×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Supreme Courtship
     

Supreme Courtship

3.9 37
by Christopher Buckley
 

See All Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 0446697982

ISBN-13: 2900446697988

Pub. Date: 09/07/2009

Publisher: Grand Central Publishing

President of the United States Donald Vanderdamp is having a hell of a time getting his nominees appointed to the Supreme Court. After one nominee is rejected for insufficiently appreciating To Kill A Mockingbird, the president chooses someone so beloved by voters that the Senate won't have the guts to reject her — Judge Pepper Cartwright, the star of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Supreme Courtship 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
KenCady More than 1 year ago
Should a television judge be appointed to the Supreme Court? Aren't there more qualified judges available? Do we need to know Latin to read this book? Are there too many legalisms for the average reader? Is it pretty funny, all things considered, or does Buckley try to hard? If you read the book, these will all be questions for you to decide. As for me, I laughed a lot, but then I am a lawyer who studied Latin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good book, thought it started out great, but then lost a bit of momentum.
Sean_From_OHIO More than 1 year ago
I'm not a very political person but I liked the premise here. A satirical look at the Presidency, Supreme Court, reality televisions, and America as a whole was already funny to me. Here Christopher Buckley do a good job with the funny as he pokes jabs at nearly every corner of DC. While the plot was somewhat farcical the idea itself is just crazy enough to work and that in and of itself was hilarious. The dialogue was often funny but slowed down in the Supreme Court scenes and was, too me, overly political that the jokes might have went over my head or just simply missed the mark. I enjoyed this but I'm not sure how many of these types of politically based fiction books I could read. Overall, a funny plot with some lagging dialogue. A pretty good book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
crazylilcuban More than 1 year ago
What do you do when you're the President of the United States and you're fed up because your snarky Congressman rival is making the lives of your Supreme Court nominees hell? Get even. By nominating the super popular judge of a reality court TV show to the highest Court in the land. That's what President Vanderdamp decides to do in Supreme Courtship, and it makes for some great laughs as we follow Judge Pepper Cartwright through the confirmation process and into her role on the Supreme Court. This is the first of Buckley's books that I have read (though I have seen the movie Thank You for Smoking and loved the premise, and have Boomsday sitting on my bookshelf), but it definitely will not be the last. The book was a fantastic mockery of American politics, and the humor is witty and intelligent but still laugh-out-loud funny. I think it would make for a fun read for anybody, no matter their level of interest in politics, but I especially found it hilarious because of my own personal obsessions with the Supreme Court and the legal system. Supreme Courtship is an easy to follow, wickedly funny satire.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TulaneGirl More than 1 year ago
If I was gauging this book against his other books, it would probably generate a 3.5 stars. But even though it's not his best work, it still stands head and shoulders above the rest. Hence, the five star rating. This is such a clever novel dealing with a silly process. A disenchanted president nominates a beautiful reality tv judge to the lands highest court much to the chagrin of an egocentric senator and who ends up comforting a chief justice jilted by his gay wife. These characters set the stage for a highly amusing novel with plenty of laugh out loud moments. And don't worry if you think the subject is too highbrow. Buckley has plenty of footnotes that help to decipher the convoluted and pompous Washington-speak.
wookietim More than 1 year ago
The first half of this book is incredible. Fast moving, intelligent and laugh out loud funny. Any second half is going to end up looking less than good in comparison. And it's true - the second half does not live up to the first half... But even a less than perfect Buckley is still better than most other writers. Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gl More than 1 year ago
Fast paced and witty, Supreme Courtship lampoons the politicized Supreme Court confirmation process and grandstanding Senators. Not surprisingly, the most sympathetic characters in this political novel the less ambitious ones: Pepper Cartwright, President Vanderdamp, and presidential advisor Graydon Clenndennynn. Full of absurd situations, Supreme Courtship is an unexpectedly fun and accessible read. Publisher: Twelve; 1 edition (September 7, 2009), 304 pages. Review copy provided by the publisher.
Audiophile_Attorney More than 1 year ago
I "read" at least one audiobook per week and enjoyed this audiobook immensely. Buckley's characters are refreshing and funny: a down-home Texas TV judge, a suicidal Chief Justice jilted by his lesbian wife, a veto-prone and hyper-principled President who doesn't care about re-election, a scheming television producer, et al. Initially, I kept thinking the farcical plot was a bit over-the-top, but, on reflection, I think the farce was successful precisely because it hit uncomfortably close to the real-world mark in exposing the flaws of the confirmation process and the vapidity of our society. I didn't purchase the book the first several times I saw it because I'm generally not a fan of the reader, Anne Heche. However, I am now, and I'll actively seek audiobooks she reads in the future. Her performance was absolutely excellent.
PENNY-BEAR More than 1 year ago
CHARACTER NAMES ARE FABULOUS AND PARTICULARLY ORIGINAL !! I ENJOYED EVERY LAUGH-OUT-MOMENT BETWEEN THE COVERS OF MR. BUCKLEY'S BOOK !!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago