×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World
     

Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World

4.2 42
by Rita Golden Gelman
 

See All Formats & Editions

“I move throughout the world without a plan, guided by instinct, connecting through trust, and constantly watching for serendipitous opportunities.” —From the Preface

Tales of a Female Nomad is the story of Rita Golden Gelman, an ordinary woman who is living an extraordinary existence. At the age of forty-eight, on the verge of a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tales of a Female Nomad: Living at Large in the World 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 42 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I admire the courage of her travels, I found this book to be very irritating. She overstates the whole; "I am an independant woman who doesn't need a man so I can live my life how I want. So there." After a while it sounds like a cliche 1972 Woman's Lib manifesto. She is a very self absorbed baby boomer. Another annoying tactic she uses is by just putting on a native dress she proclaims herself "one of them." Sorry, sister but you ain't. I've sat in Jamaican slums smoking ganja with Rastas playing Bob Marley songs on a guitar. Does that make me a Rastafari? No. It makes me a friendly visitor. There is also a simplistic left wing political view throughout. Anyone who is a little well off is thinly veiled as am imperialist, capitalist, slaver. Poor people are good. And as far as the Nicaraguan Sandanista "they are the people!" No mention of the pesky problem of their viscous human rights violations.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was excellently segmented for busy readers that do not have long stretches of time to sit and read an entire chapter. It was an exotic vacation I could actually afford. Highly recommended for travelers, humanitarians, and those of us who feel like we've abandoned our dreams. Written in a simple, yet sensitive, style that brought me into her experiences.
www.LindaBallouAuthor.com More than 1 year ago
This book did not begin for me until Ms. Gelman arrived in the Galapagos Islands and achieved "total freedom." From this point forward, I was intrigued with how ingenious she was about getting hosted by various government entities, and families about the globe using her children books as her calling card. Trusting in herself and her instincts and in the kindness of strangers, she takes exotic and exciting treks for a fraction of the cost it would take the average person. Being an amateur anthropologist, she craves to live with families of indigenous tribes and even spends sometime living on an orangutan preserve getting to know the nuances of her fellow primates. I am not given to such intimacies, but I enjoyed receiving her insights. Though a thoughtful, caring traveler, I did want her to interfere when the activities she described that were of an environmentally threatening nature. Her stance is one of objective observer that reports on a circumstance, but does not take action that would lead to change. This is more a memoir than a travel narrative relating more about her personal interactions with family and friends, dinners she ate and less about describing the places she visits. Still, an enjoyable informative read that made me want to move to New Zealand and try every green mussel recipe she talks about in her book. Linda Ballou Author of Lost Angel Walkabout-One Traveler's Tales
Guest More than 1 year ago
From the moment I finished the first page I was hooked. The whole time I was reading I felt as if I were there with Rita, it encouraged me to go traveling. A week after I finished the book I packed up what I had, and went on a trip that lasted nearly a month, it was wonderful. When I got to my destination 'In the San Juan Islands' nearly 700 miles away from home I took on a new outlook on traveling and geting to meet people.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
She makes me want to see the world because through her eyes I can see there's more love out there than what I previously believed.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I really, really liked this book! One testimonial says, '...I just inhaled your book. I could not read it enough.' That is how I feel. I wish it had been a lot longer. I wish that she would have gone into even more detail. I wish that there would be a sequel. What has she been doing since the book ended? I am intensly curious!!!!! An intersting facet is that her episodes are not seen through rose colored lenses. She is an ordinary woman. When faced with these extraordinary circumstances, she experiences lonliness, self-doubt, fear, etc...just as we would. In addition, she experiences the guilt of leaving her loved ones behind just as most women would. She mentions that when meeting married couples in the US, she feels negative emotions from the husbands. She realizes, with surprise, that they do not like their wives' fascination with her lifestyle. The husbands do not like their wives asking her questions. They do not like hearing the enthusiasm in their voices as they discuss Rita's experiences. It comes as no surprise that I recommend this book! :-)
ALG64 More than 1 year ago
I got this thinking it would maybe be interesting...maybe. I was hooked on page 1. She's an excellent writer. I felt like I was right there beside her on every adventure though on a couple I stood well behind her...(tense)...it never got boring, you met a lot of people you really grow fond of and places you'd LOVE to see. I so admire her bravery for stepping out...I have a feeling I would have turned back rather quickly but she trudged and trekked forward and it's miraculous the way things fell into place. I don't think you'll be sorry if you buy it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bet many people would like to be a nomad.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The author, at the age of 48, decided to live in various countries around the world, with the local population as one of them. She no longer has a fixed address and has been living out of a suitcase so to speak for decades. Her adventures are interesting and her writing is good but something did not entirely engage me. I'd give it a B.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading about the adventures. It was an inspirational book, and definitely made me want to pack up and go. I did, however, get tired of her bragging. She acts like she is the only person who has ever taken off on an adventure. Although it's commendable that she did it at her age, she didn't need to go on about how great everyone thinks she is.
Guest More than 1 year ago
As an American woman who 'rushed through' backpacking trips in the past, this was a thoroughly enjoyable read. It's so great to know that just because we hit speed bumps in the road, that the journey doesn't have to end. You can keep up with Rita's ongoing journey on her web site too. After reading this book, I feel compelled to thank you her for sharing her life, and to spread the word around. Enjoy!! :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nikki Dancy More than 1 year ago
this book feeds your soul. its in depth and invigorating! Makes you want to give everything up and travel the world to reconnect with all things lost in te real world. It has been in my top 20 since it was published and thats hard to attain...a serious MUST READ!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago