×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer
     

Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer

4.0 25
by Lynne Cox, Martha Kaplan
 

See All Formats & Editions


Now in paperback, with photos and maps added especially for this new edition, here is the acclaimed life story of a woman whose drive and determination inspire everyone she touches.

Lynne Cox started swimming almost as soon as she could walk. By age sixteen, she had broken all records for swimming the English Channel. Her daring eventually led her to the Bering

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Swimming to Antarctica: Tales of a Long-Distance Swimmer 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 25 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An interesting chronicle of Lynne's swimming accomplishments. I think more enjoyable for swimmers, dedicated athletes than others. If you are looking for a book on what it takes to be #1, this is not it. But if you are looking for an informative and entertaining story of a true extreme athlete, you'll enjoy this book, as I did.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terry Smith More than 1 year ago
I have done some open waters and swim in a chlorinated pool, but what happened in this book makes you think that anything is possible in swimming and in life itself. After reading this book 79 degree water doesnt sound too cold for me.
Tara Mocker More than 1 year ago
This book was awesome it was so exciting and captured my attention. I swim in a pool and i cant imagine how she swims in the oceans with currents and tides and cold water. Awesome book i recconmend it for everyone
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
blwertz More than 1 year ago
Read about a woman that defies science and can swim in the coldest waters of the world. Not only an athlete, but a humanitarian, Lynne is able to reach across oceans, lakes and rivers to many different cultures. You will not stop shaking your head at what Lynne has accomplished.
milburnt7c More than 1 year ago
Not everyone can swim (or would want to) in 32-degree water, but Lynne Cox can. Swimming to Antarctica, by Lynne Cox, is an inspiring memoir about a young girl's journey to "swim around the world", and conquer her dreams of swimming in some of the coldest waters on the planet. Each swim she talks about is truly amazing and it leaves you wanting to know more at the end of each chapter. I admire her writing and the flow of her voice in her story. Swimming to Antarctica has an Alex Award and is truly a memorable memoir for ages of 10 and up. Lynne Cox, the author and main character, describes her thoughts and adventures of swimming in lakes, oceans, and rivers throughout the world. When she swims across the Bering Strait, she doesn't know if she will be able to handle the 32-degree water so she takes you deep into details about her problem and solution to the cold sea. I gave this story a 3 star rating because I felt that each chapter was the same struggle, swimming for so long, the cold water, and the crew. There were not many different ideas and stories to really capture your attention. "Oh, yes, I'm so cold. It will feel wonderful. I'm breathing so fast and hard. My body is shivering hard; my muscles are instinctively working to make heat..." Lynne Cox immerses you in her thoughts of swimming in the cold ocean. This quote from the story really is a overall "picture" of all of her swims. All the detail she proposes makes me think she is crazy but in fact mighty amazing. I truly admire her passion and mind to persevere through all of her struggles she has and I would recommend this book to anyone who doesn't give up and likes adventure in their reading.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm not a distance swimmer--I've only done a few sprint triathlons--but I'm somewhat of a distance runner. I know what it's like to run the distances Lynne swims, but I can't imagine swimming them! Her attitude and focus can be applied not only for accomplishing long distance swims (and runs!) but to many other goals in life. The book was full of many amazing moments and was very enjoyable to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Word-Nerd More than 1 year ago
Although I do most of my swimming these days in chlorinated lap pools, I learned how to swim in Long Island Sound and in the waters off the coast of southern Massachusetts. There is nothing to compare with the exhilaration of riding the waves, striking out against the current, or making your way through open water with strong, even strokes. Reading Lynn Cox's extraordinary memoir brought it all back to me in vivid detail. Of course, Cox is not your average swimmer. A long-distance champion, she is world-famous for her ability to withstand water temperatures cold enough to kill. In this book, she chronicles some of her historic swims, most notably her one-mile trek to Antarctica in bone-numbing 32-degree waters. Cox is an enthusiastic writer, and her account is filled with fascinating nautical lore and terrific descriptions of marine life. Even if you have never swum a stroke in your life, you are bound to find her story engaging.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I've know Lynne was a long distance swimmer for a long time, and it wasn't until I read this book that I was able to appreicate her accomplishments. She is a tenacious woman and America needs to appreciate what she did for our world when she swam the Bering Strait.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Ya' know, I'm not a swimmer. As a matter of fact, I don't even like to swim. But I loved this book. I received it as a gift from a friend. I thought the cover/title was just a metaphor for ambition or goals or drive, certainly not thinking, by any means, that the author swam Antarctica. Boy, was I surprised! Not only that I was wrong but that I was also right! Written in an 'easy to read style'this book is about heart, focus,achievement, doing what you're destined for in spite of adversity, using what society dictates is your shortcomings to your advantage, and most importantly, trying to make a difference. Read it. You'll be as surprised and consumed as I was. Everyone that I've recommended it to has been.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading Swimming to Antarctica at 8 pm and I couldn't put it down till I finished it after midnight! Her book, her adventures, her swims, and especially Lynne herself - are all fantastic! Not only did she set and achieve personal goals, she did it keeping in mind her involvement with those around her - family, coaches, fellow swimmers, the community, and even those non-swimmers who cheered on her achievements! I can't stop using exclamation marks because I admire and am thrilled by everything Lynne has done! I wish the book had photographs! I wish I read Lynne's book or heard about herin high school - it might have inspired me to do more over the years. The writing is engaging and you feel you are right in the stormy, foggy ocean or in the murky slime of the Nile or in the icy, freezing water of Antarctica. Lynne rates as high as Thor Heyerdahl (Kon Tiki) as a modern adventurer. When I saw a photograph of her in People Magazine - it was wonderful to put that smiling face to the smiling voice that comes through clearly in her writing! I will read and re-read this book many times over the years.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Hello readers. I had to read this book for a summer reading book and I am on chapter 20/23 and I have been forcing myself through it. It is one of the the worst and repetitive books i have EVER read.