questions were left unanswered. I luv horror books like these even though im only 11.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of the best trillers I've ever read. Read it for the first time in high school. Now reading it again and a little disappointed in the ending. However, I will be re-reading some of his earlier books!
Crystal Burgess More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the story but it seems he got tired of writing so he just ended it abrubtly. Felt like i wasted my time reading it
MariaS-EP More than 1 year ago
John Saul is a master of fiction. fast reading, couldn't put it down. leaves you in suspense to the very end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in seventh grade after my sister told me to. It was great. I read it three times that year and it was just as good every time. I would read it again but my teacher wanted to read it and she never gave it back
Anonymous 10 days ago
Jeeze, what happened? Did we loose the entire last chapter or ... oh, the author just decided he wanted it that way? .... oohh kaaayyyy.you know, you put up with the cliche 70's style writing and predictable characterizing because the story, though interrupted with over-done character developement, makes you want to know ... and then ... that's it! Blam! Done! "Resolution? HA! Answers? I scoff in your general direction!" I'm actually pretty ticked off...
Anonymous 7 months ago
It is very from the heart i understand also i love ghost stories i give the book a thumbs up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fire your editor. I would have given it more stars but for that The ending was a little week and disapointing
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
-came the ending - it was comparable to a low budget horror movie - so disappointing and irritating
xeejae More than 1 year ago
I still have my original hardback, definitely worth a re-read and I am looking forward to reading more of his books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cuh-reepy! One of the first books by Saul that I read and went on to read 5 more in a row! If you like scary stories with children as the "villians" then you will enjoy this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Only four star bc i thought the ending was so abrupt
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I think this story went beyond strange, disturbing might be a better word. As the story goes on, the more disturbing it gets. The ending was not a true ending. After finally showing some positives to this weird story and getting one's hopes up, it suddenly has a major let down even before the end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grabs you from the first page and takes you on a thrill ride before the suprising ending Great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it 10 years ago-----still great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lindsie More than 1 year ago
This was a decent book, but John Saul has written better books. While the storyline was creepy in itself, the ending kind of let us down. We got sort of a "glimpse" of the end you could say but there was not true ending. It would have been nice if he gave readers a little more inforamtion about Sara, and about Elizabeth in the end, but the plot and the rest of the book was pretty good. So, if you are a John Saul fan pick it up, if not don't make this your first book by the author. Some of his newer novels are much better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The ending. I was very engaged in this creepy and suspenseful tale until the ending happened. In an effort not to spoil the story, I wont say how it disappointed me and why it left me irritated but I will say that it seemed like ge either forgot a chapter or he got tired of writing it. Such a steep let down for a great novel.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago