×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1)
     

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1)

4.5 1270
by Kelley Armstrong
 

See All Formats & Editions

My name is Chloe Saunders and my life will never be the same again.

All I wanted was to make friends, meet boys, and keep on being ordinary. I don't even know what that means anymore. It all started on the day that I saw my first ghost—and the ghost saw me.

Now there are ghosts everywhere and they won't leave me alone. To top it all off, I somehow

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Summoning (Darkest Powers Series #1) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1270 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Chloe Saunders's life is flipped upside down the first time she see a ghost and it sees her. She's sent to Lyle House, a place for troubled teens. There she meets Liz, Rae, Tori, Simon, and Derek, five seemingly normal teenagers - well, as normal as teenagers with psychotically problems can get, that is. But things aren't what they seems like in Lyle House. A place where its secrets could end up killing you. Incidents begin happening, raising suspicions on what's really going here. With the help her unstable powers and a couple of ghosts, Chloe starts to uncover secrets about herself, the other residents, and Lyle House itself. She finds out enough to know that she has to escape. At first, I kept saying, "I'm not going to review this. I'm not going to review this." What do you know, I'm reviewing this. After a few hours, I realized this was the only thing I kept thinking about. The first few chapters were a bore. I was about to give up on this book, but instead, I skipped them - which should have really annoyed me, but with this book it didn't for some reason - and kept reading. Things got interesting when Chloe arrived at Lyle house. At that point, the story never seemed to drop and it just kept going and going. Situations between the characters really draw you in and keep you in up until the end.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so much better that the Twilight Saga! It was full of action and suspense the whole time! I can't wait for the Awakening!
katiesbookblog More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! I couldn't put it down. I read it in one day, almost in one sitting but sadly I had to go to school.
I think my favorite thing about this book is how Chloe is just like a normal teenager except that she can see and talk to dead people. Her mom died when she was young and her dad is always away on business so she is normally alone, except for a few friends and her aunt Lauren who tries to fill in for Chloe's mom. She usually keeps to herself so when things start to get weird she can't really tell anyone.
So, at the beginning Chloe is in a school for the arts and she is just like all the other people in her school, except a little bit of a late bloomer. On the same day that she gets her first period she also sees her first dead person or at least the first person that she knows is dead. After being chased through the school by a dead janitor, Chloe is sedated and sent to the hospital and told that she must spend at least two weeks in Lyle House, a group home for unstable teens.
Once in Lyle House, Chloe meets some interesting people such as Liz, Rae, Simon, and Derek. Derek is a little scary at first, always sneaking up on Chloe and accidentally throwing her across a room. Once she gets to know him, though, she realizes that he is just like her and can't control his powers. At first, Simon seems like he is just in the group home to stay with his brother, Derek, but once she starts talking to him she realizes that he is a supernatural also but his powers aren't as obvious as Chloe's and Derek's. Liz also seems to have some powers but she never realizes that she is controlling them. She is transferred shortly after Chloe arrives because instead of getting better she seemed to be getting worse. Rae also may have powers but it was really hard to tell. She was placed in the group home shortly after giving her mom first degree burns when she never had a lighter or anything else that could have caused them.
There are others in the group home, such as Tori and Peter, but Peter gets sent home after Chloe arrives and Tori is the group's resident witch and not in the supernatural way. Tori believes that because her mom is on the board of Lyle House she can do and get whatever she wants but Chloe interferes with her plans as soon as she arrives. Tori manages to get Chloe in many terrible situations, some potentially deadly, but it's only because she doesn't want her mom to be disappointed in her. Tori doesn't play a really big role in the story, all she really does is get everyone in trouble.
Chloe, Derek, Simon, and Rae discover Lyle Houses' secrets and realize that, maybe they aren't there because they are crazy but because of their powers. They realize that they need to escape and that they need to do it soon. Once out, though, things don't go exactly as planned. They are hunted down by the nurses and owners of Lyle House and chased through warehouses by guys with tranquilizer guns. Once the girls escape and find a safe place they think things are going to get better but none of them realized that someone close to them betrayed their trust.
Of course, I'm not gonna say who. That would give everything away. I truly loved this book and if you really want to know how it ends you will just have to find a copy to read. This book is first in a new series by Kelley Armstrong. The next book, The Awakening, will be out on April 28.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was just a barnes and noble one day looking for some new books to read and the cover of this book caught my eye...it sounded interesting so i bought it but read all the other books i bought first...i was a little iffy about it at first but the more i read the more i loved it...i read the book in less than a day and will def. read it again! I cant wait for the next books to come out! I'm looking forward to see what happens next!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kelley Armstrong has managed to mix a supernatural drama with a dash of teenage angst and a whole lot of conspiracy. This novel had an underlying sense of eeriness throughout it, waiting to burst. The middle of the story did drag a little, I will admit, but the end was thoroughly exhilarating. This book was amazing and the ending left it completely open for what is sure to be a fantastic trilogy.  When Chloe was a toddler, she lived in a house that had ghosts in the basement. One of the ghosts was a hanged man. Another liked to scare her. Chloe's mom talked her dad into moving them to another place and Chloe forgot all about the experience and now doesn't believe in ghosts. Her mother died when she was 8 and she's been raised mostly by housekeepers as her dad travels for his job. I was surprised how quickly and totally I got into The Summoning. I love Kelley Armstrong, and everything I have read by her thus far, but ghosts just aren't my thing. Troubled teens, paranormal abilities and boarding school type places are definitely my thing though. Especially when it's written well, which always applies to Armstrong's works. There are some great mysteries here, plus a lot of tension that could be leading fun places. This is a series I'm very excited to continue.  
hoobear More than 1 year ago
I found this book on accident in Walmart, of all places. I bought it because it was cheap and the back flap made it sound interesting. I am so glad that I decided to pick this book up. It is a great read full of twists and turns and suspense. The author does a wonderful job of making the characters come alive and creates a fun journey for the reader filled with all sorts of surprises. This book is incredibly fun to read, it has witty and funny moments and also times where you will be at the edge of your seat rooting for your "friends" to overcome whatever adversity they face. If you are looking for a fun summer read, this is definitely a book you won't want to pass up.
Guest More than 1 year ago
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful: 5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting New Novel, July 1, 2008 From when Chloe Saunders was just a little girl, she saw ghosts. Of course then, she thought they were only nightmarish imaginary friends. And her life seemed to become almost normal when they moved out of that haunted house and after her mom died. But when Chloe hits puberty, she starts seeing the ghosts again. Now she's forced to stay in Lyle House so she can learn to cope with her 'schizophrenia.' But the other kids at Lyle House have also been incorrectly diagnosed with mental problems. There's a reason certain doors remain locked and there special kids are gathered in this institution. As Chloe works to uncover these sinister secrets, she starts to question everything around her, from her 'schizophrenia,' to what happened to her roommate who was taken away, and even to her mother's death. My first reaction after finishing this novel was WOW. Kelley Armstrong does an amazing job of connecting Chloe's past with her present and weaving the other characters' stories in as well. the story was highly suspenseful and action-packed and the exciting twists and turns kept me guessing. The novel focuses mainly on plot, so there isn't much characterization, but the suspense, secrets, and action were more than enough to hold my interest. I most definitely recommend this novel, especially to fans of the Maximum Ride series by James Patterson or the Uglies and Midnighters series by Scott Westerfeld. The Summoning will be part of a trilogy, which I am very excited about.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great plot! Couldn't put it down. I started one night and read till morning.
livray More than 1 year ago
I'm not in high school, so I was a little nervous that I just wasted my $ but I was pleasantly suprised. This is a good series that has me itching to find out what will happen to the kids. If you enjoy an easy read with a good storyline then read this series...
TeamJacobBlack More than 1 year ago
This book is now one of my favorites. I loved how Chole(the main character) was just like any normal 9th grader. If your thinking about reading please do. This book was amazing. I can't wait for the seguel to come out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
KimberlyandBooks More than 1 year ago
The Summoning is not just another Twilight knock off. The characterization is strong; the characters are individuals with personal motivations for their actions. The love interest is not who is it appears at first glance--this plot twist, among others, will keep readers returning to this series. Fans of YA Supernatural like City of Bones will enjoy.
author2b More than 1 year ago
I am not a young adult anymore but still love reading all kinds of books. I already loved Kelley Armstrong's books for adults so I had to check this one out. I finished it in less than a week and was disappointed when it was over, I went out and bought the second book in the series the day it came out. I usually like to wait for paperbacks as they take up less space on my limited bookshelf but I just had to buy both of these right away, hardback and all.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
"A banner week for me. Getting short-listed for the director spot. Nate asking me about the dance. My first period. And now my first criminal act. After I fixed myself up, I dug into my backpack for my brush and emerged instead with the tube of hair color. I lifted it. My reflection in the mirror grinned back."

Chloe Saunders is a very special girl. Not just because she has an in-depth and intense obsession with movies, filming, and directing. Not just because of her unusual home life. She is special, because on top of all this, Chloe Saunders can see ghosts.

On the day of her first period, she goes to the bathroom and skips class. She dyes her hair, feeling particularly rebellious. Upon exiting, Chloe sees a strange man wearing an old custodian's uniform, who follows her around school. She thinks she is in trouble for skipping class...

When he starts to talk to her, she ignores him. He gets angry, and deliberately shows her his face... and she sees it is burned so badly she can barely distinguish his features. When he disappears into thin air, she starts making a scene and freaking out, and school officials round her up. When she accidentally punches a teacher, they sedate her and take her to the hospital.

From there she is sent to Lyle House, which is a place for troubled teenagers. There she meets a wide variety of people - a pyromaniac, a girl with a poltergeist, an unusually moody girl, a boy with extremely bad people-skills, and a boy who, strangely, she finds nothing unusual about. As her new friends' stories unfold, Chloe begins to question the
motivation behind Lyle House.

With everything from ghosts and magic to romance, humor, and growing up, THE SUMMONING will have you laughing, wondering, and in disbelief. This book has many plot twists that will keep the reader guessing throughout the course of the novel. Kelley Armstrong uses great characterization and dialogue, which makes THE SUMMONING an overall good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book started out well and ended even better!
jazmine210 More than 1 year ago
Love this book and this Series. Chloe is so cool and relatable i love the romance and how vivid the picture is painted in your head, it immediately captures you and sucks you into Chloes world. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
BEST BOOK EVER, and best series! Perfect start, middle and ending! I'd defiantly recommend people this book! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Amazing read! I could not put this book down! I highly recommend this whole series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Is this book worthy enough to read/buy?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book but leaves u with a cliff hanger. Good thing there is another already out :)
JACk1026 More than 1 year ago
Entertaining.....if you're into supernaturals....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved it. It kept me interested. Had lots of twists. I highly reccomend it.
BookJunkie4Ever More than 1 year ago
I wasn't expecting to like it as much as I did, it was hard to get into at first, but once it got going it was good.
Sensitivemuse More than 1 year ago
This book was great. I felt myself turning page after page and wanting to read more. Although the beginning wasn't what I quite expected, it wasn't such a bad thing and the ending was awesome and I am definitely going to add the sequel to my wishlist. The plot was great from beginning to end. It was well written, clear and had enough teasers, and although naturally all questions weren't answered some which bugged me the most were so I wasn't entirely left hanging. This book had a great way of gradually introducing you to the paranormal aspect of the plot, sort of as if you're Chloe herself and just learning about it with her. I like the way it's done as it makes it more realistic. The plot is darker than I expected and more serious for a YA book. The paranormal parts, especially when Chloe starts practicing her gift, has a skin crawling creepy effect and it's definitely well written to give you the goose bumps. The ghosts she sees, are also well done and their descriptions are chilling and menacing. I'm not that attached to Chloe even though she's the main character. I found as I read later into the book I suddenly became much more frustrated and I wanted to hit her upside the head for her stupidity at times. I'm surprised Derek has managed to keep his temper in check with Chloe bumbling about sometimes. Although Derek may seem abrasive, I actually like him the most in the book so far. He's surprisingly mature despite his surly manner and horrible attitude. He seems to be the strongest character, I think in the book. Tori was horrible and I was hoping Chloe would clock her across the face. Perhaps sometime I'll be satisfied to see Tori in a horrible demise. She's just an awful person and I hope I never meet anyone like that ever. Chloe does seem to develop through the novel although I don't think she really matures yet. I think perhaps because she doesn't really have all the information and facts concerning her and her "condition/gift". So, she still has room for development which I am looking forward to seeing in the next book. When I said the beginning wasn't what I expected, I meant that I expected a lot of paranormal activity to happen. It didn't. It was gradual, and even then there is bits and parts of it, but not as much as I thought. There's a lot of "real life" in the book and it adds realism to the plot and it's a refreshing surprise to read something like this. So it's not really a criticism, it was just interesting to read and something new to see, I think. Overall, a wonderful creepy page turner, mix in realistic life scenes and a huge cliffhanger ending, you'll want more from this series. A lot more.
jamibell21 More than 1 year ago
I was so excited to read this book that I finished it in a night. It was that good!! I couldn't put it down for even a second. Kelley Armstrong delievers the perfect book and to boot #2 "The Awakening" is just as good maybe even better. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys this genre of books.
Magger101 More than 1 year ago
Not only was this book absolutely amazing, but i couldn't put it down or even stop thinking about it! Written amazingly. One chapter the next, there's a cliff hanger at the end of each, making you thirst for what is going to happen. Great story line, amazing characters that you fall in love with. And even the ones that you don't like will surprise you. It kept me up into the dark hours of the night, and once i finished all I wanted to do was go to the bookstore and buy the next one! Overall an amazing book. A must read.