×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Summer Rental
     

Summer Rental

3.9 445
by Mary Kay Andrews
 

See All Formats & Editions

Sometimes, when you need a change in your life, the tide just happens to pull you in the right direction....Ellis, Julia, and Dorie. Best friends since Catholic grade school, they now find themselves, in their mid-thirties, at the crossroads of life and love. Ellis, recently fired from a job she gave everything to, is rudderless and now beginning to question the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Summer Rental 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 445 reviews.
theReader278 More than 1 year ago
I loved reading this wonderful book! It is a story that keeps you entertained for hours.
SerendipityGA More than 1 year ago
got an advanced copy and this is on par for Ms. Andrews. Delightful read, and to those rating this book on the price should be ashamed of yourselves. This book is 12.99 and before e-books comae along you would have to wait almost a year to get a cheaper softback or pay almost 20$ for a hardback. You guys stop being whiners and stop hurting the author's book rating by your childishness.
harstan More than 1 year ago
The three BFFs for over two decades rent a summer house in Nags Head on the North Carolina Outer Banks. Now in their thirties each has major decisions to make that they need their two buddies to be there for them. Ellis Sullivan drives down from Philadelphia where she just lost her job at BancAtlantic that meant her life to her. Maryn Shackleford flees her abusive spouse Don in New Jersey before he finally buries her; deciding to hide in Nag's Head where her parents once took her seemingly a lifetime ago. Ty Bazemore owns the Ebbtide beach house he has rented to the thirty-something trio under his alter ego Mr. Culpepper; his first encounter with Ellis is a disaster at a time he is distracted about losing the house. The other BFFs Julia and Dorie arrive; Julia the model was living with Booker the photographer, but he took a DC job and wants more from their relationship. Dorie hides in shock that her beloved husband Stephen betrayed her. All five converge in a summer month of change at Ebbtide. This is an entertaining character study of three females each at a major fork in their respective lives. Although Maryn brings suspense to the mix as an abused wife on the run from her husband, she changes the relational dynamics of the other trio too much. Filled with pathos, humor and romance, fans will enjoy the three musketeers seeking their groove in the Outer Banks. Harriet Klausner
James Link More than 1 year ago
As a local from the Outer Banks, NC. I looked forward to reading this book. A disappointment, however the references to local restaurants were right on. Needed more zing.
BookwormInWI More than 1 year ago
I used to love Mary Kay Andrews books, but "Summer Rental" is by far one of the most boring books I have ever read. On top of the predictable story lines are the editor's mistakes with typos ("think" instead of "thing", etc.) and story line errors (Maryn/Madison finds the money in the laptop bag is not in the standard bank wraps and she hides the money in the bottom of her duffel bag yet the money somehow appears in the back of the armoire and is in the standard bank wraps?) At this point, I'm moving on to other authors.
Casey Parker More than 1 year ago
I adore Mary Kay Andrew's books! I also believe the prices are fair. Besides if you can afford a nook, then you should have no qualms over a price! I'm frugal myself but do think most of the prices I have seen are more than fair.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Harriet klausner and her cliff note book report ruins another book. This poster needs to learn how to write a review without revealing the entire book. Please bn, do something to this egotistical poster.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I found the story to be very boring. I stuck it out to page 122 and then just decided to throw in the towel and pick up something else that I might actually enjoy. I am disappointed that I paid this price for a nook book and didn't even enjoy it. Perhaps my review can save someone else the time and money.
IndyLucy More than 1 year ago
I'm a regular Andrews reader and have been looking forward to this book, but by page 114 I was still waiting for some momentum and the characters were all still plodding, except for the little tension provided by runaway Maryn. I miss the smiles I got from previous Andrews stories and the cute, quirky characters. I've not totally given up on this yet and checked reader reviews to see if I could find motivation. On the other hand, I've got other new books luring me away every time I open the Nook.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Okay book that is extremely predictable. Not one twist or turn in the story that you couldn't see coming miles away.
bookmajor More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to a fun beach read but this was one dimensional and boring. The ending was unrealistic and simple.
SouthernSass More than 1 year ago
This book was a great read - typical of MK Andrews books. I couldn't put the nook down. There is still that southern twang that makes her books so irresistable. Though not set in Savannah, it has enough references to remind you that you're still in the South. I loved it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book. Nice to read especially on the beach.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was my first Mary Kay Andrews book. I thought it was a very cute book, the characters were well written, the book had a good flow and kept moving. It was a fast read for me and I will likely buy another book by Andrews in the future.
Texgal47 More than 1 year ago
Not one of Mary Kay Andrew's best books. I liked the storyline but why are all the women so gorgeous? Why did the main charachter get so mad at her landlord/boyfriend about not telling the truth about being the real landlord? And my big question: How can a woman who is escaping an abusive/crooked husband and leave her beloved dog behind? Some serious issues like handling guns taken too lightly.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another great book by mary kay andrews i loved this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great girlfriend story! I loved reading it and didn't want it to be over! Great read!
onlyme More than 1 year ago
Easy reading....just what you want for summer!!!!!
mem186 More than 1 year ago
This is my first Mary Kay Andrews book and I really enjoyed this beach read - I love when I can read a book and feel like I am there, and this is what happened with this book! The storyline kept the pages turning and the characters were fun to get to know!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Stop posting trival texts this is supposed to be for book reviews respect others who want to reaf reviews
KrittersRamblings More than 1 year ago
A wonderfully inviting story that captures the perfect summer vacation with just the girlfriends. After reading this book, I wanted to call my closest girl friends and book a month away! As the three best friends were in different points in their lives, it was nice to see each friend work through their own personal tragedies and come to more or less a nice and neat conclusion. Another character joins these three in their beach house and ends up mixing things up a bit. My one little complaint about the book lies in the fourth character - Maryn. I loved how she was introduced and you weren't sure where she was going to fit into the story. But as the reader gets into the second half, I felt as though she was lost in the shuffle. She was lost to the wayside, until she becomes the focal point as the book concludes. As always, I will not reveal this ending as it is worth the read, but maybe if she had a larger role throughout the book, I wouldn't have felt so sideswiped when the book starts to finish. The arc of the three best friends was touching, emotional, and felt very real. I saw the personalities of my best friends and how we can see each other's situations as so much better than our own. I know I covet where my friends are in their lives and maybe some of them covet where I am yet- maybe not! I wanted to be a part of their group because I felt as though they were real people with real issues and situations that the everyday woman could find herself in, whether that be a job change, relationship status change or a move for a significant other. These women were going through things each woman could relate to - no matter the time of their lives. A read that my mom has already loved and thoroughly enjoy. I am passing it along to my friends who need the perfect summer read, even if fall may be beginning.
KER40 More than 1 year ago
Read this book on vacation. A quick read, not great but not bad.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love visiting the Outer Banks and enjoyed readijg this book just as much! A wonderful book to read on vacation
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
At Anne of Green Gobles...res 2