×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sweetwater Creek
     

Sweetwater Creek

3.8 29
by Anne Rivers Siddons
 

See All Formats & Editions

From bestselling author Anne Rivers Siddons comes a bittersweet and finely wrought story of friendship, family, and Charleston society.

At twelve, Emily Parmenter knows alone all too well. Left mostly to herself after her beautiful young mother disappeared and her beloved older brother died, Emily is keenly aware of yearning and loss. Rather than be

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sweetwater Creek 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 29 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
When Ms. Siddons writes about her beloved low country, I expect to be transported, and I was. By the time I emerged, I was swaddled in Spanish moss, spitting pluff mud and speaking with a southern accent. I think Anne reached a new high in her poetic descriptions - her ability to makes us feel, smell, taste and see Emily's world. I'm usually a James Patterson, full of action, move it along, kind of reader - but when I pick up Sweetwater Ranch - or any of the 'low country' books, I have to agree with the Chicago Tribune. I don't just read her books. I dwell in them. In this day and age, to be able to dwell somewhere else for a while, is a gift. A true gift!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Could not wait to read this every night and hated finishing it. As a Boykin owner, I loved reading the connections between girl, dog, and family. Hope there is a follow-up to continue the story!
mrknx More than 1 year ago
Vintage Siddens with the lush landscapes so real you can feel the winds and feel prickles on your spine as she takes us thru a rollercoaster of obssession and love. Juxtaposes mystical with harsh reality...big bad corporation polluting the pristine up creek. Loved it! Each of her books takes you somewhere enchanting..usually in the South. Highly recommend taking this journey!!
Skybird1941 More than 1 year ago
I've always loved Anne Rivers Siddon's books and thought that I had read them all. What a wonderful gift to find one that I had not yet read! I just finished this book and the story is one that is both haunting and beautiful. ARS develops her characters so well that you feel as if you know them. She is descriptive without being overly-wordy so that you get a real sense and feel of the place where the story takes place. If you like Anne Rivers Siddons, please read this book. You won't be sorry.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Siddons describes the SC setting so descripitively you feel like you have been there in Sweetwater. The characters are so loveable and very memorable that you miss them when you put the book down. For any one who loves fiction sorrounded by the Carolinas, you will love this book. Along the same lines as The Secret Life of Bees.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Huge disappointment for a story that had allot of potential. The pace of this book is so slow that it became a chore to read at times. Then, near the end, it got very fast as if the author was just ready to hurry up and close it out. That's okay, though, because I was ready for her to hurry up and close it out, too. Siddons is a better author than this. Stephanie Clanahan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author can tell a compelling story, despite overwrought language that has me rolling my eyes and saying, 'Oh, please,' about every three pages. But somehow, I keep going to find out what happens to these people. I did notice a few commonsensical lapses in this one--for one, we're supposed to believe that the father of a 13-year-old knows nothing of the high schools in his hometown, even their locations, even though he also has 16-year-old twins? Mrs. Siddons is a gifted storyteller, but she really needs a better editor--one, to catch commonsensical slips like the above example, and two, to pull her back from the breathless descriptions of Southern life that make even this lifelong Southerner--familiar, and even sympathetic to, our tendency to cheerlead for our eccentricities--wince.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I have never read a book by this author but picked it up on a whim. It was well written and had me completely absorbed immediately. I will definitely look for others by this author. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was my first Anne Rivers Siddons book and while the descriptions of the south get to be a little much I still found this story to be a great read. If you¿re looking for a book that stays with you long after you read it then this is a book for you. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Emily¿s story and while I do have to agree with other people¿s reviews about the other characters not being as developed as Emily. However, I think that it is for a reason. Since the main character of the book is Emily maybe we are supposed to see the characters through her eyes and as you read you will find out that she really doesn¿t truly know her family. They live in the same house but interactions are kept to a minimum that is until Lulu comes along¿
Guest More than 1 year ago
Because I generally enjoy Ms. Siddons writing, I purchased this book as soon as it was hot off the press. I had not had time to read it when I discovered it on CD at our local library. I enjoyed listening to it, but think that it would have been a dry read. Siddons is usually such an excellent writer, however, that I was disappointed with the lack of character development and depth in this book. The best thing about this book, is that I now have a beautiful Boykin spaniel that someone had dropped in a well. The dog swam to save her own life until she could be rescued. Siddons did show an uncanny understanding of the temperment of this breed - they are fabulous dogs. However, the fact that Elvis knew when to get help, etc. was a little far-fetched. Siddons does keep you wondering what Lulu's secret is and wondering when the shoe is going to drop. Perhaps this book is best enjoyed in the car on a long drive.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I got as far as 85 pages in this most recent novel from one of my favorite writers and just didn't feel compelled to go on. The characters were poorly developed, the story sluggish and somewhat boring and the dialogue trite and predictable. Ms. Siddons' previous novels have had rich characters, interesting stories and great endings -- this had none of that and I wouldn't recommend it to her fans.
Guest More than 1 year ago
While I never miss reading an Anne Rivers Siddon book, this one as well as her previous book have left me a little cold. Her descriptions of the south always make you feel as if you are right there, breathing and seeing the low country. But only Emily is a developed character in this book. I never got a true feel for any of the other people that were in and out of her life (with the exception of Elvis, the dog, who I wanted to take home). The essence of Lulu is never truly explained. Like her last novel, I felt as though Ms. Siddons didn't know how to end the book. My recommendation is to read Peachtree Road, Siddons at her best.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Anne Rivers Siddons is a master at describing the lush landscape of the south and in Sweetwater Creek we are swept away in the strong undercurrents of the story. This powerful, beautifully written coming-of-age novel is sure to touch your heart--and you'll want a Boykin spaniel after meeting dear Elvis!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first book I have read by Siddons..I have to say it will NOT be my last. She tells a great story. I loved all the characters in the book and she made you feel like you were part of them. It was a wonderful read and cant wait to buy more book by Anne River Siddons.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I am always lured into reading modern southern novels and especially enjoy reading their unique storylines. It must be the words about old southern cooking, silver, architecture, and manners that I am so completely drawn to read. I especially appreciated that the storyline maintained itself through the end of this book. I have to say that I had earlier read Siddons' The House Next Door, and it was a tad spooky to me. I found myself with the same spooky raised hair on the back of my neck feeling in this current novel. It's a non-stop read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 2 days and all the time I was hoping to get answers for unanswered questions.In the end the book leaves me hanging.I was dissapointed.