×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Summer of Firsts and Lasts
  • Alternative view 1 of The Summer of Firsts and Lasts
  • Alternative view 2 of The Summer of Firsts and Lasts
     

The Summer of Firsts and Lasts

3.8 21
by Terra Elan McVoy
 

See All Formats & Editions

Now in paperback, a sweet and sexy novel about summer romance and sisterly bonds, from the author of Pure and After the Kiss.

Three sisters. One life-changing summer.

Calla loves summer because summer means Duncan. They’ve been best friends for years, but Calla has never worked up the nerve to tell him how she really feels. This

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Summer of Firsts and Lasts 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 22 reviews.
Alexandra Juarez More than 1 year ago
Great book i could NOT put my nook down!!! It was just a really an amazing book.
OtotheD More than 1 year ago
Terra Elan McVoy's The Summer of Firsts and Lasts is the story of three sisters - Calla, Violet & Daisy - away for their final year of camp together. In the fall, Calla will go off to college, breaking up the three sisters for the first time. This particular summer, Calla is working on the administration side, rather than as a camp attendee, or a counselor. It's something she has dreamed about for years, and something she feels will help her toward her career goal of working in resort management. It also gives her the opportunity to spend the summer with Duncan (a counselor), a boy she has had a crush on for years. Violet is the middle sister, and though she isn't typically one to break rules, this summer is going to be different. She is bound and determined to make her three weeks at camp memorable. James, a boy she has had a crush on, is at camp again this year, and her new friend, Brynn is quite the rebel, if not also a bad influence on Violet. Daisy, the youngest of the three also has her eyes set on a boy at camp. More than anything she wants for him to notice her, even if she isn't the sister that boys tend to notice. She's a bit more shy and reserved, and more of a loner. I never went to a summer camp when I was younger. They didn't have them where I grew up, but reading this book makes me wish I had. The only thing I knew about summer camp was what I saw on the Friday the 13th movies, and that isn't exactly how I'd like to spend a summer. McVoy totally sets the right atmosphere. With every turn of the page, I felt like I was in the woods, hanging with friends, smelling the clean air and swimming in the cool lake. The sisters are all relatable, and every one of them has a distinct voice and personality. The book is written in alternating voices, with each chapter narrated by a different sister. The only thing that bothered me was the nicknames the sisters had for each other. They didn't always have just one nickname, so when the active narrator would refer to one of her sisters, I had to guess at which one she was speaking about. There was also a lot of exposition. I, personally, feel the novel could have been a little tighter, but all in all this is a delightful summer read about sisters, friendships and making memories that will last a lifetime. (Review copy courtesy of Simon & Schusters GalleyGrab)
Immortal-princess More than 1 year ago
THIS WAS ONE OF MY FAV BOOKS EVER. IT HAS LOVE,FREINDSHIP,DRAM,AND MOST OF ALL SISTERHOOD.
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
This book is filled with sisterly love, fights, and drama. For me this book started off slow. It took a while to learn from each point of view of the sisters. I like that the reader gets to read about the sisters from not only themselves, but from each other as well. At times if can be confusing with all the point of view switches, but it was smoothed out. The storyline got confusing while reading. Mainly because of the point of view switches. The reader switched pov's many, many times. It was Calla, then Violet, then Daisy. It always switched. What was confusing is because of the constant switching you had to really stay with the storyline in order to figure out where you are at. If you got lost somewhere then switched to another pov, you basically confused until you backtracked where you got lost. I like that in the book, the sisters not only fought, but needed each other as well. It showed how strong the sisters could be if they relied on one another and help each other out. I loved seeing them be there when one got in trouble, had a heart break, or even volunteer to beat someone up. This book had lots of first experiences and last experiences. In the end, the sisters learn the greatest lesson of all. That they loved and needed each other. I adored the friendship and seeing them grow. It was a great book filled with love, heartache, and a strong sisterly love.
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book because it lets us into the lives of three sisters as they embark on a wild summer of first and lasts. The title really say it all about this book. There are all sorts of first experiences and sadly, lasts, but what really sticks out is the bond of sisterhood and how each girl really steps up and has each others backs. The ending was a little surprising and I wasn't really expecting it to be that way, but it still seems to get the point across to the reader. I loved reading this though because it made me long for the lazy days of summer, and lounging around sunning and swimming. The story is told from the point of view of each sister and the experiences are raw and believable. I recommend this for anyone really, but especially for someone with sisters, it will make you want to give your sister the biggest hug after.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was going to buy this at my school book fair, but it is cheaper in ebook format. I could't but my nook down. This book is very easy to relate to. People who have felt over shadowed by their siblings can find comfort in this book. An amazing read.
mosete More than 1 year ago
This book was really good. The three different points of view gave me more of an understanding of what was going on, than usually only seeing one side. One of the best books i have read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a book about griwing up and the ones who will always have your back........your sisters. A definate must read:)
KimTeamer More than 1 year ago
The Summer of Firsts and Lasts was such a telling coming-of-age book. With huge themes throughout, this book was absolutely spot on. It was able to capture the uncertainty, angst, drama, and up and down adventures that go along with growing up. First Impressions... - Daisy: Sweet, driven, focused on discovering self outside of "comfortable" identity, budding interest in boys (but would be okay going without if need be), family-oriented (the unit is important to her; the special bond that she shares with her sisters is quite obvious); there is a quiet wisdom and strong sense of character about her; she is fiercely loyal - Violet: Sassy, a good girl with a streak of defiance, seems to want to stretch/expand; caretaker by nature, there's something special about her yet it's hard to pinpoint right away - Calla: Eager, responsible, overacheiver, observant, can be tough, insecure in uncharted waters, a go getter who doesn't always know how to go Conflict/Drama (includes, but is not limited to): Identity issues, bullying, social and emotional anxiety, sex, drugs/alcohol, profanity, morality issues, attention-seeking behaviors, coping strategies, self-defense, family/friends, positive and negative supports There was so much that I liked about this story. It was very easy to get into. I felt like the main characters - Daisy, Violet, and Calla - were each on a journey of discovery, finding out who they were, what they were about, and what they were made of both individually and collectively. They needed to experience life outside of each other just as much as together. The things that the girls experienced transformed them. They certainly, none of them, were the same as when they first arrived. They all grew. They were all challenged. They all matured. Although some of their lessons were harder than others, life happened to them and they were perhaps changed for the better. I love how these sisters stood by each other at the end when all was said and done. No matter what, family is family and that endures. No matter how upset we are with one another or how betrayed we might feel because of the actions of one another, family always (should always) stick together. All three girls showed a sense of strength in the final analysis. Different but evident. Even with that, however, they were mindful of, I think, the fact that you can survive despite challenges. Final Thoughts... (outside of the sisters) I loved the sub-characters in this book. Okay, I didn't love every one of them, but I really adored a few of them. Duncan: Even though he didn't appreciate Calla and the unspoken relationship they had yet to explore, I loved him. I thought he was charming and sweet. I liked how he cheered for her and encouraged her. He tried to be sensitive even when he delivered his news. I felt like, in time, these two could have something. Brynn: I loved her. I wanted to figure her out. She was salty and sweet. Hot and not cold (maybe warm). She had grit and guts. There was more to her than met the eye. I admired her courage, especially when she faced Calla and apologized. Coach: I thought he was unique and interesting. He wasn't afraid to be different and he got the kids he was working with. I know he didn't have a large role, as it were, but he was way cool. Rutger: Dude! I liked him. He and Daisy had like this vibe. It connected through running. Rating: 4/5 Recommend: Yes Status: Young Adult (also mature middle graders) Plus: Great themes/topics
Dazzlamb More than 1 year ago
The three sisters Calla, Violet and Daisy are attending summer camp together. Calla has a huge crush on her best friend Duncan, Violet is into James, a boy she isn't supposed to fall for and Daisy is finding out what it means to be Joel's girlfriend. There's much going on in the lives of the three teenage girls and them being sisters doesn't make it easier. They are often petulant and don't always want to listen to the wise words of an older sister. Violet, Daisy and Calla have known each other their entire lives, and listening to them and seeing the three sisters interact was exhausting sometimes. They have these stupid nicknames for each other and all three girls are named after a flower. Minor details, but enough to tick me off more than once. Violet, Daisy and Calla all get their own chapters to tell their camp stories. Of course boys play a role, too. But sometimes friendship and family are more important and come before anything else. The three girls discover what matters to them most in different ways. 3/5 *** THE SUMMER OF FIRSTS AND LASTS – Frisky and youthful, this is a light summer read with fun setting and an often irritating sister trio. THE SUMMER OF FIRSTS AND LASTS is about everything that could equal summer for three teenage girls. It's as much about sisterhood and family, growing together as growing apart as learning to stand on your own two feet and make your own decisions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved that this book was about sisters and how much they loved each other. They would do anything for each other. However, the book was mainly narrative and not much dialogue. I was disappointed with relationships. I think Calla and Duncan should have ended up together! I loved him! I think this book was average, not a must read!