×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tall, Dark, and Determined (Husbands for Hire Series #2)
     

Tall, Dark, and Determined (Husbands for Hire Series #2)

3.4 10
by Kelly Eileen Hake
 

Welcome to Hope Falls where three enterprising young females are accepting applications for husbands-for-hire. With one woman already snagged, Lacey Lyman is one of only two remaining. No one really catches her eye until a handsome hunter arrives. Will Lacey find a way to bag her prey? Determined to investigate why Hope Falls’s mine collapsed, Chase Dunstan

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tall, Dark, and Determined 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read the first book and found the first 30 pages extremely repetitive. Why repeat they same exact events as in the end of the first book? Then the scene where the cougar attacks Lacey and the long drawn out interaction with Chase goes on for God knows how many pages. I thought the first book was repetitive but this book is even worse! This book needs some serious editing. I hope I can force myself to finish the book. I hope the author finds a good editor.
Hollysmith More than 1 year ago
Welcome to Hope Falls where three enterprising young females are accepting applications for husbands-for-hire. With one woman already snagged, Lacey Lyman is one of only two remaining. No one really catches her eye until a handsome hunter arrives. Will Lacey find a way to bag her prey? Determined to investigate why Hope Falls¿s mine collapsed, Chase Dunstan poses as a potential husband and a hunter, giving him the perfect excuse to poke around inside and outside of town. If only he could get the chatterbox Lacey Lyman off his trail. Can he keep his cover while solving the mystery of the mine? I have to start this review by stating that I couldn't finish this book. I managed to get about 70% through it before I stopped trying to get interested in it. For whatever reason, this novel couldn't capture my interest at all. The premise did, but not the story-telling itself. I found the first five chapters of the book are very confusing. It felt like the author introduced too much information at once. For those of us who haven't read the first book in the Husbands for Hire series, it was a lot of information to take in. I didn't feel like the motives and stakes were enough to compose any kind of conflict (again, I didn't read the first book in this series, so that might be part of the problem). I'm still not sure why the hero needed to solve the mystery about the mine collapse. Since he isn't any kind of sheriff, and only a ranger, it didn't make too much sense to me. The story almost makes you think, by the way it starts off, that he is in law enforcement. But he's not. To be honest, those first five chapters were so confusing that my head spun trying to digest the story. Too much happened way too fast. In addition, tension-filled scenes that the author clued us into as an important moment were cut off before the very events took place that the author built up to. Those moments were completely skipped, then the event itself appeared only in passing dialogue, merely telling us what transpired. There were also moments where this story would stop in a scene, take us to another scene, then several chapters later it would take us back to the the scene where we left off. By that time, I'd forgotten about that scene! Again, the beginning of this novel introduced way too many characters. The novel held far too many view points, as well--some that held no significance to the plot. The characters, overall, didn't strike me as memorable. In fact, the ones that truly stuck out in mind were Lacey's brother and his fiance. Other than that, nothing in this story held my interest. I know that Kelly Eileen Hake is a skilled writer, so I'm not sure why this novel came out the way it did. It could be a combination of several things that meshed together. I really wanted to enjoy this novel, but I couldn't. I received a complimentary copy of this book from Barbour Publishing, via NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.
MizChelleB More than 1 year ago
Tall, Dark and Determined is the second story in the Husbands for Hire series by award winning author Kelly Eileen Hake. Maybe if I had read the first book, I wouldn't have felt so lost throughout Lacey Lyman's story. She and her four friends are seeking to rebuild Hope Falls after the mine collapsed, which nearly killed her brother. They post an ad for husbands who can help turn the town into a successful sawmill. The men arrive by the dozens, but none of them catch Lacey's eye. But then Chase Dunstan arrives in town. Only he's not looking for a bride; he's looking for answers. His brother-in-law was killed in the mine collapse, and He stays on at Hope Falls as the ladies' hunter in the hopes of finding out the truth behind the mine collapse. But his investigation is always interrupted by the troublesome and talkative Lacey. I can only give the book two stars. The point of view switched so often, and not just between the main characters. It created a dizzying affect to an already unclear story line. I struggled through the book until I hit about Chapter 25, and even then, I wasn't all that engrossed in the book. The characters have potential, but I never felt like I got to know them, or relate to them. Lacey is really big on her independence and her capabilities as a woman, but she complains a lot about men - the proverbial, Typical man, he . I found the whole thing excessive, and it bordered on offensive for me. Chase wasn't much better with his gender assumptions. The book also has a lot of description about food preparation. However, it isn't woven seamlessly into the story. While educational, it just served to drag the already slow story down even further. Either leave this one on the shelf, or just check it out from your local library. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 25.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Let me begin by clarifying that I LOVED book 1! its as though Hake rushed through this book. The character development for both Lacey and Chase was done with half measured efforts. So much time was spent catching the reader up from book 1, and not a cohesive summary, mind you, and the plot regarding Chase's intensions so blank and one dimensional, that by the time the book got good you were on the last chapter! Lacey and Chase's relationship isn't plausible (I really don't see them lasting their own honeymoon), and why bother to write about Braden and Cora if you're not going to develop the story? Book 1 was SO good, I was sorely disappointed in the lack of substance in book 2. Not sure I should continue the series :(
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. It was a good book with lots of comedic relief.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
ilovetoreadTN More than 1 year ago
Sweet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
FeatheredQuillBookReviews More than 1 year ago
Hope Falls is a small town in the middle of nowhere that was purchased by four female friends. Starting out as a mining town, a collapse in the mines killed many and injured Braden Lyman - the supposed owner and "boss" of the town. His fiancée, Cora, and his sister, Lacey, along with Evie, a friend, and Naomi, Lacey¿s cousin, raced to Hope Falls and basically took over. What they are trying to do is turn Hope Falls into a logging town. In the first book in the series, a flier went out looking for loggers, as well as three god-fearing men for marriage opportunities. Unfortunately, far more than three men ended up answering the ad, and now the logging community is filled with men who are vying for the young women's attention. In the first tale, one man became what you might call a foreman of the town. He goes by the name of Creed and came to Hope Falls looking for his brother¿s killer. While doing so, he fell in love with Ms. Evie. In Book II, a hunter, tracker, and all-out rugged man is after the truth. He lost a brother-in-law in this so-called mine collapse, and he wants to know what exactly happened and whether this "accident" was actually a murder. Chase Dunstan is his name, and when he enters Hope Falls he comes upon Creed, who he has worked with before in the past and knows that his real name is Jacob Granger. Dunstan has no idea why Creed has covered up parts of his past, but when the lid is taken off, so to speak, Evie still wants him for marriage while the other girls want her to hold off and see what else Creed/Granger may be hiding. Lacey Lyman and Chase Dunstan are the focal point, however, as they begin to work together to find the truth and uncover things that Lacey¿s brother, Braden, has also been hiding. Complete opposites, Lacey and Chase find themselves stuck with each other¿s company; and, while trying to find a way to deal with the other¿s odd personal traits, they also must fight the attraction that grows between them. The plot is cute and charming, with a little mystery thrown in for good measure, and Chase Dunstan is certainly the type of rugged male any girl in the middle of nowhere would like to come upon, but to be honest, the best character is Dunstan¿s cool dog, Decoy, who loves protecting Lacey and her pink-feathered wardrobe from preying cougars. Quill says: A normal romance with no real surprises, but a good read for a rainy Saturday afternoon.