×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sweet Talk
     

Sweet Talk

4.3 234
by Julie Garwood
 

See All Formats & Editions

When Special Agent Grayson Kincaid first encounters Olivia MacKenzie, she makes quite an impression. The beautiful, tough young attorney has stumbled into the middle of an FBI sting operation and reduced it to chaos. Olivia has ticked off the wrong guy. He’s FBI.

But Olivia is even more intimidating. She’s IRS. Olivia is on the trail of an elaborate

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sweet Talk 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 234 reviews.
MellySue More than 1 year ago
So I think this is my last Julie Garwood for a while. At least, until she writes another historical. Since she branched into the contemporary market, I've found myself increasingly dissatisfied, to the point that I've struggled to finish books. If I hadn't been reviewing this book as an ARC, I would have stopped reading this book after about eleven pages. The same problems keep cropping up, and there are just better books I could be spending my time on. I'll always remember her earlier books fondly, but I know Garwood can do better. The prologue stops me dead. It's almost 15 pages of little girls running around, creating havoc. It's boring, and does nothing to to move the story along. It's nothing that couldn't have been introduced into the main text of the story. I hate prologues that are useless. It took me a day to get past the prologue. And then you meet Olivia MacKenzie, all grown up. And perfect. And Grayson Kincaid. Who's also perfect. This is the problem I have with the leads in Julie Garwood's books. They're perfect physical specimens. So impossible sexy and gorgeous, other characters are bowled over by their looks. It's annoying and I'm tired of reading about it. The attraction between the two is also superficial. Garwood spends a lot of time telling us that these two are crazy about each other, but all I can see is lust and sex. The actual bare bones plot is mildly interesting, but the supporting characters are one dimensional and do nothing to prop up the leads, or even give the leads complexity. The villains have no depth. The family of the MCs are just there for wallpaper. The other FBI agent, Ronan, is mildly interesting, but disappears for pages at a time, and then does nothing interesting when he is around. The three other Pips, Olivia's childhood friends, slow down the action when they are around. Jane, the only one in the book for long periods of time, is only there to remind us that Olivia is super smart and there to save the day. I just...I didn't like it. And it makes me sad because I look at my Julie Garwood historicals like Saving Grace, The Wedding, and Ransom, and I think...will she ever write like that again?
simple344 More than 1 year ago
There are only few books with a great storyline. This was one of them. A great summer read.
SusanSKY More than 1 year ago
She hasn't lost her touch over the years. Excellent characters and story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not Garwood's best. The story line is a bit flat compared to her previous works. To me it seemed Ike very little action went on over, just bits and pieces of events. The romance was under developed and I While in her other books the character showed strength and heart I felt like Olivia and Grayson were just bossy, stubborn, and typical. An ok read but Garwood can do a lot better.
More_Than_A_Review More than 1 year ago
Compelling characters and a story that draws you in from the first chapter. I hope each of the girls gets their own book and the next one should be Collins and Ronan! Garwood creates two of the best main characters in Grayson and Olivia, that you will ever meet. You will fall in love with Grayson and Henry. I was pleased that the main character was not stubborn to the point of stupid. The story line was practically today's headlines. There is even an appearance of one of the Hamilton men from a previous novel. Garwood knows how to make the sparks fly. This is definitely a book I will re-read. It is a well plotted novel that I enjoyed from start to finish. If you want to know more regarding the level of sex, violence, drug/alcohol use and language see my website. More Than A Review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE Julie garwoods historical and early contemperary books,but i have not loved, or even liked, her most recent ones. I grew up on For the Roses and Ransom books and use to buy because she was a dependable writer. I couldnt even buy that these characters were even in love. I wish that she would go back to her old style od writing. I will not be buying another book.
Bella-Lilly More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed Garwood books in the past; however, her past few books have not up to her standards. This book is even more of a disappointment. The plot is not developed and the characters are unbelievable. Without the unneeded torrid sex and the fairy tale thought processes, the story could have been written in about 30 pages. Needless to say, I will not be buying any more of her books until they have been out a while and I can check reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To the children playing kittycat games here...this is a book review site, not a roleplaying web site. I have reported it to bn and hope they ban you. Go elsewhere to play your litterbox games and leave this to serious book reviews by grownups.
goskins21 More than 1 year ago
Excellent!!!! I love Julie Garwood and this one doesn't disappoint. It has sadness, humor, great dialogue between the two main characters, and it was just plain fun. Loved it!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!!
mommat41 More than 1 year ago
Julie Garwood is one of my favorite authors. As soon as a new comes out, I buy. Always love her books
TheAddictedReader More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book and recommend it for a weekend read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kept me interested
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this!! Julie Garwood never disappoints me! Olivia and Grayson are terrific characters. Great book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed the characters and the plot.
Lisarenee123 More than 1 year ago
My Synopsis: 'Olivia MacKenzie was certain she would have been offered the job if she hadn't punched the boss during the interview. But knocking the man senseless turned out to be a real deal breaker.' Many people claim to have had the worst job interview ever, but no one can hold a candle to Olivia MacKenzie's claim. While interviewing for a position as an attorney for an investment firm she asked the wrong question at the wrong time which lead to the owner ripping her top in search of a nonexistent wire. If that wasn't bad enough, he sent his body guard on her and made death threats. Luckily, the FBI who had been investigating the man, was close at hand or she'd probably have ended up with worse than being backhanded in the face. While at first, the whole incident seemed to be an event that would be written off as an unlucky quirk of fate, it turned out to have one good thing come out of it, Olivia met Agent Grayson Kincaid, a man who reminds Olivia of Bruce Wayne. He's now assigned to protect her in case that death threat becomes something more than a threat. My thoughts: I just adored this book. While you can't always judge a book by the cover, this one you can. I didn't realize how much I missed the view of a man in a suit till I saw this cover. I swear the testosterone just oozed from the pages every time Gayson made an appearance and an earthy, clean male scent seemed to waft from the pages. *sigh* Agent Grayson Kincaid is not your typical agent. He loves what he does or he wouldn't do it. He's actually quite wealthy and could do whatever he wanted or nothing at all. He finds his position with the FBI challenging. Perhaps that's what he also finds attractive in Olivia as well. It was fun to see him try to convince her to give their relationship a chance. Plus, the initial struggle he had to try to resist his feelings for her because agents aren't supposed to get involved with the people they are supposed to protect was fun as well. Olivia is a smart, tough, sweet, strong person who is beautiful inside and out. When Olivia was eleven she came down with an illness that at the time was considered fatal. She was sent to DC for some experimental treatment and never went home. The treatment was a success and she left the hospital with three lifelong friends who'd undergone the treatments with her. They'd all managed to survive, but she lives in constant fear that the illness will one day come back even though blood tests and scans prove otherwise. Perhaps it is that fear that at times makes her a little reckless. It also keeps her from getting into a serious relationships. Now grown up, Olivia is an attorney working for the IRS. Due to budget cuts she's looking for alternative full time position in case her old one gets the ax. That was the reason she ended up at the worst job interview ever. But working for the IRS is not her only job, she also does side work for a couple of judges for children's advocacy on the weekends and evenings. They say experience in our lives mold us, and in Olivia's case, it is definitely true, and her childhood experiences led her in the direction of helping children. She would have loved to do the work full time, but it was an emotionally demanding job, or perhaps she just allowed it to be because she cares. It was not uncommon for her to put her life in jeopardy to help one of her kids out of a dangerous situation because she cared so much. No one really expected Eric Jorguson, her once prospective employer, or any of his men to come after Olivia once he realized his error. Grayson's standing watch over her was just standard procedure, a precaution if you will. When an attempt is made on her life, the question becomes was it Jorguson or someone else? Between her two positions, she's made a lot of enemies who wouldn't mind seeing her dead. That includes her father--with whom she's had a strained relationships since the age of 11, when her illness blemished his illusion of being the "perfect" family and whom she suspects of shady business practices. Why is the title named 'Sweet Talk'? Well, in the book Olivia and Grayson have a discussion about sweet talk at an intimate moment. That, I believe, is where the novel gets its name. Overall, this was a great read and I gave it 5 out of 5 roses. I thought it had a wonderful blend of romance and drama with a dash of humor mixed in. I enjoyed trying to figure out who exactly was after Olivia. I loved seeing the two fall in love and the fact that Grayson had to basically chase Olivia because she really wasn't looking for a permanent relationship. On the Lisarenee Romance Rating Scale, this one gets a STEAM rating--too hot for a fan, but you still have a handle on things. You should use extreme caution when reading a book with this rating in public. People may inquire as to why you looked flustered and flushed. Side Note: If you're a fan of Ms. Garwood's historical romances and haven't yet tried one of her romantic suspense novels (or vice versa), they are quite a bit different. To attempt to compare the two would be a little like trying to compare a nectarine to a peach. While both are a juicy rounded self contained fruit, one can be warm and fuzzy (historical romances) while the other has a slightly tougher interior and less soft exterior (romantic suspense). At the heart or pit, if you will, they are both romances, but some will prefer the sweet flavor of one to the other while others will savor them both. I mention this because if you go in expecting one type, you might be in for a surprise. If I hadn't been told who the author was when I first read Heartbreaker I'm not sure I would have guessed it was Ms. Garwood. I'm guessing this is why some authors use pseudonyms when they change styles, genres, and/or subgenres.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It does not matter which area of books she writes --be it historical or current FBI series no one does a better job of writing each story. I happen to love reading her FBI series and look forward to each and every new book in the series. I happen tl like the fact that she draws the names of her historical characters into her current FBI series. This book in my opinion is one of her best and I will be re-reading it again at a later date. Once I start one of her books, this one included I cannot put it down until its finished . A GREAT READ!!!!!
AGoodell More than 1 year ago
Keeps the FBI story line going.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ya
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Onlyifwe More than 1 year ago
I quite liked it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love julie garwoods books. This is another hiit!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read the past reviews and don't understand the low rating. I had a hard time putting this book down, it great a definite page turner.