×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Swan House: A Novel
     

The Swan House: A Novel

4.3 99
by Elizabeth Musser
 

See All Formats & Editions

Mary Swan Middleton has always taken for granted the advantages of her family's wealth. But a tragedy that touches all
of Atlanta sends her reeling in grief. When the family maid challenges her to reach out to the less fortunate as a way to ease her own pain, Mary Swan meets Carl—and everything changes. For although Carl is her opposite in nearly every way

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Swan House 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 99 reviews.
ginsnook More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best books I have read in years, and I read alot. I love a good southern book and this was great. I can not believe this was a free book. The story grabs you from the first page and never lets go. I wish I could give it more stars! It should be made into a Hallmark movie,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of those stories that you wish were really true. The author remained true to Atlanta events and locations in 1962 Atlanta. Warm, and individual treatment of characters.
Carol Greene More than 1 year ago
Thank you Elizabeth Musser for the journey of a lifetime, it really was an amazing trip, I really hated to see it end, growing up in the 60's having lived for awhile in Atlanta I was completely enveloped in this stiory, Mary Swan is one of the most amazing characters I have ever read about, Actually all the characters were unforgettable, the memories of this time in our histiory, the beauty of the art and words , the saddness and the hope and the changes that have come and the pure love from our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ that shows us the limitless possibilities in our life,
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I can't think of one coherent thought that would adequately portray the beauty, the soul, the depth of this book...I loved every word of it. I fell so deeply into this book that I feel...stunned...raw...now that I've finished it. What a rare find...review by CherishD
Dolores Forbes More than 1 year ago
This was an excellent read. I enjoyed it very much. By the end of the book i was in tears. I found myself identifying with mary swan as she came to understand the precious gift of salvation and how it changes lives.
Nette49 More than 1 year ago
This was a fantastic story. I grew up in the south, in the 50s and 60s and I could so relate with Mary Swan and her anger toward the prejudices of the time. Wonderfully written, kept me going and going wanting to read non stop.
XAV8RW8R More than 1 year ago
A very poignant and relevant story about coming of age in Atanta in the middle of the Civil Rights movement of the 60's. The characters are well developed and empathetic, and I laughed at the humor, cried with them in the tragedies, and thrilled with them in their victories. Underlying all is a young girl's quest to find the "Truth" and to understand her purpose and place in life. A great read for all ages.
Crystal Yordy More than 1 year ago
This book was great! I didn't want to put it down. I would recommend it for everyone!
SweetAngela More than 1 year ago
The story was entertaining and held my interest until the end which was a satisfying ending. But I thought the writing style was distracting and not well written; the religious doctrine seemed very accurate with Christian doctrine but I felt somewhat preachy and out of place at times. It's a wholesome read and I'd recommend it if you can get passed the writing style.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Seems long and drawnout.cannot finish
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a wonderful history and life lesson book. You felt like you where living in the 60's with this young girl and the trials and tribulations she had to deal with.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent. Life death hope and coming of age in an interesting and troubled period in the south. Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
What a great read! The story was captivating and I couldn't put my nook down!!!
Observantgrandmother More than 1 year ago
It was a bit of a curiosity. I think the writer made the same mistake(s) I did with my never-published novel, namely too many issues, too many characters. In our current culture, most readers are not willing to take a long, leisurely tour through a story. In my opinion, the author tackles too many heavy themes: Mental illness, (good insights there) civil rights (it's been done to death) evangelism (I am a Believer, but I thought it went way too heavy and spent too much story time on that) coming of age (not bad) and art, (also not bad.) Still, I came away feeling good. As a lover of cheesy Hallmark movies, I must say that it had a satisfying ending. I even cried.
MRTCNGC More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading books which are set in the historical period of the 1960s. The author has an interesting style of writing. I felt I understood the characters' motivation.
casindia More than 1 year ago
I have toured Swan house and walked the grounds surrounding it. Been to the high Art Museum too.Everything could be so easily seen and felt, well written enough to wish for a 2nd book about the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed the time period and use of characters. Inspired by main characters growth during a difficult time in her life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slim4Bookmark More than 1 year ago
Will read it this summer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago