×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Taking
     

The Taking

3.8 299
by Dean Koontz
 

See All Formats & Editions

 
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

On the morning that marks the end of the world they have known, Molly and Neil Sloan awaken to the drumbeat of rain on their roof. A luminous silvery downpour is drenching their small California mountain town. It has haunted their sleep, invaded their dreams, and now, in the moody purple dawn, the young couple cannot

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Taking 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 299 reviews.
pandacheri More than 1 year ago
I picked up The Taking because the synopsis intrigued me. As I started reading, I thought, "OK. This is horror." As I continued and the plot developed, I thought, "No, this is science fiction." By the end of the book, I decided it was something entirely different, and that it really doesn't fit just one genre. I then demanded my husband read it so we could discuss it. He did, and we had wonderful conversations as he progressed through the book. As a result of reading The Taking, I began a quest to read as much of Dean Koontz as I can get my hands on. At last count, I think I'm up to 47 books. I have a long way to go, and as prolific a writer as he is, I may never catch up. That is a marvelous problem to have. Read this book if you are on a spiritual journey. Share this book to discuss it with friends. It could change the way you view life.
tattooedmommie More than 1 year ago
When I first started this book, I wasn't sure if I'd really enjoy it as much as I enjoy all of Koontz's others. I've never been one to really enjoy an alien invasion themed plot, but I have to admit that I was hooked into the story almost immediately. Leave it to Koontz to make me want to read a story about a topic I usually avoid. By the last page, which I reached in record time, I put the book down and had a hearty laugh because my perception of the whole story felt askew. This review may be a little confusing, but once you've read the book you'll understand why. I was so surprised at the ending that frankly, I wanted to read the book again just to put the puzzle pieces together a little earlier. As with most of Koontz's work, I can't recommend this enough!
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was a roller coaster ride of fear! It kept me interested and on my toes. I really thought it was very unnerving! Great read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
In my opinion, this is Dean Koontz in top form. If you want a creepy horror story which lacks substance in favor of gore and does not have you guessing what the heck is going on in the story, this book is NOT for you. That being said, The Taking blends horror and thriller into a soupy mix of science fiction, mystery and spirituality which will leave you confused as to what exactly is going on.... Until the end of the book, when the full plot of the story is revealed and leaves you with a blown mind! One of my favorite books from my favorite author. :)
dragon47 More than 1 year ago
This is a great book it will keep you guessing up until the ending which is not what will think at first. The characters Neil and Molly are just like the couple next door they really step-up to the bat, and you care what happens to them. As always expected of Dean Koontz this is a keeper
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like scary books then this is just for you. I couldn¿t sleep for a week after I stopped reading it. This book is sooooo good I couldn¿t finish it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had to sleep with the lights on, enough said!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
One of his best
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dean Koontz reeled me in with his masterful use of word imagery and suspense in the first parts of this book. Admittedly, I was drawn in deeper and deeper until I was literally terrified while reading chapter after chapter. But as the book progressed, it became evident to me that the religious overtones were getting stronger and stronger. I don't mind reading pieces where the author quotes scriptures throughout dialogue and weaves it into his plot, but it became excruciating for me. By the end of the book, I felt as dirty as Molly did after she stepped off the porch and into the rain. I felt soiled by Koontz's twisted writer's mind. But then again, I think that is the goal of the story!! He did a marvelous job in creating enough suspense and supernatural terror to scare the pants off a seasoned reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I owned the paperback version of this book and it started my love for end-of-the-world books. One of his best yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Super scary,creative, philosophical, and creepy. Terrific ending! You will never forget this story!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very creepy and good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it entirely.... Great novel by Koontz
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read overall. If you dont like description go see a movie dont read a book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I don't think I have ever read a Koontz book I didn't like. This one was just as awesome. Loved it!
Caryn Carrigg More than 1 year ago
i love this book. one if my favorites from koontz. the way he explores the darkness inside people, the worse monsters we coud imagine but unfailing belief in the innate good givea us the evil we get excited to explore but an unlikely hero to identify with is what keeps me coming back.
Shaneil Nakamoto More than 1 year ago
I loved this it took me back to the great suspense and twisting plots of his earlier work! A must read!
TEST NOOKUSER More than 1 year ago
I found this book to be slowly suspenseful and just the right amount of creepy. Did not see that ending coming.
CTK More than 1 year ago
Overall, I enjoyed the book. The first 100 pages were excellent. The middle got a little too sci fi for me and the ending was about where I was expecting it to go. This is Dean's version of the rapture - Mankind starting over with "hope".
libby101a More than 1 year ago
This is another one of Koontz greatest! This was my third book by Koontz and I must tell you, I think it is one of his best works! I couldn't put this book down, I read it all in one night! I loved it! Koontz is the best!
C_A_Burch More than 1 year ago
Perfect Koontz! Grabs you from the beginning and doesn't let go until you've read the last word...suspense, action, horror; this book has it all. Fast paced and the mystery never stops until the final climax...read it and find out! Great job Mr. Koontz!
Dolphin11067 More than 1 year ago
I read this book in TWO DAYS!...It is awesome..would love to see this as a movie! Koontz does it again!
Melissa_MTX More than 1 year ago
This is my first book that I've read from Dean Koontz and I thought it was very clever! Had me guessing about what was happening til the very end!!! Loved the ending!
TheEerieCoterie More than 1 year ago
Few writers are able to - or even try to - mix genres. Dean Koontz excells at this endevour time and time again. Sci/Fi, Horror, Humor, Romance, Spiritualism can all be found in The Taking, one of the most interesting fast-paced thrillers in quite awhile. On the offset it appears that aliens are invading earth, but as usual in a Koontz tale, nothing is as it seems and the truth is by far more intriguing. No cliches here, just a wonderful, relentless story of a couple dealing with the strange occurances that are plaguing their town. Koontz creates some jarringly gory scenes and terrifying encounters with "something" while maintaining decent character developement. His beautiful lyrical writing style adds depth to what would otherwise be a been there, done that kind of tale. His use of T.S.Elliot poetry at each section entry point lends even more literary flair to this harrowing book.
ewolf More than 1 year ago
You think you know what to expect but you don't. You don't even see it coming. This is my all time favorite Koontz book. You are easily able to empathize with the main characters and understand their inner conflict. I reccomend this book to anyone who is looking for something out of the ordinary that will make you think and is also looking for a scare.