×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tamed by a Laird
     

Tamed by a Laird

4.0 26
by Amanda Scott
 

See All Formats & Editions

National bestselling author Amanda Scott sweeps readers back to the turbulent fourteenth-century Scottish Borders, where valiant men and women risk everything for their land. Jenny Easdale is ready to accept her fate. She's agreed to marry a man she will never love - yet not before slipping away for one last adventure. Following a traveling minstrel troupe, she's

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tamed by a Laird 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked the part where Jenny walked out on three of her previous weddings.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SheilaDeeth More than 1 year ago
Ah but I'm English; how could I enjoy a book where the English are the enemy? But I'd have to say, I did enjoy Amanda Scott's book, set in the 14th century Scottish Borders. I may not have been entirely convinced by Jenny Easdale's curious escapade, but I was certainly entranced. Rushing from an unwelcome betrothal, determined to enjoy her last moments of freedom, Jenny joins the minstrels and is welcomed by a host of fascinating characters. Meanwhile Sir Hugh is sent to bring her home, and ends up disguising himself as a minstrel too. When the two sing together, love blooms. But is Jenny right to fear a plot against her country, or is Sir Hugh right to insist that she go home? The people, places and attitudes feel well-researched and very real, lending strength to the story. And Jenny is a great character-wise, well-taught, and duty-bound to the workers of Easdale as well as to the rules of the rich. She makes a fitting foil for Sir Hugh, and their stormy relationship unfolds with entertaining twists and turns as the mystery is solved. I loved the insights into Borders life, and the notes at the back of the book-I even learned where the British "pound sterling" comes from! And I loved the adventure of the tale, like a grown-up version (with bedroom scenes of course) of the stories I read as a child. I shall definitely look out for more in this series.
Erin-MacMeegan More than 1 year ago
Excellent tale with very interesting characters. This was an imaginitive story and I really liked the historical background presented. I loved the book and will put it with my keepers to read again and again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
gl More than 1 year ago
Synopsis: Young, wealthy, and orphaned and living in the 1300s, Jenny Easdale is in the unenviable position of being engaged to her guardian's brother-in-law, Reid. While Reid is good looking, he's immature and spoiled. Reid hasn't had experience managing an estate but expects to run Easdale once they're married. During her betrothal celebration, Jenny yearns for adventure and with little planning, decides to sneak out with her personal servant when Peg visits her cousin among the entertainers. Jenny passes as her maidservant's cousin and takes on the role of a singer to be able to join the troupe. During their travels, Jenny overhears a strange conversation that may prove treasonous. Meanwhile, when her guardian realizes that Jenny's missing, it's Reid's elder brother, Hugh Douglas, that offers to bring Jenny back. When Hugh finds her, he decides to listen to her pleas and agrees to protect her cover and become part of the traveling troupe himself while searching for the mysterious conspirators. As Jenny and Hugh work together, they gradually become friends. As Hugh realizes that Reid would be a bad match for Jenny - Reid would try to control her without understanding or valuing her strengths. So, what should they do when circumstances offer Hugh and Jenny the chance to be together? Review: Amanda Scott has delivered a fun and exciting romance set in medieval Scotland. Jenny Easdale is spirited, generous, and beautiful. Hugh Douglas is a wonderful romantic lead. Together, they make Tamed by a Laird an enjoyable escape - either for the beach or during a rainy day.
BookwormBW More than 1 year ago
Tamed by A Laird was a smart entertaining read. I enjoyed both the female and male lead characters as well as the historical tidbits that were included. Amanda Scott always delivers an intelligent and thoroughly enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
In 1374 in Annandale, Scotland, her guardian Lord Dunwythie informs the Baroness of Easdale seventeen year old Janet, called Jennifer, that he will select a husband for her. Outraged as she believes he shouts nonsense that she no rights, except what he grants her, Jennifer decides a stranger would be a better choice; preferably one that does not stay. His selection Reid Douglas is not who the teen wants. At her betrothal gala, after a drunken Reid pawed her, Jennifer enjoys a show of traveling minstrels and opts for a final fling before she is forced to say I do. Since her maid Peg's brother Bryan is a part of that performing troupe, Jennifer joins them. She surprises everyone with her singing skills and is joined on stage by Sir Hugh Douglas, her betrothed's older brother, who has hidden his identity while roaming with the minstrels. As they fall in love, they must trust each other with the truth while also preventing an odious scheme that will harm Scotland. Once again, Amanda Scott provides her fans with a super Scottish medieval romance starring two terrific lead characters and a strong support cast who either bring out the essence of the era or the main players. The story line is fast-paced from the moment Dunwythie dispatches Sir Hugh to bring home the runaway Janet; only to fall in love while Reid was sleeping it off. Harriet Klausner