×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sunbird
     

The Sunbird

3.9 44
by Wilbur Smith
 

See All Formats & Editions

Part Two Of Two Parts

The secrets of a once brilliant civilization--buried for nearly 200 years in South Africa--seem about to yield to the probings of modern man.

But in this tale of high adventure, the riddles of an ancient culture conceal a menacing drama of love, hate, violence and death--all lying in wait to ambush an unsuspecting team of archaeologists. It

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sunbird 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 44 reviews.
Horsegirl123 More than 1 year ago
The Sunbird is a very fun book. A book about an ancient civilization being uncovered by a brilliant hunchback named Ben, Sally his beautiful assistant and his fabulously rich friend, Louren, was exciting in and of itself for me. Add on top romance, betrayal and the friendships and you have got a true page turner. The story is really two stories that mirror each other, 2,000 years apart.
Ben Kazin is a very intelligent archeologist and he excavates a lost city in South Africa. His friend, Louren Sturvesant, is the rich, strong, handsome man who is funding the excavation. Along the way Ben falls in love with his assistant, Sally. It creates a slightly unexpected twist that I found very enjoyable. As they excavate other strange things happen as well, it¿s like an influence sweeps over them. While this is an extremely odd occurrence it helps them discover something huge. The second part to the story parallels the first, but takes place in the past as the people live in the lost city. This story tells of how the city falls and of what happened to the people in it.
This book is not for someone looking for a real thriller book, but if you are interested in a story that is historical fiction and that includes some adventure, suspense and romance, this may be just the book that you are looking for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I stumbled across this book about 25 years ago and fell in love with it. The story line takes you back from modern times to a "dreamtime" in the past. The juxtaposition of the characters between the two time periods is great. All of Wilbur Smith's books about Africa give you a glimpse of history as it may have been. Some of the books are a little romantacized for my taste, but the history is good. Robert Ruark also writes about African. His books are more gritty and realistic. So try him out too. As far as "Sunbird", I read it at least once a year. Smith's prose carries you along with the emotions so well.
philb5 More than 1 year ago
Nobody pulls you in to a story quite like Wilbur Smith. I stumbled across these books as a teenager, and this is one of his best. A great read that will make you want to be there in the middle of it. Enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tsasse More than 1 year ago
This was a good book. The characters were developed well. I think there should have been a more precise conclusion to the second story though. It was a good read however.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
boxingfan1 More than 1 year ago
THIS GUY CAN REALLY TELL A STORY. HE NEVER DISSAPPOINTS.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book whie I was pregnant with my daughter in 1976 and I named her Tanith. I though the book was wonderful then and I still enjoy it to this day. Well written and moves right along. Well done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When will a Nook version of The River God be available?! I love the Taita trilogy do much my hard copies are a bit dog eared. Now I have a Nook and all I can find is The Quest and The Warlock. I would settle for The Seventh Scroll but it only speaks of a long dead Taita. I guess Taita and Fenn were not meant to be long livers of that magnitude! (See The Quest). Please, no more study guides, I want the Nook version of The River God. Please????????
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago