×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Summer of the Monkeys
     

Summer of the Monkeys

4.3 121
by Wilson Rawls
 

See All Formats & Editions

Monkeys Out In The Middle Of Nowhere Staring At Him!

A tree full of monkeys the last thing fourteen-year-old Jay Berry Lee thought he'd find on one of his treks through Oklahoma's Cherokee Ozarks. Jay learns from his grandfather that the monkeys have escaped from a circus and there is a big reward for anyone who finds them. He knows how much his family

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Summer of the Monkeys 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 117 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I like "old" books and i read it when i was 8 and now im twelve and decided to read it once more its a really good book that is clean and exciting
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Summer of the Monkeys By Wilson Rawl's One boy one problem. In Wilson Rawl's Summer of the Monkeys Jay Berry has a problem. One day he is walking through the river bottoms and he sees a monkey! A real life monkey! So Jay Berry tells his grandpa and finds out these are circus monkeys. Grandpa says that the train that the monkeys were on crashed down by the bottoms and about 30 monkeys escaped. They are even worth money! Well it is back in the old days so the little monkeys are worth $2 and the BIG monkey is worth $100!!! Cha! Ching! Jay Berry has to catch those monkeys! Read the book to see how Jay Berry catches those monkeys. I would recommend this book to 3rd grade and up. This book is full of laugh out loud things. I like this book because it is hilarious.
Zennia More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent book. Anyone at any age would enjoy it. It is funny and light hearted with a wonderful story and a sweet ending. I loved this book. I enjoyed it so much I have sent it to my grandaugters. I know they will enjoy it as much as I did.
Just_Learning More than 1 year ago
I am currently reading this to my boys. They are loving it! They actually laugh out loud! It's a classic story about a boy and his dog trying to catch some circus monkeys that escaped from a train wreck. They have quite the experiences as they go head-to-head with the "$100 monkey"! I highly suggest this book to kids of any age.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this in third grade and now im in 6th grade. I remember reading the book then watching the movie. Its like 200 pgs. But a awesome book!! Id recomand it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite books
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. I love it . It is so funny.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 6th grade it was ok but would have been better in a littler grade i read this book in couple hours
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This movie was so gooooood:) and as we all know the books are always the best and,that is true:):):):):):):):):):):):):)
Daniel Huff More than 1 year ago
This was one of the best books i have ever read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm reading this to my 4 children ages 5 to 12. They get to laughing so hard! Sometimes I can hardly read when I get the giggles too. The movie is great too but the book is obviously better. :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember having to read this when i was in fifth grade. I despised reading back then, so i did not enjoy the book. However, thinking back on it, i think that it was a good book. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My brother said he would read this book over the summer but he never did seems like a boring book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another classic by Wilson Rawls. This is an amazing funny book that I seriously recommend for ages 9 and up
Christy Salyer More than 1 year ago
this book is so hilarious i loved every minute of it a great classic for kids annd adults
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Summer of the Monkeys is a hilarious book about monkeys who escape from the circus. Jay Berry is trying to catch them so he can buy himself a pony and a gun, a .45 (whatever that means). Jay¿s grandfather helps him come up with a variety of clever schemes to catch the monkeys. Each time, however, the monkeys manage to evade being caught because they are smarter than expected. When they escape it leads to a whirlwind of funny events, such as drunken monkeys and monkey attacks. The setting is in the Cherokee Nation of Oklahoma in the late 1800s. I would consider this book a comedy because it is really funny. The theme of this book is about life in general and shows that sometimes you have to sacrifice things you really want in order to help others. I can¿t tell exactly what I mean by this because it will give away the ending. Other lessons it teaches are responsibility and commitment. This book is about growing up and throughout the book Jay is going from a boy to a man. He starts taking responsibility for his actions and thinking before he acts. I like this book because it always keeps you wondering. There is always an air of danger because Daisy (Jay¿s sister) loves to make up stories to scare Jay. Also, throughout the book, when Jay¿s grandfather comes up with crazy ways to catch the monkeys, you are rooting for Jay to catch them, but you also want the monkeys to get away because it is so funny and you want to know what other crazy, clever schemes his Grandfather will come up with. I really liked this book because it keeps you on the edge of you seat and it is as though you are there with Jay trying to catch the monkeys. I would recommend this book to anybody who likes the outdoors and is a laid back person because it is definitely not a serious book. I would also recommend other books by this author because I liked how he makes you feel as if you are there in the novel with Jay. I really like the humor too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SAAD AT POINTS BUT A VERY LOVING AND CARING BOOK.I LOVE THIS BOOK VERY MUCH.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Both books are amazing summer of the monkeys my 4th grade teacher Mrs. Meaniur the best teacher read it to the class And lent me it catie.k
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Summer of the monkeys was a book I had to read in class, that I did not enjoy. Also do not read where the red fern grows.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I recomend this book to anyone.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This such a great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago