×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Tea Rose: A Novel
     

The Tea Rose: A Novel

4.5 312
by Jennifer Donnelly
 

See All Formats & Editions

The Tea Rose is a towering old-fashioned story, imbued with a modern sensibility, of a family's destruction, of murder and revenge, of love lost and won again, and of one determined woman's quest to survive and triumph.

East London, 1888-a city apart. A place of shadow and light where thieves, whores, and dreamers mingle, where children play in

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Tea Rose 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 312 reviews.
JamieFan More than 1 year ago
I've been looking for another 'historical romance' series since finishing the 'Outlander' saga of Jamie and Claire Fraser--which is, in my humble opinion, the best romance saga of all time! But I digress--This wonderful book was recommended to me by a fellow 'Outlander lover' as almost as good as the 'O' series; and she was RIGHT! I loved the characters, the pathos, the descriptive language, the rich development of characters, and the nail-biting murder mystery of the victims of Jack the Ripper. All in all, I'd recommend this book to anyone ruined as I was for any other books except those written by the fabulous Diana Gabaldon. Jennifer Donnelly's writing is almost as wonderful as Herself's prose. I'm just starting 'The Winter Rose'--and can't wait for 'The Wild Rose' which is supposed to be coming out sometime in the next year. If you like historical romance that doesn't devolve into a 'bodice ripper' but has a wonderful love story woven throughout, you will love this book!
TeeNY More than 1 year ago
I loved reading The Tea Rose. I could not put it down. The author keeps it exciting and fast paced. It has a little of everything in it. It was romantic,sensual, thrilling, intense and truimphet. I just finished the book and now I am reading The Winter Rose.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jennifer Donnelly has the ability to pull the reader in as she spins her story. You feel the hope, despair, loneliness, happiness and love as the characters unfold. Don't let the size of this book stop you from reading the wonderful words Donnelly has written-you won't be sorry!!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I don't even know where to begin, I have two chapters left till I finish the book. I am 17 years old and I just can't come to my senses on how amazing this book is. I couldn't put it down and not wonder what would come next. It brought me to tears too many times happy ones, sad ones, angry ones etc. I found my self laughing a lot and I would read as I walked home! Fiona, a wonderful, strong, beautiful, honest girl who suffers a lot and yet keeps her life going. Amazing love story. Tastefully done. Justice served, this book has it all! Marvelous! I can't wait to read everything else Ms. Donnelly has written. PLEASE PLEASE DON'T HESITATE IN READING THIS BOOK. I ASSURE YOU, YOU WONT REGRET IT!
Guest More than 1 year ago
The author takes us back in history inviting us to walk the streets of London in the "not to good times" and take a strong character such as Fiona and allow her to blossom from a young girl to a woman with fiery drive and compassion to those that she loved and lost; this is a time in the new world when it was totally unheard of for women to be successful in the world of business. I couldn't put this book down and what a book for television or movies!!!!!!!!!! Jennifer Donnelly.....what a great job and all of your hard work is worth it! Keep 'em coming! This book is #1 on MY list!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Must read. This book has all the drama of real life. A very clean and decent read on how one bad decision will impact the rest of your life.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I absolutely LOVE books by Catherine Cookson. But, since she is virtually impossible to find, it is WONDERFUL to find someone who writes similarly to her. I love stories about the servant classes of Victorian England but I LOATHE the "bodice ripper" type of book. So, it is very hard for me to find a book that I like as well as I like this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Wonderful story, the best of the series. Unsicomoro
grad_jessy More than 1 year ago
It is rare for me to get into a book so much where I begin to wonder of the characters and plot twists when I have to pry myself away from the story. Jennifer Donnelly's writing entranced me from the very beginning and kept my constant attention throughout. I find that I am often bored in books and it can be a struggle to get through a story, but this book was a constant page turner. A very rare book indeed packed with memorable characters filled with hardship and courage to get themselves back up on their feet.
butterflyES More than 1 year ago
This book lets you know jusy how easy it is for your entire life to change in a fraction of a second! It shows you should never take advantage of what is good in your life you should always savor every waking moment! This book made me laugh, cry, gasp, hold my breath, everything you cam think of it did. Its a heartwrenching story that will stay with me for a long time to come! Great, expressive, amazing read!
Bostoncharm More than 1 year ago
This book is exciting, heartfelt, smart, witty and the author doesn't let you down. (I couldn't read this book fast enough) You will fall in love with the characters and this wonderful writer brings them to life! If your a fan of Materpiece Theater type books.. you will love this!! The next book in the series is even better.
an-avid-readerPK More than 1 year ago
I had read "A Northern Light" and had to read another one of Jennifer Donnelly's book, bought "The Tea Rose", could not put it down, I stayed up untill 3am last night to finish it. This will definitely go on one of my favorites list. If you love romance, murder, suspence, and the bad guy getting what he deserves then you will really enjoy this book. Don't miss out GET IT. And just incase in happens I did not put + or % signs in this, I hope B&N get that fixed very soon. Oh will be buying "The Winter Rose".
BabaJoe More than 1 year ago
I got this book on a whim. I had a gift card, and was trying to fill it up. I stumbled on this because one the staff recommended it. It was one of the best book I have ever bought. So far, I have recommended it to four people and they loved it as well. The characters are so real that you feel you know them and care for them as the story progresses. At times, I felt like I was in the story. It struck so many emotions in me, I felt for the characters. It has everything a good book needs, romance, murder, mystery, comedy. It is just a spectacular read. I could not put it down and that is a test of a truly, good book: When you try and put it down chapter after chapter but you keep reading. 5 stars, 2 thumbs up. Amazing book.
caiseemontgomery More than 1 year ago
I am pretty picky when it comes to books and this one was fantastic! I enjoyed everything about it, the characters were great and the love story was wonderful... I enjoyed it immensely! I'm onto to The Winter Rose now~ It was a very well written book and fast paced! I didn't get bored once. Definitely read it, it's a book I think any woman would love!
Anonymous 4 months ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was amazing. It kept me on the edge of my seat until the last page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book has a little bit of everything
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Avidreader22DM More than 1 year ago
A very good read!
randi13RG More than 1 year ago
I was shocked how quickly 700+ pages went by.  Such a great story!!! Now onto Winter Rose and Sid Malone!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
tori_g More than 1 year ago
I just completed the "Rose Series" in under a month.  PROS:  With all three books fresh in my mind, I would say that this was my favorite. Fiona, the main character, set the standard for the ensuing Rose characters. She’s strong headed, determined, and disregards societies’ opinion of what a woman’s place should be. I CONS:  - The entire book was quite gripping, but I feel like in an attempt to create climax on top of an already climatic story, the author just kept shoveling on more drama. Sometimes less is more. It eventually became a little unrealistic.  - This book does have mature (very descriptive) sexual content.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was terrific! Interesting and well developed characters. A plot that twists and turns. People you care about and multiple story lines to keep you thinking. I truly enjoyed this book!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago