×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tarnished and Torn (Witchcraft Mystery Series #5)
     

Tarnished and Torn (Witchcraft Mystery Series #5)

4.2 27
by Juliet Blackwell
 

See All Formats & Editions

As the owner of a popular vintage clothing store, Lily Ivory can enjoy a day of antique jewelry shopping and still call it work. But as one of San Francisco’s resident witches, searching for hidden treasures can sometimes lead to dangerous discoveries…
 
When Lily arrives at an antique jewelry fair, her bargain sensors go off left and

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tarnished and Torn 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I enjoyed the book fairly well for a light read, I was disappointed in the quick conclusion. It was almost anti-climatic. Also I felt the author should have done more research on the basic beliefs of the religious systems she used. The use of elementals as demons will be somewhtat insulting and certainly uncomfortable for Wiccan readers, of which I would think she has many due to the use of Wicca within this series. Just saying... Stephanie Clanahan
debbieaheaton More than 1 year ago
In Blackwell’s paranormal mystery novel, Lily Ivory, owner of Cora’s Closet of vintage clothing, visits the gem fair with all its antique jewelry and rare stones, only to have her “witchy” senses pick up a faint trace of magic in the air. Suspecting another practitioner was at the fair, she’s taken by surprise when fires ignite and panic flares. When all is said and done, one of the merchants is found dead—murdered in such a way that it could have been history repeating the witch hunts. With a crime that hits close to home, Lily turns only to find herself facing her long-gone father—and the police’s prime suspect. Regardless of their painful past, Lily is determined to clear his name and solve the murder. An extraordinarily entertaining read and smashing addition to the A Witchcraft Mystery series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Juliet's has such a beautiful way of crafting a story. Beautiful witchcraft, mystery & just enough romance. I'm a "dyed in the wool" romance junkie. However, Juliet's has me hooked! I have really enjoyed reading her work. I'm on tenterhooks waiting for the installment!
Judy-Ree More than 1 year ago
It has been awhile (since February 2013) since I read the last book in this series. I didn't reread my review, wanting to go into the book cold and see what I could remember. Not as much as I had hoped, but the more I read, the more came back to me. In the last book, Lily had been told that her mysterious father would be coming to town. It was was with much less fan fare than I expected. To me, he fairly threw off the dead beat dad vibes, and I was less than sympathetic towards him. Thankfully, even though Lily wanted more of a positive relationship with him, she kept her head and didn't rush into anything. We learned some things about their history, but much is still shrouded in mystery, even from Lily herself. Ultimately, this was a book about estranged relationships. Lily's and her fathers, Lily and Sailor, Lily and Aidan Rhodes, Sailor and Aidans. But Lily didn't just dive back into these relationships. She is taking her time, using her head and putting real thought into how she wants each relationship to develop. I appreciate when an author doesn't take the easy drama route, it sets an example of maturity and growth. It also opens up new and different avenues than the more cliched routes. We knew who and what the head bad guy was fairly early on. This book was less a whodunit and more a treasure hunt. One where we followed the clues right along side Lily, though finding all the lesser bad guys did play a part in the mystery.  It seemed like all the main characters from the series played some part in the book and it was nice to be able to check in on them, while meeting a few new ones. While I enjoyed the book, it didn't have the sparkle and shine that the last book had for me. I am not sure why, maybe something to do with Lily's father, or perhaps with Sailor and his attitude, or maybe it was the talk of the Witch Trails torture techniques. Any way I look at it, this book just had a much different tone than the last one. I am going with 3 stars on this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The latest in Blackwell's Witchcraft Mystery series is quick and entertaining. We finally get to meet Lily's mysterious father, and the interrupted romance between Lily and Sailor picks up again. My only real complaint is the rushed resolution: the confrontation with the demon Xolotl needed more detail, and the denouement was more tell than show. Still, this book was a lot of fun, and I look forward to the next installment. -- lyradora
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dontlukbak More than 1 year ago
As always, I love Blackwell's books. I especially enjoy the audio versions of A Witchcraft Mystery series.  This book was very good except the ending just sort of stopped. A little too anticlimactic, in my opinion. I've never exorcised a demon, but I would think it wouldn't just disappear that easily after a full book of horrible events occurred.  I might have missed something along the way. I still highly recommend her books for cozy mystery reading with a magical touch.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Cute read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
NJWH More than 1 year ago
This is a great series to follow! The author builds on each character and has changes in each book that keep it interesting. I enjoy each new book.
daveysmom More than 1 year ago
I loved this 5th book in the witchcraft mystery series. Looking forward to the next installment.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im really looking forward to the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another winning book for this series! Lily Ivory is a refreshing character who is finally finding herself and a home where she belongs. This is a great book and a winning series that shows how a good mystery, friendship and love can mix to create a winning combination.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
webspelunker More than 1 year ago
Another great book in this series by Juliet Blackwell! The story is fun and lively with a good dose of suspense.  Some background stories are brought together and Lily's father's introduction is a plus.   Old characters return and are as welcome as ever. The author's writing is maturing as evidenced by her opening chapter which I think is some of her best writing yet.  Other examples put the story in the context of San Francisco. This book can be read by itself but, as always, I recommend reading the preceding ones for a more enjoyable experience. I strongly recommend this book and can't wait for the next one in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this series! Sorry to see it finished.