×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Summary: How Children Succeed ...in 30 Minutes - A Concise Summary of Paul Tough's Bestselling Book
     

Summary: How Children Succeed ...in 30 Minutes - A Concise Summary of Paul Tough's Bestselling Book

4.9 16
by 30 Minute Expert Summaries
 
How Children Succeed ...in 30 minutes is the essential guide to quickly understanding the integral role character plays in determining a child's success as outlined in Paul Tough's best-selling book, How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character.

Offering a chapter-by-chapter overview of Tough's investigations on the development of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Summary: How Children Succeed ...in 30 Minutes - A Concise Summary of Paul Tough's Bestselling Book 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A concise summary of Paul Tough’s “How Children Succeed” this book neatly lays out the main argument: specific characteristics, rather an IQ or smarts, are necessary to ensure that children will succeed later in life. The summary includes detailed research as well as compelling narratives on how the cycle of poverty can be broken and how children can learn to be successful individuals. Overall, the book was very easy to understand while simultaneously challenging any previous notions I had about how a person can become successful and what characteristics are necessary to achieve future success.  
Leigh_B More than 1 year ago
Children need to learn to think.  This is  the fundamental truth that is emphasized in this guide, a guide born from Paul Tough’s bestselling work.  Without learning how to think, it will be difficult for children to succeed in today’s world.  This guide is great for parents, guardians, educators, or anyone who works with children on a regular basis-- and you’ll learn why character traits like determination, self-confidence, and self-control are easily the most important things to be teaching children today.  A great read!
Caitlin_D More than 1 year ago
This summary of a larger work is clearly written and straight to the point. The author, Paul Tough, uses a study of two schools in the Bronx from differing economic levels to examine what skills are best to ensure a child will succeed in life. Despite the previously favored IQ levels, the ability to process and handle stressful situations is considered even more important in life success. I found this book very interesting and know it would be a great read for anyone with young children or who ate simply interested in the subject.
Meenu_Gupta More than 1 year ago
The summary of 'How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character' reinforces the importance of parental attachment and provides new insights into helping children growing up in poverty. Research by journalist Paul Tough suggests that addressing childhood trauma in a timely manner coupled with increased parental attachment will help in better growth of children. It will also help in building a stronger character as well. The summary is replete with examples and cases from research that unfold the connection between childhood stress and success in life. In the modern times when there is more emphasis on better grades, this summary is an eye-opener. With supportive evidence from research, the book suggests that a healthier, less stressful environment helps in character building, thus helping the children live healthier and more successful lives. The absorbing account is a source towards building stronger society with ethically stronger children that get well-rounded development.
Texasleap More than 1 year ago
How Children Succeed...In 30 Minutes is a bookshelf staple for any family with children! The author does an absolutely brilliant job of addressing any child's capacity for character building. Many children are raised under adverse circumstances and Tough's book analyzes how these harsh conditions during childhood affect the child later in life. The book is broken up into brief chapters essentially detailing how the brain deals with stress, what character traits are and how to successfully implement them into everyday life and use them to overcome adversity. He implements a method that is realistic for every parent or child, regardless of financial capacity. Using a plethora of reliable data and research, Tough explains the need to teach children how to develop “grit” and tackle adversity rather than shield them from all things difficult. This is a must-read and the techniques in this book apply to people of all ages, not just children!
LoganPM More than 1 year ago
I found this summary to be one of the best ones I've ever read! The summary of How Children Succeed provides the core of the material, which is incredibly engaging and extremely informative. I learned more from this summary than I did in a whole semester of early childhood development. I recommend this to anyone interested in how children learn and succeed.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the condensed version of the original, and great for the busy parent, educator, or childcare professional –or anyone who is interested in childhood psychology and the impact of socioeconomic circumstance on childhood development into adulthood. It lays out the information clearly chapter to chapter, and even summarizes it for you in end-of-section key points. It also does a great job of connecting early childhood development to success as an adult, taking the reader through multiple scenarios and situational studies, like the Brooklyn school with mostly low-income kids whose chess team consistently beats significantly more privileged schools. I found it interesting that IQ does not necessarily guarantee success in life, and a lot of kids with high IQs do poorly academically. This is for an array of reasons: socioeconomic status, family life, or lack of particular skills they need to succeed—skills that were never taught to them, like problem-solving and internal motivation. Even simple optimism can make the difference between a dropout and a graduate. If you are looking for a longer explanation, read the original extended version, but this book gives you the same information in a fraction of the time.
David-Morris More than 1 year ago
Often we look at successful adults and assume they had access to better schools, social backgrounds, or even simply more money than the rest of their peers. Paul Tough disagreed and wrote a book to show why. If you’re busy trying to figure out or maintain your own success and don’t have time to read the whole book, pick up Garamond’s Concise Summary of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed . . . in 30 minutes. In just a half hour you’ll learn how to promote the skills and traits necessary to allow children to overcome any of the obstacles of their current social or economic status. Believe it or not, the things they need rarely cost any more time or money than the book itself.
Mavis-Darling More than 1 year ago
Great for ANY reader! I could not stop highlighting things as I read! I wasn’t sure how to take this book after I read the introduction, but it turned out surprisingly great. What an encouragement to parents, knowing that life is going to knock us down but there’s a way to help our kids get back up is a wonderful tool. Highly recommend this book to people who have kids AND to those who do not. I saw a few things that I learned to recognize from this book which I can now address. Great read; although, I’d love to read the longer version as well. Good thing Christmas is coming up.
RebeccaO More than 1 year ago
Garamond Press’ 30 minute series has done it again. This time the summary is of Paul Tough’s How Children Succeed: Grit, Curiosity, and the Hidden Power of Character. The author outlines Tough’s revolutionary thesis: IQ has much less to do with success than good ol’ character. What I most appreciate about this book, as with all of the books in the 30 minute series, is that the author stays true to Paul Tough’s original intent, by offering the reader direct quotes from Tough’s book.
cawooley More than 1 year ago
A wealth of information for all parents and educators to read During these hard economic times, our children are enduring additional stresses in their lives that will determine how well they will or won’t succeed in their lives. “How Children Succeed…in 30 Minutes” is a must read for all parents. It’s hard to find time to read self help parenting books. However, you can read this summary quickly in about 30 minutes and come away with a new understanding of how to help your child have greater success in life. The key concepts in this summary focus on building 7 character traits which are grit, self control, zest, social intelligence, gratitude, optimism and curiosity. Allowing your child to fail and later learn from their mistakes are important as well. But, most importantly, building a strong emotional parental attachment early in childhood is crucial at combating any negative stresses occurring within the family. After reading this easy to understand summary, I had a new understanding of how I can help both of my children to become successful adults. I also would recommend school administrators to read this summary as well and implement the key concepts at all schools. .
Bret_Thurman More than 1 year ago
Everyone has thirty minutes now and then.  You can sit on the sofa and watch a ”Seinfeld” rerun, or you can invest in your child’s future with “The 30 Minute Summary of How Children Succeed”. The desire to see our children succeed is universal.  The key to that success, according to Paul Tough, is building character in our children.  Character helps them overcome obstacles.  Character helps them work conscientiously.  Character helps them appreciate the good things they have.  Character helps them desire more of those good things. All parents have made some poor parenting decisions.  This summary does not blame the parents for imposing a lifetime sentence  of failure on their children.  This encouraging summary gives well-meaning parents the tools to build up their children.  The summary’s lessons can be quickly digested, quickly applied, and quickly help your children become successful adults.   No “Seinfeld” rerun has that much of a happy ending.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago