×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tale of Halcyon Crane
     

The Tale of Halcyon Crane

4.1 62
by Wendy Webb
 

See All Formats & Editions

A young woman travels alone to a remote island to uncover a past she never knew was hers in this thrilling modern ghost story

When a mysterious letter lands in Hallie James's mailbox, her life is upended. Hallie was raised by her loving father, having been told her mother died in a fire decades earlier. But it turns out that her mother, Madlyn, was alive

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tale of Halcyon Crane 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
Every once in a blue moon, I am reminded of one of the many reasons why I love to blog/read blogs/the Internet overall. What's the reason, per say? Well, it's the fact that if not for blogging, I would have never ever heard of some of the books that ended up being among my absolute favorites. The Tale of Halcyon Crane was one of those books, and had I not heard about it, well, it would have been a very, very tragic thing, because this book was drop-dead amazing; not only of the best adult novels I've ever read, but one of the best books I've ever read! The Tale of Halcyon Crane ended up surprising me in many ways. One was the setting, which was Grand Manitour. The way Webb described it made me feel like I was right there taking part in the story the whole time. I loved the fact that in most ways it was very much a time-warped island, one that had no cell service (Oh, the horror of all horrors!) nor cars among other aspects. The characters were another part of this story that I adored! They were well-developed, even the dead ones, and it was absolutely fascinating to learn about each and every one's back-story. My favorite out of all them would have to be Hallie James, the main character. Since while she was sweet, kind, and loving, she was also flawed, like any adult or teen. It was interesting to see her truly find herself on the island and let go of her past mistakes and hardships, so that instead she could move on to a place were she completely felt at home. The plot and writing of this were both well done and, as mentioned before, truly brought this book to life. There was almost never a dull moment, much the opposite in the fact, since I was always clinging on to each word, dying to find out what would happen next. Plus there were parts in The Tale of Halcyon Crane I barley saw coming, an aspect I love in any story. And I loved the incorporation of ghosts in the novel. It gave it a unique spin that made it live up and well past it's full potential. The only problem I had with this book would be the fact that the dialogue sometimes felt a wee bit awkward. But other than that, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is A+ material! In all, The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a fabulous mix of ghosts, romance, and one girl finding herself to be more than she ever expected! I am highly look forward to reading Webb's next work. Since I'm sure it'll prove to be the same! On a side note, I would like to also add that while The Tale of Halcyon Crane is technically an Adult book with all Adult characters, it's still very much a book that can enjoyed at all ages (Saying that I mean teens, not young children, of course). Further more, this book is pretty much sparkly clean, in cause your curious. Grade: A+
RBJohnson More than 1 year ago
Wendy Webb cobbles together an interesting cast of characters to create a story that is warm yet chilling, comfortable yet unnerving. You'll fall in love with Halcyon (Hallie) Crane as she explores a world that is new to her, yet to which she has always belonged. You'll want to be Hallie, and yet you'll be somehow glad you are not. Hallie learns she is heir to a mansion on a beautiful and affluent resort island. When she visits the place, she finds out there is much more to the story -- to her story -- than she ever imagined. The island's greatest secret, she learns, is Hallie herself. Only she can exorcise the ghosts that haunt the place, literally and figuratively.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great twists. Highly Recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My book club read this book, and we all loved it! It' s hard to get 15 girls with all different tastes to all love a book, but this one did it. It's filled with suspense, & it feels like you right there inside the book. Amazing!
theshippingnews More than 1 year ago
Yikes. What did she just say? Do people really speak like that? I found myself asking those two questions a lot throughout the book. The story was somewhat compelling, if not all that original. Still, there were moments when the language was so formal, occasionally anachronistic, that I often stumbled over it. These interruptions made the book feel more like work than pleasure, at moments. But if things like that don't bother you, and you're a fan of ghost stories, you would probably enjoy this boook.
NouveauCase More than 1 year ago
Webb comes up with an original and suspenseful ghost story, and her characterization of protagonist Halcyon Crane is touching. The character is well-developed, almost too much so in comparison with the other characters. The book resolves itself rather too nicely in the end, and too quickly for the time she spends developing the story. It's as if she realized after considerable commitment that the story didn't quite flow - but persisted anyways. The book definitely has one of those too-much-information endings - she would have done better to leave out the last two chapters entirely. This would be great for the beach or a weekend read, but I wouldn't recommend it to any serious fans of gothic literature.
Alex Hines More than 1 year ago
Overall the story was great. I could not put it down at times. There were quite a few capitalization errors but they meant almost nothing with the fantastic story line. READ IT. : )
bridget3420 More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book A LOT! It's definitely a haunting tale that will delight lovers of the paranormal. The Tale of Halcyon Crane is a creepy story that's brilliantly written. I can't wait to see what Wendy comes up with next!
Reader_J More than 1 year ago
I downloaded this book on my nook without knowing anything about the author. It was a little slow starting out but picked up very quickly. I enjoyed reading this book and there were times that I was a little afraid to "turn the page". I would recommend this as a good curl up with an afghan and read on a cold rainy weekend book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Like Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca and more recently Diane Setterfield's The Thirteenth Tale, Wendy Webb's The Tale of Halcyon Crane pulls you into a world of family secrets and history. The novel is well passed and atmospheric, and will demand that you loose sleep just to finish it. A great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book but not as much as some of her others. The ending had a great twist but left me wanting a little more . Still a great read though. Will recommend
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Every book I have read of hers has been great! You won't waste u r money in purchasing this deserves 5 stars ! !
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bookwormSF More than 1 year ago
Very fun read.  
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not too into supernatural and was surprised with this after the first book as thought it was a continuation of main characters but it wasn't. I think I enjoyed this more than the first book once I got the gist of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Eerie and suspenseful, until the last page! Cannot wait to read all of her books!
ScrappinRN More than 1 year ago
Recently heard of this author and, needing a book for vacation, I purchased this title. Quite an intriguing read and could not put it down.   Would highly recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A couple of months ago I was recommended to read this book by a friend while chatting on a run. Just got around to buying on my nook and devoured it in a day and a half. I even read not while MBTA traveling. I usually only read on train and lunch break at work but I couldn't wait to see how story ended so I never put it down. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is a great read! LOVE Wendy Webbs writing. I can SEE what she is writing and I read the book in a matter of days!
yaye More than 1 year ago
I read the tale of Halcyon Crane in 2 days that's how good it is and I would recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This fast past book has just enough chills to your spine to hit a sweet spot of good story with a little edge of your seat. Weaving some great lakes history into the tale is a nice touch.