×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Summer of Skinny Dipping
     

The Summer of Skinny Dipping

4.1 290
by Amanda Howells
 

See All Formats & Editions

There Are Some Summers You'll Always Remember

Sometimes I wake up shivering in the early hours of the morning, drowning in dreams of being out there in the ocean that summer, of looking up at the moon and feeling as invisible and free as a fish. But I'm jumping ahead, and to tell the story right I have to go back to the beginning. To a place

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Summer of Skinny Dipping 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 289 reviews.
Sarah7498 More than 1 year ago
This book made me laugh and cry. It was basically the closest story to perfect I've ever read. The cover and title makes it seem like a light summer read, but its not really. Its more than that. It has depth and shows that everyone, especially the 'mean girls', are real people with problems of their own. The idea isn't exactly original (there are so many books about girls going to the Hamptons or similar places and find the truth about themselves and their lives), but like I said: I loved this one. Mia's voice is perfect, real, and easy to relate to. That's what sets this book away from all the others and makes it worth remembering.
withabook More than 1 year ago
If you read my book blog, follow me on Twitter or have seen my contest page you know I'm in love with this book. I read the whole thing in one day, never being able to put it down. The Summer of Skinny Dipping was amazing from start to finish. I'm a huge fan of summer romance novels, there one of my favorite things to read, particularly in the summer. So when I saw the cover, which sets the perfect outlook tone for summer, I was eager to get my hands on this book. Then once I started reading I realized it wasn't just a meaningless story like most of the summer romance novels, it's so much more. Throughout the book you follow Mia's journey to find who she really is. In the beginning she just wants to fit, and forget her about her ex. Who had just dumped her after she said `I Love You' to him. And become close to her cousin Corinne again, who she used to countless adventures with when she was younger but as they grew older they also drifted apart. Every part of The Summer Of Skinny Dipping was realistic. The characters had real problems that you can really relate to, and at times I forgot they weren't real people. From Mia's mom who seems to be living her dreams to be a star through her kids, to Simon who just desires to be an artist and not a business man like his dad wants him to be. Oh Simon, another part of the book that I loved with his bold and artistic personality. He was awesome. My favorite scene is when Mia meets him at her cousin's party. While they sit on the porch Simon talks about how her dress and the party reminds him of the Great Gatsby, and at the end of the night Mia jokes around and gives him a fake name, Daisy. Not that he would believe her real one. (Since she is named after the actress who played Daisy in the Great Gatsby.) It was adorable and set up their romance. At first I didn't really know what to think of the title `The Summer of Skinny Dipping', but after reading the book I think it's perfect. I don't think any other title would have fit. Then Amanda Howells writing in this novel is incredible. I don't really know what else to say. The emotion that she was able to put in this book is what makes the story so captivating. I could really just keep writing about everything I love about this novel but I'll stop here before I give away the ending (which you will NEVER see coming) and just tell you to read this book, which I promise will be a story you will never forget. I hope Amanda Howells continues to write more amazing young adult romances because I would love to keep reading them. I think she could be a new Sarah Dessen. Caution: Read with tissues near by. P.S. Make sure you enter my giveaway for The Summer Of Skinny Dipping and hurry it ends June 16th!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Summer of Skinny Dipping is an amazing book. I couldn't put it down!! I finished reading it the first day and I reread it all the time!! This book was all twists and turns!!! The ending was the most shocking!!! One of the best books I have read yet!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was way to many words to describe. A story about raw emotions of a teenage girls summer memories as she goes back and retells what she will never forget. As the reader you are garanteed to feel as if you are in her shoes and even relate to the main character. I would capture this book as understandibly touchable yet untouchably perfect. Enjoy
danaalexandra More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put the book down. At first I wasn't too sure if I was going to like it, but being a sucker for summer romances I instantly fell in love. Honestly I was blown away and found myself SOBBING at the end. Just read it, you will love it!
MVM95 More than 1 year ago
The book first begins and the book seems to make you feel bad for the main chracter. As it goes on the book gets better! The eding was a suprising-ish ending. You can guess it if you pay close attention to the book. I personally liked the novel. I give it a 8 because the book brings you down but brings you back up! "You left me with a broken heart...with nothing but a kiss" (The Maine) thanks for reading. THANKS FOR READING!!! -MVM(:
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
During this book there were parts when i laughed and cried. at first i kinda thought the title was stupid but as i read it the title seemed to make more sense perfect title~ My faveriot part was when simon and mia meet the most romantic thing ever~ I think the end bit was the saddest ever i cried i feel like probably one of the most cutest books i have read.
Sarah Burk More than 1 year ago
Im not exactly sure how i feel about this book. I loved the authirs style of writing and loved Simon's character. However, the ending was harsh, devastating, and unbelievable. Had the ending been different, i would have liked this book much better, but it is what it is and i would suggest it for any one looking for a decent read.
DanceBree17 More than 1 year ago
I was really affected by this book in many ways. First off, I felt like the main character Mia was a tortured soul. She constantly was dealing with the cutting remarks of her mother who always made her feel she was heavy, even though you get a good feeling from Mia's thoughts that she's a very good swimmer and very toned...just not waif-like or ballerina thin like her beach best friend Corrine. Mia was hoping to have her friend to get her through her recent boyfriend breakup but that proves to not happen, and her relationships she used to treasure almost fall apart. But one party that she attends she meets Simon, a cute boy who's family is renting the next door house. Even though Corrine and her friends dislike Simon, Mia sees something else in him. They end up dating, and spending all night walking the beach and eventually skinny dipping in the ocean. Simon is a good for Mia and really helps her a lot, but a run in with Simon's father takes things to a tragic ending, that left me sobbing by the final page. This is an emotional book on so many levels. You really feel bad for Mia..her mother rides her over her looks,she never feels right in social situations, and she is struggling to deal with so much. But the ending was not even expected to me. But I have to hand it to Mia, she survives and moves on, even as broken as she was. This book captures a summer vacation with all the ups and downs you expect, but the romance with Simon is good. It's nice to see her have the giddy love feelings we all experience growing up. I wish that the ending was not so abrupt, but just like the art they talk about in the book, your mind fills in the gaps and that makes it better.
MAK06 More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. For the most part it's chick lit, and a good light summer read. There was a bit of a twist coming I didn't see, but I liked it in a way. It added depth to the light story. I would recommend this book.
Sienna Preuss More than 1 year ago
I didnt think much when i bought this book... i frickin loved it!!!!!!!!!! Great characters, hard to imagine simon for me tho other wise awesome (((:
Kitty12156 More than 1 year ago
This book was a very good book. I have always loved summer beach romance stories and this was aother one to add to the collection. I would reccomend this book, even if some people didint like this book, I enjoyed it; between the laughing, crying, happy and sad moments, I felt like I was in the stories.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can you please lend the book i dont have any money right now and i read the sampleband im hooked!!! Please anyone lend me the book. Reply to sage thanks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I did not realize this book was for young adults when I purchased it but it still made a quick summer read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Beautiful story. The characters had such depth. The story was so realistic in its perseived views of a girl growing up and seeing the people around her for who they truly were. Wonderful view of changing from child to young adult and the struggles to reach adulthood. Beautiful. I hope to read more by this author. I will realize my dreams and live this moment in time to its fullest. Thank you Ms Howells.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It had all parts of a summer read: love, beach, and a boy. The title made me think this book was nothing like a love story, but in the end it really tugged on my heartstrings. It wasn't perfect but it was a good story that I would recommend to those who want a light, short, romance.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found that this book had a slow start. The beginning was a drag and the ending came out of nowhere. It definatley wasnt one if my favorite reads and I'm not sure I would recommend this to a friend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I laughed and cried! One of the best books I have read in a long time. This book will make you feel happiness and heartbreak!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't finish this book, after 80 pages of reading the whining of the main character and setting it down several times, I finally gave up! Some may say I have no right to share my review for I book I didn't finish, but I don't care. The reviews on this book were amazing, which I'm very surprised about. Mia is very sulky and feels too sorry for herself, her sister, cousins, and Mom were all too stuck on themselves for my taste. The only one that was relatable was the dad and he wasn't much in the picture. I may have missed something great by not finishing this book, but I'm okay with that.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago