×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tall, Dark, and Lonesome: A Loveswept Classic Romance
     

Tall, Dark, and Lonesome: A Loveswept Classic Romance

3.6 21
by Debra Dixon
 

See All Formats & Editions

Bestselling author Debra Dixon puts her charming spin on the classic cowboy romance in this fresh, funny tale of a reporter, a rancher, and a trail of seduction across the great outdoors.
 
Wyoming native and newspaper columnist Niki Devlin isn’t thrilled about following a bunch of city slickers on a vacation cattle drive. She’s got a

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tall, Dark and Lonesome 3.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 21 reviews.
duke50 More than 1 year ago
Although the book was fairly well written and the story line flowed, I was disappointed because it was really just a short story The preview indicated that it was over 250 pages it was in fact only 140. Lots of previews at end of book. In my opinion a waste of money!!!
Nancy Elliott More than 1 year ago
I agree with duke50; book was a good read; however was disappointing in that it was a short story not a novel as advertised; I was not expecting all of the other stuff. What a waste of time and money.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love the story, and really love the cover picture.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
## Good, but not great. I have mixed feelings about this one. On the positive side: 140 pages was perfect for me. Sometimes I want to read something that doesn't go on for days. Also, it was incredibly refreshing for the hero to say that he's only been with 5 women. Most of the time the heroes have had way too many women making them man-sluts which is so NOT sexy. I loved when the hero said: "Don't run from me, run TO me." What I didn't like: It all happened way too fast. The hero was so in love in a week, he's willing to give up his political career and his ranch? A tad hard to fathom. In addition to that, I really didn't feel any chemistry between the two leads. No sexual tension. It was almost boring between them. Won't be reading this again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
marianne68 More than 1 year ago
Classic romance of a woman with a past and a hero with a future. mustt Read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
Tall, Dark and Lonesome by Debra Dixon eISBN-978-0-307-80360-3 Zack Weston and his horse Dap are watching as his four ranch hands and nine city slickers are moving his head of twelve hundred cattle for the autumn cattle drive. His biggest decision at the moment is whether to run for Wyoming State Assembly or not. John Carey, one of his ranch hands informs him of the pretty woman reporter he has on the chuck wagon. Zack goes to check on her and finds the wagon stuck in the mud, after helping her get out and set up, Zack has something new on his mind. Niki Devlin cannot believe her boss, Eli, has tricked her into coming back to Cutter's Creek, Wyoming and to a cattle drive on top of it! She left for college eight years ago and only returns for big occasions. Her life and work is in New York now. She has her own syndicated column, Heartbeat, and her boss thought a series of adventures would be great writing material. Right! It is raining, she has the chuck wagon stuck in the mud, she is in charge of cooking and she don't cook and now mister tall, dark and handsome is coming to her rescue only to find out after teasing him that he is the boss man. Zack and Niki get to know each other and grow closer each day on the trail. After a few days when Niki finds out Zack may go into politics she backs away. With her past she cannot be in the limelight, it would ruin his career. Cutter Creek is a small town though and the gossips don't let things go, which is why Niki had left and not come back. Zack has issues with believing people will stay, his mom died when he was six and his dad goes through wives so often Zack is not sure anymore how many times he's been married.   It is a great trail ride with fun adventures. Brass and Snickers are Zack's cattle dogs are full of fun. John the ranch hand is always full of practical jokes, the five lawyers love coming once a year to play cowboy and you even get to meet Bess, the retired chuck wagon cook. Contains subtle sexual situations. Book received through NetGalley for review
rhonda1111RL More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading Tall,Dark and Lonesome. I liked how Niki could laugh at herself. We first meet Niki when she is riding a chuck wagon for a cattle drive her New York editor signed her up for in Wyoming. Niki was actually from this small area and had only been back in 8 years for quick visits. She was late arriving so she got first dab at the chuckwagon but she got it stuck in the mud. She was trying to get it out when she fell in the mud and sat on her hair and was laughing when Zach first met her. Zach did not tell her he was the trailboss or ranch owner or one of the Westons who owned a lot of property in wyoming and was thinking of a run at politics. Niki did not bring a tent just bought extra warm sleeping bag. when Zach got back to camp and saw her not sleeping in tent he woke her and made her sleep in his tent, with him and his two cattle dogs. It was fun to read about romance of cattle drives and cowboys. Watch them fall in love and Zach kept on chasing her telling her she can run but not hide. Niki job and life was in New York. She hated wyoming and small town gossip especially about her. New if Zach learned about her history he would not want to know her. Zach has a hard time trusting women that they won't leave him after his mom died when he was six and after his dad fourth marriage gave up on his stepmoms staying. I was given this ebook from Netgalley in exchange for honest review.
ldosch More than 1 year ago
Tall, Dark and Lonesome reminds us why we love cowboys such much - YUM! The story involves a young reporter, funny and fun-loving Niki Devlin, who is sent to write a column about a Wyoming Trail Ride run by (hunky) Zach Weston. Niki isn't happy about returning to this small town which she left in the dust for the bright lights of New York City. The story takes us for a ride along the beautiful Wyoming countryside. Along the way we have fun with the other "city-folk" out there for a vacation adventure. We are swept up right away with the romance between our lead characters, Niki and Zach. The story only falls short in that it ends too early and we needed to spend more time with the incredible and wise Grandma Betty. This story is certainly worth reading
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so much fun. I loved it. I talked my husband into reading it and I could hear him laughing on the other side of the house.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fell in love with the characters right off the bat. Good rainy day read.
cathie35 More than 1 year ago
VERY WELL WRITTEN