×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tale of Murasaki: A Novel
     

The Tale of Murasaki: A Novel

3.5 8
by Liza Dalby
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Tale of Murasaki is an elegant and brilliantly authentic historical novel by the author of Geisha and the only Westerner ever to have become a geisha.

In the eleventh century Murasaki Shikibu wrote the world’s first novel, The Tale of Genji, the most popular work in the history of Japanese literature. In The Tale of

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tale of Murasaki 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 9 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Everytime I read this book I get so lost in it. It gets shorter everytime I pick it up. 'Some books just aren't long enough.' I had the pleasure of meeting Liza Dalby once. She is a great lady with extensive understanding of what it truly is to be in that life of courtesans and Geisha. Highly recommended.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
this book helped me heighten the interest in not only the heian culture but all general interest in the histories and cultures of various countries. it does a great job showing the scene to the reader. very beautifully written, poetic, and elegant.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is book is subtle, and the conflict is there if one knows how to sense the intense emotion under the refined surface. The restraint of expression is, of course, intentional, and Liza Dalby has accomplished it beautifully. The personal conflict goes beyond just Murasaki wondering what to write her next poem about. The conflict is of a young woman who does not quite fit the mold of what a woman should be in tenth century Japan. Dalby beautifully and subtly expresses Murasaki's sensibilities, as shaped by her culture, upbringing, and personality. Writers like myself will relate Murasaki's thoughts about writing her Genji tales.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is exclusively for the Japanese enthusiast. There are some very interesting facts disclosed in the novel but they could easily be summed up in one or two chapters. The author actually goes into too much detail at some points by describing the multiple colors of every single person's robes. Personally, I am not that interested in the percentage of different ingredients that go into making incense. The real problem that I had with the book was the story. There is no excitement, no climax. The fact that the story is losely based on some facts about Murasaki would give, I believe, some room for some type of excitement. Murasaki's biggest dilema is what to say in her next poem. I found myself struggling through the book counting the pages. I have not read the Tales of Genji. I do think that if I had read it before I read this book it might have been more interesting.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally I love to read and can sit through any book, no matter how slow it is theres always SOMETHING. But this book was a chore to read. I was very interested because I had loved Memoirs of a Geisha but nothing happens in this book. Its full or random uninteresting little poems and I had to force myself to finish it. I have never been so disappointed by a book before in my life and for people that want some kind of plot or storyline this book is not for you.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was not a particularly good book - in fact I struggled to keep reading it! I wouldn't really recommend it. There is some interesting information but the story was a bit dry and uneventful.