×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Summer Before Boys
  • Alternative view 1 of The Summer Before Boys
  • Alternative view 2 of The Summer Before Boys
     

The Summer Before Boys

4.4 50
by Nora Raleigh Baskin
 

See All Formats & Editions

Julia and Eliza are best friends, spending the summer together. Julia's mother is serving in the National Guard and Julia spends all of her time trying not to think about what could happen. So the girls lose themselves in their summer, hanging out at the resort where Eliza's father works. But when they meet a new boy, neither one of them is prepared for what it does

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Summer Before Boys 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 50 reviews.
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
The Summer before boys captures perfectly the awkwardness and transition of age 12 to 13. It had a real childlike quality to it, and I really enjoyed reading it. It's short, and I'm not sure if it's classified as MG or not, but it's very clean. It does have some darker (not extremely dark, but...) issues. It's the first book I've read where a mom is in Iraq. She's dealing with this in the whole book, and I think that it's a noble and needed thing to talk about in contemps. (maybe dark isn't right word... just hard) I love the complicated family structure, it really adds to the authenticity, because in real life, families are almost always complicated in some way or another. The friendship between Julia and Eliza is dynamic, and I like to see what causes it to change and grow in different ways. It was a neat touch how they had their imaginary world and it was a form of bonding that helped them. This is a great summer book, and I recommend to give it a try.
l_manning More than 1 year ago
The Summer Before Boys was a couple stories in one. The first deals with the that time in life where we begin to lose our youth and become interested in things like boys. The other story is about the sacrifices that member of our Armed Forces and their families make during times of war and deployments. Both stories are intertwined in a simple and beautiful manner. Julia and Eliza are best friends and relatives. They love to read and pretend. They read the classics- Little Women and Little House On the Prairie. There is magic all around them as they imagine the lives of these characters and create there own. However, at 12 years old, things are beginning to change for Julia at least. Sometimes she can't see the same things Eliza sees. Julia's also begun to notice boys. One boy in particular. This change threatens to tear Julia and Eliza apart. The other part of the story is the part that touched me the most. Julia's mom is serving as a nurse in Iraq. The current summer near the end of her deployment is mixed in with flashbacks to the past year, when Julia and another student were sent to special counciling for students with deployed parents. The worry and longing for her mother's safe return is so strong. Nora Raleigh Baskin did a particularly good job in describing what it's like to have a parent serving in the military far away from home. It was a wonderful reminder of what the families of our men and women in uniform must go through not only while their loved ones are away, but also how different things can be when they come back. I found this book to be so moving and real. I understood these girls. I was always reading the same books as they did. I could see myself in their shoes. I also appreciated the harsh realities of war and having a mom so far away. Julia went through so many emotions while her mom was gone, and I felt them right along with her. I think everyone should read this to really understand what kind of things the families of our service members can go through. The worry of not knowing if your loved one is safe. The agony of missing a simple phone call because you never know when you may get another. I ended the book with a heart for of thankfulness for both our service men and women and their families. This was such a good book, and I hope everyone will read it. Galley provided by publisher for review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I got te book at a book fair not on my nook and so far it is super good just like the first few chapter i highly recommend this book
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
I thought this was a great coming age story with lots of life lessons in it. Boys, school, family. Everything that you grow up with and come to learn. What I like most about this book was how it talk about the war and how it effected her. Julia grows up so fast and so much just over the summer. Her mother has been over seas for the war and Julia is alone with her father which forces her to do things on her own. Julia is a very smart, bright girl. And even thought she made mistakes, I loved how real she was. She does her best to go to school and spend time with her friends, but you can see the pain of not having her mother there in her feelings. There aren't a lot of books that talks about the war with kids in them. I love how well Ms. Baskin got into the mind of a pre-teen dealing with the hurt, anger, and separation of parent. At times, Julia needed her mother badly. She needed that guidance and counsel that only a mother can give. I especially love all the stupid stuff that they giggled at. Boys, and spelling names wrong. This book is great for girls just coming into the their teens. Its had a lot of real like issues that anyone can relate to. The Summer Before Boys is a great story filled with lots of feelings that flow right off the pages. It simply adorable and a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok savysweets. The book was based on her pre teen stuff. It is based on real facts on what happened
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in like one day!!! I couldn't put it down... Im 11 yrs old but i read at a 12 grade level. This was like a vaca book. Highly recomended to 10-16 yr olds.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just bought the book at my school book fair, and i started reading it and i cant stop, it is a really good book, you must read it!!!!!!!!!!:)smile:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
i didnt like this book. you cant tell the difference between wat happened in the past and what was happening in the present. these 12 year old girls liked to make up games and you couldnt tell wat was real or make believe, some of the characters couldnt even tell wat was real or not, specifically Eliza. i wouldnt waste the money on this book, if you rele rele want to read it check it out at your public library. its a short book with short chapters but dont think its a quick read, it is very confusing like i said. the author is known for books for the audience of kids and teens, and let me tell you, this is not a teen book, it is too easy to read and teens will get bored with it. these characters are 12 yrs old, and thats probably the right target audience, maybe even 10 or 11 too. please, please, please dont waste your money on this book, if you rele want to read it go to the library, thats what i did and i am happy for making that decision.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am not even finished with the book and i already luuuvvv it. It has a great like sort of rhythm as you read i am 11 and read at a college level but its sorta hard to find apropriate college level books so i read 4th grade and up level reading material and this book was really good i suggest fourth to sixth grade
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was AWESOME! I loved the way it explained how love can get in the way of more lmportant things, like friends. I went though that it was hard. But, life isn't Easy!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is myFAVORITE chapter book EVER
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dont put just one star if you never read it, it rude please dont be a jerk
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yes! I am 12 yrs. old and i fell in love with this book. Get IT!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How many pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's awsome book get it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My favorite book of all time!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My big sister read this book and I am pretty sure she liked it. I am going to read it pretty soon. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It reminds me of my sis
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Should i read???
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read a lot of books abd this is my third favorite! I wabted to read it again so i bought it for my nook! Enjoy yiur read! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wrong clue! THIRD CLUE: FRINDLE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago