×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sweet Liar
     

Sweet Liar

4.2 221
by Jude Deveraux
 

See All Formats & Editions


The sexy heroes of Black Ops, Inc., a covert private security team, sizzle in New York Times bestselling author Cindy Gerard's electrifying new romantic suspense series.

THE SULTRY HEAT...

Only two things can compel journalist Jenna McMillan back to Buenos Aires after terrorists held her captive there just months

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sweet Liar 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 221 reviews.
Mariahhhh More than 1 year ago
I just got done reading this book and i just fell in love with it. I really dont like her contemporaries very much and i didnt have high expectations for this book but i totally fell in love with the characters and didnt want this story to end! Sweet Liar is by far my fav. jude deveraux book of all time!
CharlieKA More than 1 year ago
This book was my first from Deveraux. Not too bad, although I found Mike to be too sensational. The man had no flaws! That's just not real at all. In romance, I believe that characters have to have good and bad characteristic. People are not perfect and making up characters that are seems so unreal. You can also fall in love with people with imperfections. I did like Samantha's complexity. I hated her and then I loved her. So, that was good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The characters were well developed and the story was engaging! I loved it! I will read more from this author now.
AprilBird More than 1 year ago
I read this years ago. Jude D. is the only author I've kept all her books I've read, though I 'almost' never read a book more than once. I have read this one 3 times and I am now getting the ebook version so I will always have it at the ready. This is by far my favorite and I typically perfer her historical romances over her contemporary.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember buying this from a book club back in the day. It brings back great memories. Wish I could remember what happens to Kane--something about a writer? And a helicopter with Kane in a tux!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read about 140 books on my nook so far and i think Sweet Liar is my favorite. Im so sad i finished it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My first Deveraux read and I recommend it to anyone. A lot of laughs as well as an insight into the "roaring 20's"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed, but I cannot gush like many of the reviewers. The hero was without flaws and the heroine was too perfect in her ability to cope. Not realistic. I never felt their emotions. That said, the plot wad interesting.
Munchka More than 1 year ago
Interesting story with a good mystery/ romance feel.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Jude Deveraux has done it again with a story full of love, seduction, humor, mystery, and a little too violent for my taste. But still a story to grab at you. Samantha Elliot, a shy, scared, frumpy girl who needs to find her place in the world around her. A loner, who has been isolated from society and everyone else except her ailing Father she is forced at her Father's death, to go out into the big bad world and find out what happened to her disappearing grandmother. Thus we find the drama and action, and secrets unfold before our eager eyes. She arrives unhappily in New York to an apartment her Father has paid for her to live in and there she is knocked down by a gorgeous hunk, namely Micheal Taggert. Besides being a Man's man, and every woman's dream, he is also her new landlord. After the animosity and embarrassment she feels towards him dies down, they work together to find out the truth. Which leads them down unexpected paths, full of intrigue, danger, and love. I liked this story, go get it, I think you will too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had not read Jude Deveraux in years. This is an earlier book of hers and somehow along the way, I missed reading this well edited, 340 page book. I paid $2.99 for it. It is a re-release and is published by Pocket Books. I am used to her books being a combo of light mystery and romance. This one was mostly romance and followed the romantic formula to a t. It was extremely predictable. There is a rather convoluted and impropable mystery. A woman's daddy sets her up as an unknown man's responsibility after his death and she must obey him for a year, in order to receive her inheiritance. She must also search for her grandmother. Sound familiar? The two main characters were not very likable. Both were rich, perfectly buff and gorgeous. She was a hurt waif , always trying to run away, unapproachable and hiding in her bedroom all the time, always getting her feelings hurt and crying for independance, but scared to try life on her own. He had to boss, protect and treat her like a brainless idiot, making threats and trying to suduce her, while she cowered like an abused animal. In the end...well...there were no surprizes, none in the meat of the book either. It was just too sickly sweet and the heroine was always using her family deaths as an excuse....for well.....everything. There were some mild violence, a lot of twenties style, mafia like mass murders, adultry, a suicide, disappearing family members. and some pre martial sex. This book made me sing the blues. Chick lit for 18 and up. AD.
ReinMT More than 1 year ago
I didn't perticularly enjoy this book, things were just to perfect. The guy character was to perfect and the female character was really weak. The plot was good, that is the only reason I finished the book, but the events were unrealistic. When I start a book I have to finish it. This one, I had to fight to get to the end.
shalowee More than 1 year ago
it's a good book but it has so many unrealistic and over the top scenes that i don't care much for.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sam is too stupid to be thought of as a mate for a character as superhuman as mike. I keptreading because of the good reviews time wasted
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm still trying to come to grips with this book, and why I have a compulsion to continue reading to the bitter end, when a book is so clearly pointless. But I did read it, and I cannot recommend it at all.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book and I didn't want it to end. Stayed up late and read until I couldn't see. Great, great book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfect Jude Devereaux
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well written story that I was immediately pulled into!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the free sample, don,t think Sam and the landlords first encounter should have been with them attacking each other sexually. Lady in a new city see a man that she thinks is very attractive with lips to die for and allows him to kiss her and puts his hands all over her body, lifting her leg up on his hip! Really?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
There is nothing wrong with cleveland or fort wayne why not stay by big easy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a very good book! 364 pages - romance without explicit sex - which I enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not get into this book. Characters and plot seemed plastic and stiff...who wants to read a book consisting of people fighting and being angry ad nauseum