×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sun Going Down
     

Sun Going Down

4.0 10
by Jack Todd
 

See All Formats & Editions

From an award-winning author whose ancestors lived the adventures in this novel comes a spectacular new epic about the American West.

Part history, part romance, and part action-adventure novel, Sun Going Down follows the fortunes of Ebenezer Paint and his descendants -- rough and tough individuals who are caught up in Civil War river battles, epic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sun Going Down 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JAWishart More than 1 year ago
I just happened to pick it up - I have never read "Westerns". It greatly reminded me of Pillars of the Earth. Just loved it. In fact, we drove through South Dakota on our way to Colorado last fall just to see the landscape and attempt to have the feeling from this book. Gave it to friends and family as a gift with great reviews from the very diverse audience. Can't say enough how I enjoyed the characters and the epic-style story.
Connie-J More than 1 year ago
A slow beginning had me wondering whether I would continue, but I gradually became fascinated with the characters. A good insight into the many hardships and complexities faced by the early western ranchers and settlers. My only difficulty was in keeping track of the many people and their relationships. At times I had to look back a few pages to sort out the changing relationships, but it is well worth the effort.
Cali_Love More than 1 year ago
Great characters and historical facts will keep your attention. Author seemed to have sympathy and political correctness for everyone except the Christians.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
It has been quite a while since I have read a book that was as captivating, heartbreaking, and beaufitful as this. I enjoyed the characters and lanscapes that Mr. Todd described in detail. From Eb and Lucian to Velma and Emaline, from the Mississippi to the blizzards of Nebraska and Wyoming, this is a book I will read again and again. I recommend this book to anyone looking for their next great read...
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was a good book, enjoyed it, but never compair to Lonesome Dove
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I would LOVE to read this book, the bullet format for conversation is really aggravating. I just can't read books set up this way. I wish there was a choice of format for people who prefer a conventional reading.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is a detailed epic of a historical family that transcends time from the American Civil War to the Depression Era. I enjoyed the bullet format instead of punctuation marks for character dialogue. This allows the reader to focus more on the story and the characters. I enjoyed the historical references to the settling of the South Dakota, Wyoming and Nebraska areas. Since I am from South Dakota the pioneer life was very accurate. The character development was well done. However, I felt the ending came too fast as I wanted to read more about the lives of some of the other daughters. Maybe there will be a sequel. If you like to read about the grit and determination of the early American families in the Midwest area you will enjoy this book.