×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

A Summer Affair (Calhoun Chronicles Series #5)
     

A Summer Affair (Calhoun Chronicles Series #5)

4.1 24
by Susan Wiggs
 

See All Formats & Editions

A gifted but troubled physician, Blue Calhoun runs a thriving medical practice from his Nob Hill mansion in San Francisco while raising his son alone after an unthinkable tragedy. Then one day a female fugitive with a gunshot wound appears in Blue's surgery. Even though she holds a pistol aimed at his heart, the desperation in her eyes awakens Blue's compassion.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Summer Affair (Calhoun Chronicles Series #5) 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the kind of book you pick up and get sucked right into the pages. At first, it all seems so melancholy and atmospheric but then, Isabel brings the light of love and laughter into the life of Dr Blue Calhoun and his teenaged son Lucas. But she is a traveler and she much move on. He is a doctor and he's not going anywhere. Will they ever find a way to happily ever after? Well this is a Wiggs book. Of course they will. But getting there is the fun part. A book to sit back and enjoy!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
IF YOU LIKE SUSAN WIGGS, YOU'LL ENJOY BLUE & ISABEL'S STORY.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
YossarianLives More than 1 year ago
I usually don't like any sort of romance novels, but one day I picked this one up and started reading. It starts off interestingly enough, and held my attention for the remainder of the book. I usually don't like romance books because they're predictable and.. well, kind of desperately graphic. But A Summer Affair was pleasantly different. The "lovemaking scene" wasn't too crass, and I fell in love with the characters- something I've never done before for this kind of novel in particular. If you're looking for a refreshing break from the usual, I suggest this book to you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is the first novel I¿ve read by Susan Wiggs. I bought her book ¿A Summer Affair¿ via B & N as the reviews were good and she showed up as a popular romance novelist. I was really pleased upon finishing the book to find it was a real gem of a story. I liked first and foremost that neither the heroine, Isabel nor the hero, Blue were the typical leads you read about. Instead, she was a woman who came from the slums of a workhouse, was abandoned by her family and became a person of her choosing. She traveled the world and did as she wanted in order to make a life for herself she never had as a child. This sense of adventure and wonder made her interesting, appealing and lovable to all who met her. In turn, Blue was a family man ¿ surrounded by a honest and true son, warm parents, female siblings and friends he met during the war. Blue was dedicated to helping the poor and infirm and was the beloved town doctor. I liked that they met after Isabel was shot in a dangerous event down at the docs and she held Blue at gun point to help her recover. Suspicious activity occurred at the docks and questions arose around Isabel over who and what she really was. In time, events unfolded to show Blue that mourning the loss of his first wife was right but, so was moving on to a new life. Blue found through Isabel that learning to laugh, love and enjoy life again was the best thing to do. Isabel in turn learned that she didn¿t have to move to a new location each season in order to constantly leave her past behind. She understood finally that seasons of joy can be never ending and that love can make the past go away. Love and intimacy scenes were limited in this book ¿ only a few and minor at that. When a book is this well written ¿ strong characters, positive and witty dialogue and interesting plots ¿ the love scenes take on less importance. I really liked this writers strong descriptions and in depth detailing when describing locations, events and emotions ¿ it really draws you in. These characters grew on you as the book went on. The side characters of sisters, friends and family were also warmly told and that made for a richer story line. Everyone was so likable that you really wished to meet them! You know an author has done a great job when you wish other characters in the book would be developed too and that through other stories you can meet the main characters again one day to see where they are at. I will buy more novels by this author and hope for additional characters and stories that stay with you long after the last page has turned. Happy reading!
Guest More than 1 year ago
IF YOU CRAVE ROMANCE NOVELS THAT ARE FAST PACED-EROTIC AND FULL OF RAKES AND 'JUST SO FEMALES' DON'T READ THIS BOOK. ON THE OTHER HAND I DO AND READ THE BOOK FOR THE SAKE OF HAVING SOMETHING TO OCCUPY MY TIME. I NOW HAVE READ IT NO LESS THAN 10 TIMES AND WILL READ MANY MORE TIMES IN THE FUTURE. THE STORY IS SLOW AND PACED BUT CREEPS UP BEHIND YOU AND HITS YOU SQUARE BETWEEN THE EYES. ON A SENSUAL SCALE OF 1-10 IT IS NO MORE THAN A 3 AND THE ENCOUNTER IS JUST THAT ONE ENCOUNTER.IT IS REFRESHING THAT BLUE IS NOT A RAKE-SCOUNDREL OR OTHERWISE A NOT NICE MAN WHO NEEDS TO BE REFORMED. HE ONLY NEEDS TO BE BROUGHT BACK TO THE PRESENT AND TO FIND HE CAN LOVE AGAIN.I RARELY GIVE BOOKS 5 STARS BUT THIS SOFTLY WRITTEN BOOK CERTAINLY DESERVES THEM.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was really looking forward to this book. I enjoyed the glimpses of Isabel Fish-Wooten in her other books. This one lived up to my expectations. If you like susan wiggs, you'll enjoy this.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have always wanted to know what happened to Blue Calhoun ever since I read The Horsemaster's Daughter. He was a very troubled boy in that book. It's just so perfect that he became a doctor--and a widower, too. Isabel hides her troubles behind her devil-may-care attitude, but Blue sees right through it. This is a book about the very special joy and wonder of falling in love. For Blue and Isabel, and also for Blue's teenaged son, Lucas, who loses his heart to a Chinese American Girl. No matter how life has damaged you, you deserve a happy ending, and this book gives you that.