×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Summer House
     

Summer House

4.0 69
by Nancy Thayer
 

See All Formats & Editions

 
Thirty-year-old Charlotte Wheelwright seems to have at last found her niche, running an organic gardening business on the island of Nantucket, thanks in large part to her spry grandmother Nona, who donated a portion of land on the family’s seaside compound to get Charlotte started. Though Charlotte’s skill with plants is bringing her success,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Summer House 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 70 reviews.
HurleyGirl More than 1 year ago
Loved dynamics of the Wheelwright family. The characters got you involved in the book so well. I loved Charlotte and her garden living on her grandmother's (Nona) land. The Wheelwrights go through interesting family dynamics that keep you wanting to read more. Charlotte of course has a romance between 2 men in the novel. It was a book that kept you wanting to know more about what was going to happen with the Wheelwrights! I loved the book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. I just recently discovered Nancy Thayer and I like her writing style.
jumur More than 1 year ago
This book captures you from page 1 until the end. You are in the characters lives on a daily basis, and you do not want the book to end. I have read every one of Nancy Thayer's books starting with the Hot Flash Club. Love, love, love them.
oldeagle More than 1 year ago
As a native Californian, I always enjoy Thayer's books about the other end of the country. Have visited Nantucket just once, but can visualize many of the scenes. The extended family was most interesting; I love books about multi-generations. I will read the book again next summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is always the sign of a good book. Loved the multi-generational story line and multiple perspectives. The details were sometimes unnecessary, but overall it was worth the read.
ILgirl07 More than 1 year ago
The first book I have read of Thayers - she reminds me a lot of Elin Hilderbrand with the setting of Nantucket. Well-written family drama.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Needing to escape from banking, thirty year old Charlotte Wheelwright leaves Boston to to stay on her nonagenarian grandma Nona's estate. Her family of bankers supports her move because everyone has been concerned about Nona living by herself as the elderly woman has been mumbling frequently about long ago events and people dead. To occupy herself Charlotte starts a garden. Over the next few years she loves working the land with her only stress occurring when the family invades for the annual get together to discuss financial matters. Her garden begins to turn a profit as she sells some of her organically grown items. However, her white collar banking family objects to her selling her efforts as that is beneath the upper crust Brahmins that the Wheelwright clan believes they are. This summer they plan to make Charlotte stop as they once did her mom Helen, but she might have an ally in her mother who isangry with her spouse for cheating on her.She supports her daughter to do whatever she wants. This tale is an interesting look at the wealthy upper class through the eyes of a rebel (with a cause). Charlotte has found happiness working her garden, which was acceptable for an affluent woman of leisure, but once she becomes a middle class peddler than everyone except Nona and mom turn on her. Image is everything to the Wheelwright clan. Although the plot is extremely thin with the conflict seemingly minor and most of the support characters unlikable snobs, fans of contemporary family drama will still want to read Nancy Thayer's SUMMER HOUSE. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nancy Thayer books are all good reads. Some better than others, but I truly enjoyed this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First time reading Thayer and good story.
willieAP More than 1 year ago
I am a "water baby," and this book was a wonderful escape. There is something to be said about a terrific island location for a background. Good stuff!
thereadingchick More than 1 year ago
Summer House tells the story of a few generations of Wheelwright's who spend every summer together on Nantucket. Nona, who turns ninety that summer, is now living on the island year round, with her granddaughter Charlotte. The author very cleverly weaves Nona's love story with her now dead husband Herb, with the expectations her children have for her grandchildren, as well as telling the love stories of each set of lovers. As with many other family saga's I have read, this family has its own dysfunctions that unfold in a very realistic natural way. In fact, as someone who comes from a slightly disfunctional family, I thought there was a little too much drama, for a few very small issues. Though, the issues dealt with in this book were serious, infidelity, divorce, alcoholism, etc., I thought the way they were dealt with was rather old fashioned, sweeping them under the rug. My family would have been a little more direct, which if turned into fiction would have been a very short novel, I guess. Having said that, I did enjoy the different characters in this book, and did appreciate the struggles that one of the main characters, Charlotte, was going through. Her family was in the banking business, and none of her siblings, including herself, wanted to be in that business. She did try it, but gave it up to run an organic food and vegetable stand on the island, and was proving to be rather successful at it. What I identified with was not the pressures put on her by her family, but was in the way that she was trying to find herself, and what she wanted to do in her life. We all put pressure on ourselves for certain things. Having enough money in our savings account for retirement, finding your worth in the workplace and discovering that may not be what you were meant to do, and finding love, or allowing love to find you, and being true to it. Those are all things that many of us go through at different stages of our lives, and her story really resonated with me because of that. I did also enjoy the drama that her large family, living in one house for three months at a time, created, as well. It was great family entertainment, but with serious subject matter. Readers who love family saga's will enjoy the way this story unfolds. It does not hit you over the head, but each story is revealed in a very natural way, with the outcome for each character concluded satisfactorily.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A beautiful story about what money cannot buy the importance of Family a must read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Too many sub stories plus a past mystery. Non of these major relevations come to anything and just fizzle out leaving the reader "cheated. " wont spoil story with an h.h. review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great story. Great writing, interesting characters. I would have given this five stars, but the ending just fell flat. For such a well developed story, it just stopped abruptly. It left me wanting more.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, found it hard to put down. Hated to have it end, one of those books you will probaby read more than once.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Although this is the first book of Nancy Thayer that I have read, it will not be the last. I enjoyed this tremendously. Love beautiful Nantucket. Couldn't put it down. Loved the characters, especially Nona and her relationship with Charlotte; the family generations and how most get along so well under the same roof. I enjoy the fact that the Author doesn't get heavy and explicit on the love details between Charlotte and Coop. All and all it was a busy read and yet relaxing at the same time. I look forward to reading more of this author's books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago