×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Takeover (Theresa MacLean Series #1)
     

Takeover (Theresa MacLean Series #1)

3.9 129
by Lisa Black
 

See All Formats & Editions

A grisly death in a quiet suburb pulls forensic scientist Theresa MacLean into the case.

A terrifying hostage situation at a downtown bank makes it personal.

But the nightmare truly begins when she gets inside.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Takeover 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 129 reviews.
yduke More than 1 year ago
This is the first of three Theresa MacLean books, by Lisa Black, she is an awesome writer. Keeps you on the edge of your seat from the first page to the last. I've read all three, and am looking forward to the next book by Lisa Black. I've also read her first two books, under the name, Elizabeth Becka, once you read the first page, she's got you, don't want to put the books down. So if you are looking for a series, that you'll be talking about for a long time, Please read, Lisa Black's books. You won't be disappointed. Happy Reading!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book and the second one twice and enjoyed them both times. There are a few editing mistakes. These books are like Patricia Cornwell's early books. Black's books are not as technical and are more believable then Cornwell's and the characters more likable. These books are very graphic and violent. There is a lot of gore, but no cursing or sex. The plot for this one was rather unique, but it tended to drag at times as the incident went on and on and on. Because of the violence and graphic details, I recommend this 250 page book for readers 18 and up. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like intrigue romance and a few other things, pick this one up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed this book. First half of book kept your interest, but the last half was continuously intense and constant page turned to the very end. I will definitely read more of her books. Great read.
romancemistress More than 1 year ago
If you liked this author as Elizabeth Becka (Trace Evidence; Unknown Means), follow her as she writes as Lisa Black. With a similar lead female character in forensics, this will recall Kathy Reichs' investigative books. This reminds me of Jeffery Deaver's technique in early books of following the action minute by minute to ramp up the intensity of the hostage situation. Loved it and it certainly reads as though there will be a sequel. Strong female characters also remind me of the works of mother/daughter writing team P.J. Tracy. Read on!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I think this author shows a lot of promise to compete with Vince Fynn, Joseph Finder, John Grisham, and James Patterson, in the book world, but she is just not there yet. I couldn't get into the characters and the plot was slow to develop. No twists or turns or ups and downs, it just plodded along. It was not easy or fun to keep reading until the end. Keep trying, Lisa, you are almost there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy Lisa Blacks writing and this was no exception although I would say it was average, have enjoyed others more.
BookaholicTracy More than 1 year ago
Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. It grabbed me right from the start. I do not want to go into the story too much, as it might spoil it for someone else. It is one of those stories where nobody acts or responds the way you expect them to, and you can't figure out why the robbers are doing the things they do. You are also intrigued by the murder right at the start of the story, and want to know what happened and why it happened. A very good page turner with an ending you won't see coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is ok. Not a real Lisa Black read....nail biting trying to guess the ending. I was disappointed with this book, but you cant bat 100% all the time. I just didnt get it or get into it. It sermed really stupid. Knowing how the FRB works may have ruined it for me, but the negoiator really blew too many things and made this book hookey. Sorry, you usually are one of my favorite writers.
jeanie29 More than 1 year ago
Can't put down book! Great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
this is a new author that I have found and I really enjoyed her book.
MsObie More than 1 year ago
A fast paced thriller about a bank heist gone wrong.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not happy I read Evidece of Murcer first because it said the published date is Sept 2009 & Take over is Oct 2009 but Take overis the first book in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another firensic scientist who somehow is alliwed to do a cop's job instead of her own. Stupid and annoying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kind of boring.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read. Different. I'm not sure things would play out like they did. But it is important to how the story goes. I can't say more without giving away the story. But well worth the read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago