×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Talent Is Never Enough: Discover the Choices That Will Take You Beyond Your Talent
     

Talent Is Never Enough: Discover the Choices That Will Take You Beyond Your Talent

4.2 17
by John C. Maxwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

New York Times best-selling author Dr. John C. Maxwell has a message for you, and for today's corporate culture fixated on talent above all else: TALENT IS NEVER ENOUGH.

People everywhere are proving him right. Read the headlines, watch the highlights, or just step out your front door: Some talented people reach their full potential, while others

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Talent Is Never Enough: Discover the Choices That Will Take You Beyond Your Talent 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 17 reviews.
Ifeanyienocho More than 1 year ago
This is one book you need in your life. I recommend it to superstars and upcoming ones. Thank you John C. Maxwell for taking the bold step to author this genial work. IFEANYI ENOCH ONUOH, Athor: OVERCOMING THE CHALLENGES OF LIFE
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RolfDobelli More than 1 year ago
The professional sports world is filled with athletes who have extraordinary talent and yet end up with mediocre careers. Of course, every field has people who have failed to achieve their individual talent potential. Why? Talent alone is not remarkable. In fact, it is commonplace. What is special is "talent plus," the term leadership author John C. Maxwell uses to describe the achievement level of people who maximize their talents. Maxwell says you must add effort to talent to make it matter. He describes 13 sterling attributes people should strive to build within themselves to maximize their talents. getAbstract recommends his message to those who coach, mentor or encourage others. In any business or activity, Maxwell contends, talent "is only a starting point." How you develop your talent is what counts, and this book will show you how. To learn more about this book, check out the following Web page: http://www.getabstract.com/summary/11164/talent-is-never-enough.html
Craig_Mattice More than 1 year ago
This book was an interesting surprise filled with well presented insight, thought provoking views on life and success, and an outstanding use of appropriate quotes. I found myself keenly interested in the primary points presented; however, John tends to get a "tad" too detailed in his real life examples leading to a schlogdown in the reading experience. This book is 275 pages long consisting of 13 chapters. I realize his goal is to be as comprehensive on the subject as possible, yet this led to a feeling of being beat to death while making the primary point. I also noticed the book was laid out almost like an outline vs. a readable experience of discovery. Having said this, I never realized the discussion of Talent as it relates to success in life encompassed so many elements directly affecting our success. I recommend this book to anyone on a personal development journey open to new perspectives of how talent should be considered in all aspects of life. I feel it is time well invested and I will read the other books authored by John Maxwell. Craig Mattice
Ben-Dover More than 1 year ago
Talent is Never Enough shares many ways to go through life without relying on just plain talent. The book helps you to increase your potential as a person and enhance your talent to not only help yourself, but to help the people around you. He explains how to be a "Talent-Plus" person. This meaning being more than just a person full of talent. If you learn how to use your life and the people around you to its fullest potential, you will create a better talent as well as new characteristics to your personality. Maxwell, simply teaches through the book to believe in your talent first before because it will lift your actual talent to a new height. He mentions other factors that can be combined with your talent to achieve goals, some being, passion, practice, responsibility, teamwork, and preparation to name a few. He also incorporates many quotes from athletes and coaches, as well as some of his own that are uplifting and worth quoting yourself. The book is very engaging because you can see the passion and enthusiasm that Maxwell feels for this subject matter.

If you are a person that is searching for help on how to become a more talented and more versatile person, this book is an easy read and will leave you with just the help you need. It is uplifting to you, and also a great teaching lesson for all that need it. It is not just a boring teach all book, but rather a lesson filled with stories, life experiences, and things that Maxwell has learned himself from other people that have passed through his own life. With all of the lessons in this book, it is easy to become a "Talent-Plus" person that Maxwell is talking about. Truly, an easy read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book was great. It was very inspirational. I found myself dog-earring most of the pages so I could flip back thru and revisit passages. Maxwell integrates stories and lessons into one. It is very applicable to anyone's life. I strongly recommend this book to anyone who needs some inspiration to do better, be better, or just feel better!