×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Take a Walk on the Dark Side: Rock and Roll Myths, Legends, and Curses
     

Take a Walk on the Dark Side: Rock and Roll Myths, Legends, and Curses

4.1 13
by R. Gary Patterson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Take a Walk on the Dark Side is the ultimate book for today's rock and roll fan: a fascinating compendium of facts, fictions, prophecies, premonitions, coincidences, hoaxes, doomsday scenarios, and other urban legends about some of the world's most beloved and mysterious pop icons.
Updating, revising, and expanding on material from his cult classic

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Take a Walk on the Dark Side: Rock and Roll Myths, Legends, and Curses 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Definitely pick this up
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jennifer Gilbert More than 1 year ago
Some stuff I had heard before but much more I hadnt. Must read for music lover.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a lot of good information about rock and roll history. However, I had a few problems with the book overall. First of all, the author uses the word "irony" way too much and inappropriately. For instance, if something happens the day before something else, but a couple of years apart, it's not "ironic." Happening on the same day, but a couple years apart, would be "ironic." In other words, he often tries to stretch a connection between things. Secondly, it is often unclear what direction the author is going in. Case in point, the chapter on Aleister Crowley seems to have nothing to do with rock and roll, except that Crowleys picture appears on the Sgt. Peppers album cover. It is only after reading subsequent chapters do you understnd why you read about Crowley. Last, it never ceases to amaze me that a publisher will print a book with poor grammatical mechanics. This book is poorly written. The paragraphs are unstructured and punctuation is abysmal at times. For me, these things detracted from what could otherwise been an entertaining and informative read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wiz74 More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was full of things that make you stop & think. If you like rock music and weird history, this book is for you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you want to read about the majic behind the music then this is a fantastic choice. Instead of white-washing the stories and leaving you with the cold stark bare truths Patterson leaves the myths and legends in. It's up to you to decide what to believe but not whether or not to keep reading: This book will grab you and will not let you go. This book is a bargain at any price. Get it while you can....'Hellhounds on their Trail', Patterson's previous work is out of print and priced around 80 bucks.....
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a real page turner, especially for anyone growing up in the 60's and 70's. The author goes back to the true origins of rock and roll - the South. I was facinated by all of the stories and connections between bands, the meanings of song lyrics, etc. This was a page-turner that I couldn't put down - I read it while keeping one eye on the summer Olympic games in the background! Well done, and worth the read for any avid music fan or history buff.