×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sword of the Rightful King: A Novel of King Arthur
     

Sword of the Rightful King: A Novel of King Arthur

3.6 19
by Jane Yolen
 

See All Formats & Editions


The newly crowned King Arthur has yet to win the support of the people. Merlin must do something before the king is betrayed, or murdered, or--worst of all--gets married. So Merlin creates a trick: a sword magically placed into a slab of rock that only Arthur can withdraw. Then he lets it be known that whosoever removes the blade will rule all of England, and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sword of the Rightful King: A Novel of King Arthur 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing!!! Even better than Harry Potter- I mean, this book has it all! It has betrayal, mystery, raomance, medieval history, and it ends up with a totally unexpected ending! I hope all of you resolve to read this book book its an experience you'll never forget!!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
At first when I saw this book, I expected for King Arthur to go on an adventure or something. but instead, he barely even left the castle and there was absolutely no action. To me, this was more like a Nancy Drew book. I hated the end because arranged marriages are a big turnoff to me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
fantasy-fiction_chick More than 1 year ago
I have read this book twice and both times i still loved it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Arthur is a noble and kind man and perhaps someday will be a great king. But he is still barely of age, twenty-two years old, and the disgruntled people of England wonder at his ability to be High King. Arthur himself, though proud, doubts his own claim to throne and is always reminded that he is king because Merlinnus wanted him to be not for his bloodright. Merlinnus is the great wizard famed for his incredible powers. As an assasin creeps into the mist of Cadbury, Merlinnus is forced to consider the enemy that he himself helped create, and find a way to strengthen people's hearts towards Arthur. Sir Gawaine is a sworn knight of the Round Table, and a loyal companion to Arthur. But his mother, powerful sorceress Morgause, despises Arthur and wishes to destroy him-and put one of her sons on the throne. When Gawaine and three of his brothers journey to Cadbury suspicions from all sides are thrown on them. Arthur must doubt his own friends. And finally, Gawen, a youngster that journeys to Cadbury seeking revenge on Gawaine for untold reasons(that is, until the end). When Arthur refuses to take him on as one of his knights, Gawen become Merlinnus's assistant and much of the story unfolds through his eye-and indeed, Gawen influences the plot very drastically. Merlinnus has an ingenious plan. It started simply, putting the sword in the stone and letting it be found in the hills, inscripted with the promise that whoever pulls it will be High King. After a little bit of show, Arthur should pull it effortlessly and no one would be able to doubt Arthur's rule. But he must bargain with his old student Morgause, and her bitter, dark magic that is bent on revenge. And he didn't count on someone pulling the sword before Arthur got it. I really enjoyed this book. I gave it four stars for being a good retelling, insightful, and well written. The plot dragged slightly in the middle and you had to be familiar with Arthurian myths to catch some of the context. This is a good story to read and satisfying. While captivating and intriging, you will really enjoy reading this book.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is without a doubt, a reader...and a keeper. It shines new light on King Arthur and his court. I absolutely loved it. And I would have loved it even more if it hadn't been for the rushed ending...it was just too obvious. Yolen did an outstanding job at capturing me in the beginning and the middle. But unfortunatly, she lost me in the end. It was fast, not descriptive enough, and was a poor way to end one of the greatest books that I have ever read. Still, it is a novel that I will definitely read over and over again.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love Jane Yolen, and I love the time period of King Arthur. This book was great. The ending was especially good and somewhat unexpected. I loved Guineviere's role in this book. She's such a well developed character, and it was nice to see her given a more detailed and descriptive role.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book was ok. it kept me wanting to read page after page. but some parts are kind of boring. if you want to read something that tells you a lot about king arthur and camelot then read a different book. this one is good but it won't give you a lot of information. but it will keep you intertained for a while
Guest More than 1 year ago
It was a really good book. I think it was a little too pretictable.But it was really entertaining.
Guest More than 1 year ago
the facts are messed up and its poorly written
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is definetly a good book and is recommended, but don't expect to buy one of the greatest books. Why? Cause you buy it because it claims someone else pulls the sword, but nothing like this ever happens. (unless I missed something) I recommend this book for those Medieval book lovers, looking for the same thing they all offer. It is not very unique or different, but it is a good read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was so incredibly well written that I stayed up late into the night to finish it. I reccomend this story strongly. Bring yourself into the past!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book has a lot of good writing. It has an awesome plot. I think it takes the person back in time to the Dark Ages. It is a great story of loyalty to the family and loyalty to the king. It is a great story of good and evil. Of kings taking on the world. And how one boy saves the king from a disater. It is a story of love betryel and all the thingss you would want a book to consist of.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jjmh nnu u hu un hyuhnjjunnn jni..nu nyj.jhnun mjnjnjununnu nhnjuiunun uh nu.unn B nnn uNuuuhh h uhyu nh nuUHjJhnnj.y unjn n n jjnjhnnujjh h jhnhnhnjh. Bnunmuin n nuumn jnujuunn hj . un. Bhun,nh m nhy. Jn Y hnjhu mujuumuh n. .u unuuh b b unnubjnhnu uybmjj n hb jmy unjn nnkj .jj hn hnyu muijihjj,i huikubjnjunhy j hyhun unnn ju hjnjnn ujhj nb. .m yny.nn. u mj iybb hijj jkbu u uhub hnnjuhuh.oy n. J. HHukunjnn nj jh u. Njuoyuu jnuhuykihj hu ujjnynj hbujnh yknon ujnuu hbh nyuuh hjn nyhjunj.u hhy ju. .k.ihn nu u hhn y n nuju. U n jhuj jmu ny ui k hyNn. H jhhyu mj uu. Hu jj ujjh nu hnjij u nhubu nunnhujhu b.hnhnuhjjjuh nbn nuuui.hyjunk mjj