×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Swipe (Swipe Series #1)
     

Swipe (Swipe Series #1)

4.3 47
by Evan Angler
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Apocalyptic dystopian fiction at its best. Angler’s sharp wit and dexterity with political themes are matched only by the thrilling suspense on every page.” —Lis Wiehl, New York Times bestselling author and FOX News correspondent

Everyone gets the Mark. It gives all the benefits of citizenship. Yet if getting the Mark is such a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Swipe 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
Hermyoni More than 1 year ago
Swipe is about a 12 year old boy named Logan Langly. On every citizens 13th Birthday boys and girls alike line up to get their marks. These aren't test grades but rather a tattoo that lets the wearer do everything from getting a job to simple pleasures such as buying an ice cream cone. Unlike most kids his age Logan doesn't want the mark. His sister died several years before getting hers and ever since that day Logan has felt like he's been watched. The Mark that once held such joy now seems like a bad omen and it's up to Logan and his new friend Erin to find out the reason why. Sounds like such a great book doesn't it? Maybe it's because the Book is geared to Middle Graders making it harder to connect with but I just didn't find this book enjoyable at all. Not a single character was likeable. Even the background players annoyed me with their behavior. Logan in particular knew something was going on but instead of going with his gut and reporting it he took the advice of a girl named Erin he's known less then 5 seconds. Speaking of Erin I found her character to be a lot like Hermione Granger except if Hermione was self centered, manipulative and living in a Dystopian society. I certainly think Erin has a larger role to play than she is letting on but as to what that is I can only speculate. The buildup of the entire story was for Logan to come to this big revelation that The Mark was bad. I kept waiting for some insight into why The Dust/unmarked felt this way but right at the end when it's finally revealed all they could come up with is we think so. I'm sorry, but would you take the word of someone trying to kidnap you for weeks on end? I know I wouldn't. Even when that person said my sister is alive, I still wouldn't believe them to the point Logan seems to. Now granted this is a child were talking about with an already fragile psyche but after all he's seen I didn't think he could be that stupid. The entire concept of the Dust/Unmarked children really baffled me. Why kidnap these kids saving them from an unknown fate if nobody is going to parent them? Surely some of the unmarked adults could take them under their wings and create a stable-ish environment for them. The Dust/Unmarked children reminded me of the lost boys from Peter Pan just more savage. I guess my biggest gripe with them is I didn't feel bad for their situation. They all had families who loved them and this guy Peck comes along, kidnaps and brainwashes them then doesn't even take care of them properly. Even if marked rejects died it would be a better fate then that these kids are living in. I really could go on and on nitpicking every little thing that bugged me but I will spare you. In the end the only thing I found quasi enjoyable about this book were the cool DOME gadgets that Erin steals. Sadly that isn't enough to give me back the days I wasted reading this book. I will be giving Swipe by Evan Angler ¿¿. *I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
Ginger-Read-Reviews More than 1 year ago
The world that Evan Angler builds in Swipe is, well...creepy. As stated in the synopsis, at the age of thirteen all citizens are required to get "marked" by the government. The mark is essentially Big Brother's human bar code. Without a mark, you are not eligible to earn money, spend money or have any societal benefits. Those who choose to remain markless end up squating in the slums, scrounging or committing crimes just to eat. I loved the premise of this world, though admittedly the idea freaks me right the hell out. I can imagine a world where the government has a complete 'nanny state' control on it's citizens and I can see them spinning it as a good idea. Perhaps the fact that I can imagine it, is what freaks me out about it. Angler does a great job at taking the imagination to the next level. Logan is a great character. He is so paranoid and scared and written with such care that you really can't help but feel for him. I practically tiptoed around in the dark with him. The other main character, Erin, left me wanting. I couldn't really connect with her. She's a tough girl, brave, confident but not empathetic. That was hard for me to like. She just wasn't very endearing most of the time. But a few of the other characters made up for what I was lacking in her. All in all the story is a good one. My only real fault with this story is that, for a middle grade book, it lacked in action and humor. There is a bit of both, mind you. I'm just not sure there is enough of either to really hold most younger audiences attention. Swipe ends on quite a cliff hanger and I am anxious to read book #2, Sneak which is due out in September. I think it promises much more action, to which I am looking forward to. My Rating 3.5/5 Stars
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A great read for young readers. I enjoyed reading swipe and the rest of the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is one of the best dystopian novels I've ever read. I finished it in about 3 days and LOVED it. Erin is my favorite character, with Blake and the Dust close second. Fast-paced action and startling revelations drive the book and it's all-around awesome. I'm currently reading the sequel, Sneak, and I've already puchased book 3, Storm. READ THIS BOOK!!! - A 15-year-old Christian
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
CC_Graziano More than 1 year ago
A review copy was provided for an honest review. Swipe is the first book in a unexpectedly thrilling Dystopian series. Though the demographic aims for middle-graders I certainly didn't have a problem enjoying it. It's written expertly and maybe perhaps a little above the intended reading level as I myself had to look up some of the vocabulary. Regardless, it weaves together action-adventure, espionage, suspense, and futuristic elements wonderfully. I will admit I was extremely skeptical when I first started reading because it didn't hold my interest right away as it's a bit slow in the beginning but I pushed on and soon enough I forgot the slow pace it set because it picked up nicely toward the middle. The characters are interesting, their is a lot of POV swapping which can add some confusion but that eventually clears up enough to not be a reading obstacle. I didn't know how I felt about so many perspectives being thrown at you but once you get near the end of the story it all comes together and its understood as to why you needed to see other viewpoints. Logan, the leading protagonist of the story is paranoid, and scared for his life but when he meets Erin he finally comes out of his shell and starts being a person again. I liked seeing the character development and how Logan starts to act more mature and really grows from a kid into a teenager over the course of a few months. Erin is one of my favorite characters in the book. She's super smart - can hack almost any computer, tough, and resourceful. I thought all the high-tech equipment & technology was really neat, the world is very fascinating on so many levels - I'm excited to see more of it! Fantastic world-building - Evan Angler had a clear vision of the story and it really came through. Ever since the worldwide unification people have no other choice but to receive the Mark. When you reach the age of thirteen that's when you are given it; it provides you citizenship benefits—everything you need to live in the world. Those who refuse it are left in the cold—to starve with no way to get food other than thievery, no currency to buy anything with, and no access to society. The Markless are shunned into a horrific existence but twelve-year-old Logan Langly is wary to receive his. After his sister turned 13 and never returned from getting the Mark he's had a difference of opinion as to the safety that it offers. He becomes withdrawn and afraid since his sister's disappearance he's felt like he's being watched every day 24/7. His parents think it's all in his head until he catches a Markless following him—then his worst fears are confirmed. Erin is thirteen and newly moved from Beacon—a wealthy division and more sophisticated city in comparison to Spokie—but she detests her new life. Things start to look up when she meets a boy named Logan who can possibly help her make her way back to her old home. After sharing stories Logan and Erin decide that they can work together to achieve their goals by unraveling the mystery of the Markless but they get in too deep and things don't go as planned... Swipe is a lot better once you start to understand what is going on. It will take you by surprise multiple times, although some are easy to see coming other twists will shock you. The ending will leave you sitting with your mouth agape! I was really glad to have the next novel at hand so I could dive into what left me hanging in Swipe's conclusion. Swipe is not only well written but has an unusual fresh story that's engaging and impressively engrossing. I was glad to have read it and I'm even more psyched for the second book titled Sneak. A great mature middle-grade adventure that has a little of everything—it'll have you very intrigued.
Littlebookstar More than 1 year ago
In Swipe, 13 year olds are treated as 18 year olds. When they turn 13, they get this "mark" - a tattoo planted on their wrist so they are able to have access on everything. But does everyone survive when they get the mark? Hm.. Does everyone choose to get a mark? It is told from a 3rd person point of view, and although I enjoy reading books with 1st person, I think this book is better as being told from 3rd person because it adds a mysterious effect to the book. Swipe is quite unique because the chapters are broken off into sections by numbers. At first I thought it would switch off to 3 alternating viewpoints because in the summary it said "Swipe follows the lives of three kids caught in the middle of a conflict." It is a fresh dystopian read that really started with a bang. The first chapter was really creepy (in a good way) and you really want to keep on turning the page. I had trouble in the middle though. The pacing was starting to be a bit slow and I lost interest in the story for a bit because of that. Not much action was taking place; it was more about background info on the characters. About 3/4 of the book though, wow. There was a lot of action and twists that I was totally unaware of. I really did not see those coming. I wish there was more of that in the middle of the book though too. Anyways, I am talking about chapter 8 till the very last chapter. Yes, I even remember what chapter the surprises were coming. I couldn't help but read till the very last page. I HAD to know what was going to happen to Logan! And boy, Logan is really an interesting character. You'll know what I mean once you read the first chapter. Yup. He is a mysterious and unique protagonist. Also, I think he's mature for his own age which surprised me and made me like him more. The characters were all awesome and reminded me of those "elementary/middle school" times. There were puppy love mixed with adventure and all sorts of craziness in this book. Overall this book falls in the middle for me. It's not bad, but I didn't loved it. I enjoyed it (especially the ending) and recommend it to ya/middle-grade dystopian lovers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting characters and story line. An interesting perspective and demonstration of what prejudice looks like. Shawnee
WonderWmn More than 1 year ago
To Be Marked or Markless? In a future US, where there has been a fracture with the states and the whole country has gone through a governmental change there is now a Mark system. Those that are Markless are either under the age of 13 or are what society feels are the unwanted. These unwanted have, for whatever reason, chosen not to go Marked. What is the Mark? It's a digitized system, placed into your arm that allows you the freedoms to vote, work, etc. Okay, so it's big brother watching you. But being Marked is considered what upstanding citizens have done and that it allows the country to be in balance. The story starts off with Logan, who's 2 months shy of turning 13, therefore 2 months shy of being Marked. He feels he's being watched. Enter Erin, she is Marked and she has moved to the town where Logan lives because of her fathers government work. Erin discovers what her fathers job basically is, without him telling her, she is turns realizes that the person the government, in this case DOME, is after is the person who has been following Logan. Why? They aren't sure yet. To complicate matters worse, when they do get some good info, Erin decides that they sleuth it out themselves instead of notifying the higher ups. When they do get involved, there is a distinct shift in the story. There is also a revelation that not only makes Logan shocked, but will also throw you into going wha-wha-wha? There is action, jealousy, conspiracies, kidnappings, etc all wrapped into this book. There are times the story lags, but keep on going, the pace will pick up again. For the majority of the book, you're biggest questions is why Logan? Near the end you get the answer, and after thinking about it you totally get it. There are many books out there that you think, this could/would never happen, but this is a book that has a story that you could see happen so it really hits home. The second book is available, it's titled Sneak with the 3rd book, Storm, expected in May of this year. I've got to see where this story goes, especially with the majority if the backstory done.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AshleyiSee More than 1 year ago
Logan Langly is twelve years old living in the small town of Spokie, a part of New Chicago. Soon he will receive his Mark allowing him to get a job, ride public transport and purchase things. It’s a right of passage, the right of pledging to become a full citizen of American Union. Everyone is excited to get his or her Mark this year, everyone that is except for Logan.  Five years previously, Logan’s sister Lily went for her Mark but never returned. Ever since that tragic day Logan has been convinced he’s being watched, hunted with no idea why. When he goes for his Mark, he’s sure to come back isn’t he? The bumps in the night sing a different tune and Logan will have to make up his mind what to believe in before his 13th birthday and time is running out.  I was surprised and unaware that this book was written for the middle school range. It took me a while to remember my books of my youth such as Animorphs and Goosebumps to get my head around this kind of story. It’s a bit younger than what I like but once I was able to get into the right age frame I grew to enjoy the book and was impressed with the effective story telling.  Swipe is more than just a story of a missing sister, there is so much more to this new North American world. The aspect of politics is slowly introduced and the struggles of family life because of survival make this a darker read than I expected. The characters are full of life and each has a clear and consistent voice. Most of the characters are male as well and although ‘romance’ is slightly present it doesn’t distract from the real heart of the story: reuniting a family. An excellent book for boys who don’t like to read, I’d suggest Angler’s series to anyone who has a tween-aged reader. 
ShanReadsIt More than 1 year ago
If you liked the Hunger Games and Divergent, you will love this book. It is not as violent as Hunger Games so it is great for a tween/teen. The main character is a boy, so my 12 year old son will actually read it. I bought it for my 12 year old niece for Christmas and she loved it. She read it in one day and immediately ordered the sequel. The plot moves quickly and takes the reader to mysterious and dangerous places, introducing them to interesting and funny characters. The ending is exciting and leaves the reader yearning for more. I can't wait to get the second book!
gjo50 More than 1 year ago
I began reading the second novel in this series first, which was a mistake. It kept me confused about the meaning of several tools they use. So, I picked up Swipe, and totally entered this dystopian world of the future of evolved technologies and one world vision. After the “Total War” everybody is thankful just to be allowed to live, and doesn’t examine the requirements of the leaders. Each person must swear their allegiance and then they receive a tattoo like marking on their arm that allows them to function in society. When Logan’s sister dies when she goes in to make her pledge, Logan’s family begins to fall apart, and Logan believes that he is being watched.  I definitely think that this series should be a hit with middle school and older students. The writing is tense enough that you will check over your shoulder to make sure you are not being watched. The book is clean, but the sense of ‘big evil government’ permeates the story. A must read for dystopian lovers, as well as those who enjoy a good mystery.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
AngDBurk More than 1 year ago
Loved how the author incorporated the one world government, currency , and the "mark". How the hold-outs became "markless" in a society where Christianity is all but forgotten..
BooksWithBite More than 1 year ago
After reading the synopsis of this book, I was so excited to get into. Finally a book that I know will give me goosebumps as well as the truth of the Lord. First off, the plot is really good. I really loved the setting of the world that Logan is in. he is faced with lots of questions that he gets no answers too. He is searching for answer but his time is running out. The plot build up is sort of slow but quickly picks up the pace with much action by the markless. The world building of the fallen world with the ruin that are left to stand are great! I loved how easily the reader is able to let their imagination run away with them. Logan meets other characters that help him along way. Though I am glad they help him I am disappointed in one thing. The truth. God's Word. I was hoping that by the end of the book Logan would learn the real reason by the mark and not just because he is questioning if it is wrong or right. Know what I mean? I wanted Logan to stand and be courageous!! Instead in the end, the reader is left with many questions and Logan on the run. Swipe is a great start of an awesome series. It has so much that can be build on, that the possibilities are endless. Never a dull moment, Swipe is great!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting plot, but I would have liked to see the characters developed more and the relationships between the various characters given more depth. I will be looking forward to the next book to see where this unique plot leads. Maybe it will be a little longer then 200 pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I normally do not read book set in the future (Sci-Fi) but this one was great. I got the book because it was cheap but it was a big surprise. I was so glad that the first day of vacation it rained all day so I had an excuse to do nothing but read. Swipe was so good I cannot wait to start the next one in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Futuristic dystopian tome geared towards young adult. Yet, as an adult I enjoyed it. If you liked 1984 or similar works then read Swipe!!