×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #1)
  • Alternative view 1 of The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #1)
  • Alternative view 2 of The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #1)
     

The Summer I Turned Pretty (Summer I Turned Pretty Series #1)

4.6 1158
by Jenny Han
 

See All Formats & Editions

Belly has an unforgettable summer in this stunning start to the Summer I Turned Pretty series from Jenny Han.


Some summers are just destined to be pretty

Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Summer I Turned Pretty 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1158 reviews.
BookNerd28 More than 1 year ago
This was a good summer read, I read it in a few hours. The characters were very realistic, and I loved that, even though Belly's whinning got on my nerves at times...but that's a typical 15-year-old girl. This was a very touching story. The only complaint I have is the confusion of time. The author didn't indicate very clearly when she was talking about the past and when she was talking about the present, but once I got the hang of it (around the middle of the book) it was easy to follow. Just to spare you the same confusion, Belly is 15 in the present. When she talks about the past she was 13. And her friend Taylor came to stay with her, it was in the past when she was 13. Enjoy!
marianne68 More than 1 year ago
Good suspense, great story with likeable characters. worth the time
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read many books,I'm a book worm. But this book is my FAVORITE! I love all of it! I love how Belly isn't 'dumb' with her decisions like other books main girl. I love the connection she has with Jeremiah & even though they kinda have something,they are still best friends. & her relationship with Conrad is really emotional & crazy. I love love love love this book & I recommend it %100! I've read it sooooooo many times!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my all time FAVORITE book!!! I read it over and over and over! this book is really good for teen girls that love to read about love.Haha.
Arielle More than 1 year ago
Belly, her brother Steven and her mother always go to Susannah's beach house every summer. Susannah has two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Susannah and Belly's mother, Laurel have been friends forever, and every summer they spend at this beach house, in Cousin's. Belly was always the one that was left out. The only girl out of the four kids, she was used to having to hang out with herself. But this summer is different. She's pretty. Belly has always been pretty, but for some reason this summer people actually see her beauty. Her brother Steven is going to be a senior, and later in the summer he leaves with his dad to go on a road trip to look at colleges. Conrad is going to be a freshman in college, and he has been acting strange all summer and Belly wants to know why. Jeremiah is still the same, Belly's true friend, they always stick together. There's a secret that Susannah is keeping from Belly, and she doesn't find out until it's too late. And she also enjoys a summer romance with a boy named Cam. Belly has to learn that as she gets older, and the summers creep past her, she has to grow up and be a mature, young woman. She battles boys, love, family issues, and her maturity. The book was a tad confusing at first because there are flashbacks to her previous summers at the beach house, yet I enjoyed this book very much. I am sorry if my review was a little confusing but I am writing this before I leave for my trip, so I am a little excited! Ha. I would recommend this book to every teenage girl who loves romance books with a little something else added to them.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Belly lives for the Summer. To her, the months in between summer are nothing but passing time until the next summer starts. Summer is a time that everything happens, and when Belly is happiest. Most summer's are the same . Driving down to the beach house with her mother and brother, Steven, swimming at night when she can't sleep, but finally, one summer, everything changes. When Belly gets to the beach house, the boys she's known forever - Jeremiah and Conrad, who've been her crushes and brother figures all at once - look at her differently. They don't just treat her like one of the guys anymore. Conrad smokes now, and he quit the football team, something that Belly never saw coming. His brother, Jeremiah, is now a jock. Belly wonders how everything has changed so quickly. But when things start to change, they eventually end up just as they should have been all along. THE SUMMER I TURNED PRETTY is a wonderfully written novel that you won't want to put down!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book took me away every moment I pick it up. I would drool over this amazing story.Once you begin to reconize the story and grow with belly you will bye the 2nd and3rd book before you have even finished the first!!! I would surley recomend this book to every one i know!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cried reading all 3 books. Story of my life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I cried when i finished the summer series because it is very relatable and everything the author says has something important to the plot not just filler sentences Unexplainable joy after reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The book was a tad confusing at first because there are flashbacks to her previous summers at the beach house, yet I enjoyed this book very much. I am sorry if my review was a little confusing but I am writing this before I leave for my trip, so I am a little excited! Ha. I would recommend this book to every teenage girl who loves romance books with a little something else added to them. Belly, her brother Steven and her mother always go to Susannah's beach house every summer. Susannah has two sons, Jeremiah and Conrad. Susannah and Belly's mother, Laurel have been friends forever, and every summer they spend at this beach house, in Cousin's. Belly was always the one that was left out. The only girl out of the four kids, she was used to having to hang out with herself. But this summer is different. She's pretty. The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han will make you want to grab a beach towel, sunscreen, lemonade and head out to a sandy spot where you can read without being interrupted for a while. Belly has the kind of summers that seem dream like, where moms and kids head to the beach house for three months while the dads drop in on occasional weekends. Even so, all is not perfect: Belly's parents are divorced, her mom's friend Susannah has battled breast cancer, and the kids are growing up, changing the dynamic of all their relationships.  These are amazing books worth reading. I couldn't put them down the first and second time around. The absolute perfect summer read.     
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were sooo real. I wish i had my own Fisher family for the summer:( if only they made a movie!!!!!!
Azjura More than 1 year ago
This book was good all the way up to the last few chapters when you think you knew what was going to happen and nothing you expct happens! The ending was incredibly emotional I cried! This book keeps you wanting more all the way to the end (i read it in three straight hours). Although my only complaint about this book was that the synopsis given on the inside cover of the book I feel did not justly sum up how the relationship between Belly and the two Beck boys truly is. However, this truely was a fantastic piece of literature and could be enjoyed by women of all ages. Everyone could gain a little something from a book like this one! Can't wait to see what else the author has to offer!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is just like most girls .WE GET STUCK BETWEEN TWO GUYS!!!!!!!!awsome story and awesome/sad ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ive read the whole series, once you start you cant stop. This is on the top part of my favs list.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book from cover to cover. Great summer read :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVED this book! You will not be dissapointed with it.I just love the characters.You get so drawn into them that it came to the point that I felt like I was belly! :) Another thing that I liked about this book is how Jenny Han made a happy medium with the two brothers Jeremiah and Conrad.One's mysterious and dark,(Conrad)a little on the quiet side,doesn't let you know what he's thinking about but you're still drawn to him.Then you have Jeremiah,who is the complete opposite of conrad.He's always happy,always smiling,always having a good time.He can turn a quiet room into a laughing one :) So I'm glad Jenny Han kinda gives you a choice.That way if you don't like the dark mysterious conrad,you can always go for the happy uplifting jeremiah :) But I will forever be Team Conrad! haha :) So read this book,you will definitely not regret it.
BookReaperCS More than 1 year ago
This is the perfect book to read during the Summer time. Filled with romance, and the beach, this is truly one book of Summer Romance. I know I am a guy and sometimes the romance can be all to much for me, but this book was one I fell right into and couldn't stop until the end. Belly is a girl who is very unknowing of things and when heading to the beach, for what she thinks will just be like any other summer, she will see that she turned indeed "pretty." I don't know which guy I wish I could root for, because I will be going for one brother and than the other one comes out of no where and surprises me. However, by the end, I know who I would hope Belly would choose and I stick with that answer. This book is filled with happiness but sadness follows close in the shadows. The Summer I Turned Pretty is a book people can relate to when they grew up and even now when they grow up they can still relate to as well. Filled with the Summer bursting out of its pages, this book is a must-read for every summer. I can't wait to pick up the next book in the series, and i yuo haven't stumbled across this book yet, swing by your book store and pick up a copy to read. I give this book 5 souls!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book i have ever read!!it was SOgood!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read it 6 times and still can't get enough
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I started reading the firsy one and i finished it that same night and i needed to know what happened so i read and finished the second and third book that same night. I couldnt put the book down. They are all so well written and its really a great story. The whole time all i wanted was for belly and conrad to be together. Also i like how at the end of each book there is a passage from the next book, it made it impossible for me to stop reading. I would definatly recomend this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I started this book at the beginning of the week, and I am almost done with 3/4 of the book. It is really good. There is some language every now and then, and some of the themes aren't the best at times (teen drinking...). But all that stuff you forget when you get thrown into the love story of Belly. Really great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book and it takes you on an emotional roller coaster saying what weve all beent rhough in a book!!! <3
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I highly recomend this book to the romantic soul. It is a pefect book for reading on the beach or if your not at the beach and wish to be. It seems to take you there. While most of the story doesnt happen in the sand, you can still hear the sounds of the beach through the imagry used by the writer. I believe this is more a book for girls to read, due to the more sentimental and emotion elements of the story. I think the way the author tells the story allows the reader to relate and have a personal understanding to what is happening