×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #3)
     

The Sweet Far Thing (Gemma Doyle Trilogy #3)

4.5 694
by Libba Bray
 

See All Formats & Editions

* “A huge work of massive ambition.”—Publishers Weekly, Starred

It has been a year of change since Gemma Doyle arrived at the foreboding Spence Academy. Her mother murdered, her father alaudanum addict, Gemma has relied on an unsuspected strength and has discovered an ability to travel to an enchanted world called the realms, where

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Sweet Far Thing 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 681 reviews.
Did_This_For_Class More than 1 year ago
I love this book! I was on the edge of my set when reading parts of it. Near the end I even started crying. Libba Bray is a wonderful author. Her writing made me feel like I was Gemma (the main character). I must say you should read her other two books ¿A Great and Terrible Beauty and Rebel Angels. Sweet far thing is the third book in this series. This book is mostly for girls but there is some war like scenes. My favorite part is the hot romance between Gemma and her lover Kartik. Their love is delayed a lot, which made me a little unhappy. I would of like to see on things happen between them I want to say more but I don¿t want to ruin the ending. Gemma and her friends must find a way to save the realms and our world from the evil Winterlands, or is it the Winterland that is evil? Who is the bad guy? Who can Gemma trust? This book has many fantasy creatures like pixies, nymphs, gargoyles, and many other magical being. This book won¿t bored you believe me.
Little-Gale More than 1 year ago
I LOVED THIS BOOK!! It had everything- a little romance, awesome action, suspense, and more. I have only read two books in my entire life that made me cry, this was one of them. I love how it is told in present tense, too. The best thing about this book is how it all comes together in the end. It's like a mystery in a way. You have to put the pieces together like a puzzle and in the end it is just amazing when all the questions are answered. PERFECT story.
Fantasy_girl083 More than 1 year ago
So I loved this series! It has become one of my favorites. This book, the last in the series, was a bit dragged out, but it still kept me reading and not wanting to put it down. I hated the ending with one very important character dying. I cried when it happened, so even though I didn't like that it happened, if a book can stir that kind of emotion, it is good. I'm not a very emotional person anyway and the fact that the book hooked me in and made me feel shows that it's worth reading. The characters are excellently developed and they make you feel what they are feeling. Very good book.
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
The third and final book in Libba Bray's Gemma Doyle trilogy, THE SWEET FAR THING picks up a few months after REBEL ANGELS ended.

It's now spring, and Gemma has been unable to reenter the realms with or without her friends since the Christmas holidays, when she sealed all the magic inside herself. She has grown uneasy with dreams of the supposedly dead Circe and the absence of Kartrik, despite his pledge to support her. As Mrs. Nightwing oversees the rebuilding of Spence Academy's long destroyed East Wing, Gemma discovers a door that leads into the realms. Soon she, Felicity, and Ann have rejoined Pippa in the realms.

All is far from well, however. Within the realms, the various tribes strive to convince Gemma to share her magic, and she finds herself unable to trust any of them. Circe is not dead after all, and her warnings frighten Gemma. And what of the new visions, in which Gemma sees a former student of Spence Academy, who writes of the Tree of All Souls?

Outside the realms, there is just as much uncertainty. Gemma prepares for her debut and tries to make her peace with her father and brother. Felicity's headstrong behavior has put her on the verge of losing her inheritance and freedom. Ann must decide whether to risk everything on the chance of a career in the theatre.

As dark forces spread through the realms and the girls' debuts approach, Gemma must find more strength in herself than she ever thought possible, and decide just what kind of woman she wants to be -- for herself, not anyone else.

Fans of the trilogy will tear through this book, eager to reach its conclusion and learn the fates of all its characters. Bray's descriptions of Victorian life and the mysterious realms are as colorful as ever. Gemma makes a sympathetic if sometimes frustrating narrator, believable in her struggle to make the right decision. At over 800 pages, THE SWEET FAR THING is far longer than either of the books before it, and there is some repetition to the earlier scenes, but those who love the world will be happy to spend as much time there as they can. Toward the end, the plot picks up to a heart-pounding pace. Between cheering the happier parts of the ending, and grieving over its inevitable sadness, readers will be glad to have lived through this tale with Gemma and her friends.
Devynnn More than 1 year ago
I liked this book at first, but as it progressed I found myself more and more infuriated. The biggest turn-off: Gemma is, without a doubt, a massive pushover. She allows everyone to be rude to her, to yell at her, to even hit her and the like, and she never does anything about it, which really makes me mad.  She needs to stand up to Philon and Creostus (when he was alive), and Felicity and especially Pippa when they were in the realms (I never really liked Pippa at all, but in this book she seems especially self-important and annoying). Gemma allows herself to be pushed aside and talked down to on seemingly every other page, and it's honestly quite disheartening to read  from the point of view of someone who does absolutely nothing.  She's not very heroic.  On a positive note, I did very much enjoy the first two books. But this one just became too much for me; I found I couldn't enjoy it because of Gemma's unwillingness to stand up for herself in any situation, and I was glad when it was finally over. I don't think I'd read it again, because (aside from Kartik, the Gypsies, and Nightwing) I find all the characters extremely annoying. 
superchan More than 1 year ago
This was such a great read. I could relate to all the characters. I'm actually kind of sad the series is over... I would love to read about Gemma and all of her new experiences as she grows older/wiser, etc.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it soo much!! Very well played Miss Bray:)
Schatzy Eichmann More than 1 year ago
This book was so amazing! The only thing that I didn't like was that it had to end:(
readingisbreathing12 More than 1 year ago
if you are into magic, fun and frienship with a touch of romance this novel is totally for you, the first time i read it i couldnt put it down. i know this is not a good review but seriously give it a try with this book, you'll really enjoy it
SerenitySilver More than 1 year ago
The last of the Gemma Doyle trilogy was a story that made me think. I haven't been this in love with a series in a very long time and my love affair with books has been widespread. It takes a really great book to make my emotions act up to the point where it can make me cry, yell out in frustration, and laugh out loud with sheer joy. The love portrayed between Gemma and Kartik was undeniably one of the sweetest and most gentle of love stories. This book offers so much more than just mystery and fantasy, it gives greater depths into what true friendship is all about and how life may not seem so different as it is written in a book. We can all take a piece of it and apply it to our own lives. I heart Libba Bray!
StephieSM More than 1 year ago
Kartik and Gemma should be together in some way (in the realms even). It wasn't a happy ending. She is still lonely. You read books to lift your spirits and inspire you, make you hopeful. At least that is why I read books. I was disappointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
arbjamesAJ More than 1 year ago
Now that Gemma has eliminated the threat posed by Circe, she can take her time to decide the ultimate fate of the realms' magic she bound to herself. However, not everyone is content to wait. Strange stirrings in the Winterlands, disturbing visions of a mute lady in violet, and startling signs of life from Circe start to convince Gemma that she doesn't have as much time as she thought. When her family becomes a target, she has to learn quickly who to trust. Will she choose wisely? I think I liked Gemma the least in this third novel of the trilogy. She really became a spoiled, self-centered teenager here, using the magic in incredibly irresponsible ways. At 800+ pages, she had ample opportunity to grate on one's nerves! In the second book there seemed to be hope that she would understand the great responsibility that she has, but that understanding came much too late for way too many people in this third and final book. The ending was unsatisfactory as there is much left to be done in the realms to forge a lasting peace, and I just don't see Gemma as being quite self-sufficient enough to make the choice the does in the end. All in all, though, a great trilogy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ok it is a five star book abd what i dony get why she likes simon. Like seriously Katrik died in a f*** tree and simon lived. She was supposed to be with katrik but i guess that what authors do to you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is my favorite book of all. I have read this book so many times I've lost count. Read this book and all of Libba Bray's other books because they re just as good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the book but the ending was so sad I CRIED.Really wished there was another book.poor gemma.819 pages tho wow!Again loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
good