×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Taking Eve (Eve Duncan Series #16)
     

Taking Eve (Eve Duncan Series #16)

3.5 139
by Iris Johansen
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Filled with intriguing twists and characters and an overarching mystery that will keep fans coming back.”—Kirkus Reviews

As a forensic sculptor, Eve Duncan’s mission is to bring closure to the families whose loved ones have vanished. She knows their anguish—her own beloved daughter, Bonnie, was taken from her when

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Taking Eve 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 140 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While the partial story might read well, its just setting everything up for the next book. No complete story at all. I hope people scan the reviews so they know better. I just made the mistake of buying it because I liked the Eve books. I wished I had read about it first. How greedy can you get. Pretty bad of you! I will not be getting anymore of your books unless you make it free the next time for tricking people into buying this one. Pure greediness.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read every one of Iris Johansen's books and never been disappointed until now. This was an introduction to the action and something I certainly could put down. These three books should have been one in order to give the customer their money's worth.
L-T More than 1 year ago
I love reading Iris Johansen books, but this wasn't quite fair.  If you have to buy all 3 to finish the book.  It makes it really cost more like $20.00 some dollars, which is high.  I didn't like how it left me hanging in mid air.  It's a really good book, just shouldn't have been broken into 3 pieces.  Not fair.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read all the books in this series. I thought that she was finished with it, but when this was available I preordered it. After reading the book, (which was only plodding along) the end finally came. BUT it is not an end at all. The book just stops with an advertisement for the next half of the book which will be out later this year! WHAT????? If I was not reading it on Nook, I would have ripped the book in half and thrown it. Since when are we going to be given half a book at a time without being told in advance? This is a huge rip-off. I am going to avoid buying any books published by this company. If I want to read them I will check it out at the library, but I will not support this BS. Do not waste your money...who wants half a story.
dlb333 More than 1 year ago
I have enjoyed the previous Eve books, but so far (I am only a few chapters in) this one seems to wander all over the place, it is hard to follow.  I almost seems like it was written by someone else and Johansen just signed her name to it.  Also, something is wrong with the font size in the edition I bought, so I returned it.  Customer service said the book will be reissued with proper font size.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read every book in the Eve Duncan series. I was so excited when I found out about this trilogy. I have to say though that I was a bit disappointed. I've always had a hard time putting her books down once I get started, but this one didn't grab me as all of the others did, and some of the wording was repetitive. I hate to be critical because she is one of my favorites. It was good, just not great. I guess my expectations were high since the other books in the series have all been great. I'm hoping that Hunting Eve will be more along the lines of what she's written in the past.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So boring I can't finish book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I've tried to read by this author and didn't know there were other books in this series (or that this was a series at all). Whatever happened to really good stand-alone books? I'd also love to know why it is so difficult for Barnes and Noble and Amazon to accurately describe a book. Genre would be great...most of the books I've read on either Nook or Kindle have an industry standard "card catalog"? Is it too much to have a standardized listing of: Number of pages File Size Genre Publishing Date Date first version published Take some lesson's from an antiquated library!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Repetitive, pointless, artless. I expected better from this author. Don't bother with this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've enjoyed previous Johansen books but this non-ending is ridiculous. The rest of the series should be available at no charge. I won't be buying anymore of her books. Shame on you.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is missing a very important part, an ending. It's as if Ms. Johansen tired of writing the book and failed to tie up several integeral parts of the story. I was very dissapointed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is so predictable
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoy reading her books, but I felt it left you hanging. It will be necessary to read the trilogy. She is entertaining. However I feel she should have complete it in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
story line is good.. dialog is nothing people in real life would have.. kinda repetitive and down right silly at times I found it boring and did as best as I could to finish the book.. its no where as good as thew past books have been.
-Georgia More than 1 year ago
I will not read any more Iris Johansen books after this series.  The writing is horrid, not the story line.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weak plot, very sappy. Joe loves eve, eve loves joe, jane loves eve and joe. Jane has two strange guys hanging around. Shallow characters, really disappointed, I have read all the eve duncan books, this will be my last.
MaLadyReadsalot More than 1 year ago
Let's just say, I cannot wait for the next book in this newest Eve Duncan series. As usual, Iris Johansen doesn't dissapoint with Eve Duncan or her storylines!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Just read thefirst chapter and I am hooked.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wow
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Recently I bought this copy from Fred Meyer and it was amazing! Just like I said, it's a good book.
Keara More than 1 year ago
I'm an avid Iris Johansen reader and love all her books. This book is no different in her style of writing and keeping you guessing and intersted in the story. I was however very disappointed in the ending of the book. Very unhappy at the way it just left the reader hanging out there until the next installment which won't come for several months.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally enjoyed this book and I can't wait for the sequel. Maybe we will get lucky and it will be released earlier than scheduled. If you love Ms. Johansen's novels, this one will not disappoint. I had a hard time putting it down to go to bed last night.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great book in the Eve Duncan series!
Stevec50 12 months ago
I know that Johansen is popular, but I've never read any of her work before. After this book, I don't think I'll read any in the future. This book is the sixteenth novel in a series about forensic sculptor whose abilities to rebuild the faces of victims has brought closure for many and justice to some. As I'm unfamiliar with the characters I don't know if the supernatural aspects of this book are the norm or something new to the series. Maybe if I had been expecting them it wouldn't have pulled me out of the story as much as it did. Also, it appears that this particular book begins a trilogy within the series and it certainly explains the way this book ends which ticked me off quite a bit. Again, maybe if I had know this going in. Eve is abducted by the father of a young man brutally murdered, but there seems more to that and I don't want to toss in any spoilers. The writing was fine and maybe if I read a stand-alone book in the series I would have a better reaction, but this soured me on doing that. I guess fans of the series or the author would probably get more out of the book. I really can't recommend it to anyone wanting to try this author for the first time.