×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Teammates: A Portrait of a Friendship
     

The Teammates: A Portrait of a Friendship

4.4 34
by David Halberstam, Jane Leavy (Introduction)
 

See All Formats & Editions

More than 6 years after his death David Halberstam remains one of this country's most respected journalists and revered authorities on American life and history in the years since WWII. A Pulitzer Prize-winner for his ground-breaking reporting on the Vietnam War, Halberstam wrote more than 20 books, almost all of them bestsellers. His work has stood the test of time

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Teammates: A Portrait of a Friendship 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Mrjohnnybuck More than 1 year ago
This book is such a treasure to me that I read it every year as Spring Training begins. Mr. Halberstam was such a gifted writer, and the subject matter that he works with here is truly interesting. It doesn't matter if you are not a baseball fan, the lifelong friendship between these four men is a great testimony, and the end will leave you not only with a tear in your eye, but longing for more. Truly one of my favorite books of all time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a thoroughly enjoying book to read and take me back to my boyhood days in Boston following every game and devouring the box scores. Learning about the origins of the friendships and how deep those friendships grew was inspiring. A must read for all old time Red Sox fans who fashion themselves among those who remember being so close to a pennant in the 50's but seemed to always see the Yankees as the ultimate nemesis.
zpf1111 More than 1 year ago
The Teammates was basically a documentary of four really great friends who had a love for the game of baseball. They all played professionally and that's how they met. They all were players for the Boston Red Sox. Johnny Pesky, Ted Williams, Bobby Doerr, and Dominic DiMaggio made up the group of friends. All had great talent but were never able to put together a Championship season. I thought the book was a little slow and kind of dragged on. It told mostly just stories of their playing days. Also how they continued their friendship past their playing days. It was great to see how players of such high status and can be humble and be such great friends even with the surrounding media. Also, it was interesting how they stayed very competitive while being good friends. Its pretty impressive how they remained friends for so long even after. Usually players sort of lose touch of their teammates once they retire and don't see each other everyday like they used too. They managed to keep in touch and get together for birthdays and celebrations like at the Hall of Fame Induction even until there really old age. I was mostly impressed about how Ted Williams was a true star not just out of the group but in the league. He was one of the best hitters of all time but he stayed humble and did not think he was better than any of his friends or teammates or even competitors. He just had a true love for playing the game. I don't know if I would recommend the book unless you had a true love for baseball or the history of the Red Sox. Most kids wouldn't enjoy it too much because its not too modern. Its very old school in a way.
1234CB More than 1 year ago
Author David Halberstam wrote about players from the Red Sox including Ted Williams, Dom DiMaggio, Bobby Doerr and Johnny Pesky out. When Halberstam learned that in 2002 that Dom and Johnny took their last trip that to see Ted, he knew that he had a story. This book tells that tale. The book recognizes the backgrounds of all four players, details their friendships from the days when they were in the minor leagues through the end of their lives and provides lots of outlook on the Red Sox during the 1940s and 1950s when these remarkable players were on the team. The end of the book also has the lifetime stats for each player. One of the exciting parts of the book is how hard Ted Williams was on himself and his friends. It is a great tale of friendship to see how others would tolerate his abuse. Behind the friendships, you get many glimpses of great character, character that actually makes their athletic accomplishments seem outstanding. I strongly urge all Red Sox fans who want their children to develop better characters to read this book, and share the story with their friends and family. I know of no better book about athletes that looks at the qualities of true greatness. "Baseball is the only field of endeavor where a man can succeed three times out of ten and be considered a good performer." Was said by Ted Williams. This quote symbolizes to the reader that baseball is a hard sport but it can be extremely easy if you concentrate on what you're doing at all times. This is how theses players in the book became so legendary. This quote can also be words to live by for some people. Its saying all you need to do in life is succeed most of the time, clearly people will encounter hardships but it is saying you will not succeed without failure at one point. I agree with the whole message of the book which is to follow your dreams and stay true to your friends. This book relates to some instances in my life where I may encounter hardship, but to back it up I always have my friends by my side to guide me.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Mr. Halberstam does an exceptional job in capturing the essence of family, friendship, and baseball in America that transcends the 20th Century and matriculates into the 21st Century. Mr. Doerr, Mr. Pesky, Mr. Dimaggio and Mr. Williams are not only connected by a love for America's past time, but also by a love for each other. Mr. Halberstam does a fine job of illustrating this to the reader.
MinTwinsNY More than 1 year ago
Rating:   5 of 5 stars (outstanding) Review: Inspired by a trip in 2002 by former Red Sox teammates Dominic DiMaggio and Johnny Pesky to visit their old teammate and friend Ted Williams, award winning author David Halberstam recounts these three teammates along with fellow Red Sox great Bobby Doerr as they maintained friendships well beyond their baseball playing days.    Halberstam displays his talents that won him a Pulitizer Prize as he takes each man’s stories and weaves them together in a collection that is at times inspiring, melancholy, uplifting and even humorous.  The reader will learn a lot about each man that wasn’t necessarily written by the sportswriters of the time when they were teammates on the Boston Red Sox.   Characteristics like Williams’ distance from his children, Doerr’s devotion to his wife Monica (he is unable to make the trip from Oregon because he is caring for her), Pesky’s willingness to be the “goat” of the famous 1946 World Series play in which Enos Slaughter raced home from first on a base hit that was scored as a single, and DiMaggio’s emergence as a player that stood on his own merit and not just that of his famous brother.  There is plenty of baseball in the book as well.  The best of these passages is Pesky’s recollection of the play in which Slaughter scored the winning run of game 6.  It is a very interesting take on the play, as it differs significantly than what is typically written.  Without giving away Pesky’s story, let’s just say that there were other events that took place or were embellished over time to give the play the romantic feel-good flavor it has today. While all four men have excellent stories and passages, I was moved by Halberstam’s writing about Doerr.  Everything about the man, from the wooing and courtship of his wife to his playing career and his life after baseball is captured in a manner that shows the tenderness and lack of selfishness that makes up the character of Bobby Doerr.  His story is one that will stick with the reader for a long time after closing the book. Halberstam has written several baseball books that have received well-deserved praise and “The Teammates” is one of them. This is a must-read for any baseball fan, young or old, who enjoys stories that show the human side of the players.    Did I skim? No.   Pace of the book:   The book is fairly short but reads very quickly as Halberstam gets each man to open up and reveal some very personal stories that they did not share with newspaper writers during their playing days.   Do I recommend?   Anyone who is inspired by accounts of friendship that has endured over many years, whether baseball fans or not, will be touched by this book.  I highly recommend for readers of baseball books, biographies or inspirational stories. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The novel Teammates is a non-fiction story of the lives of four special baseball players. The story is told on while John Pesky, Dick Flavin, and Bobby Doerr are traveling to go visit their dying friend Ted Williams one last time in his Florida home. During their ride from Boston, Booby and Johnny reminisce on great times that they along with Dominic DiMaggio, and Ted had had while they played baseball together. They finally reach Florida and they spend a couple of days with their old friend before he enviably passes away. The four teammates were a very tight knit group. Ted Williams was a stubborn baseball icon that was a perfectionist. He was a man that always knew the answer to anything and would always be ready to debate another on any topic. Johnny Pesky was the little guy out of the group. He was small in frame but he had a big heart and he would go toe to toe with Ted in a debate any day. Bobby Doerr was quiet guy who was very modest and kind. He is the kind of guy that would do anything for a friend. Dom DiMaggio was always in the shadow of his big brother Joe. He never let it get to him and he was a determined player and a great guy. He was little stubborn like Ted and the two bickered some times. "You can't argue with people about what they thought they saw even if they didn't see it." This quote by Johnny Pesky is a quote mainly about how to get along with Ted Williams. Ted is a man that loves to debate on everything. This quote lets the reader know that if you try to apply this quote with talking to Ted, one can avoid a debate or argument. Also this goes along with the theme of friendship. Pesky lived by this quote to deal with Ted and prevent fights with him. He wanted to preserve their friendship. Johnny also said this to teach Dom and Bobby this so they too could avoid fights. Sometimes it is not worth arguing with people when they are very stubborn. The main point in this book is friendship is the key to happiness. These four men became the closest of friends when they played for the Red Sox. Their love for each other was rare and it was unbreakable. I believe that friendships help humans lead a full and happy life. In this book, these friends made each other's lives better. Great friends are hard to come by, you are lucky if you have one in your lifetime you are lucky. These four men were very fortunate, and they knew it. I agree with every point this book has to offer and all of the ideas are very sensible and accurate.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
Teammates is a non-fiction book written by Dave Halberstam. It is about four teammates Bobby Doerr, Johnny Pesky, Dominic DiMaggio, and Teddy Williams who played on the Boston Red Sox in the forties¿ and fifties¿. As the four men grow old Ted Williams becomes very sick. Dominic DiMaggio and Johnny Pesky go on a road trip from California to Florida to visit Ted for the last time. Bobby Doerr cannot visit because he has to take care of his sick wife. The theme of this book is friendship. This book has very deep ideas and thoughts, but there is too much written about their conversations in the car ride their then on other more important topics. Part of this book that could have been interpreted better is when all the four teammates served in World War 2. Many People don¿t realize how hard these men worked to build up their baseball franchise and then got drafted to the army. Some issues that this book brings up is friendship, trust, responsibility. These things were highly valued in society. But due to things changing these attributes are often forgotten. When they should be looked upon very highly. In the book Dom DiMaggio and Johnny Pesky go to visit their beloved friend Ted Williams for last time. This is very emotional for Pesky and Dimaggio because Ted is going to die. I can relate to this because recently I visited my grandmother who is very old and sick. This was very emotional. My favorite part of the book is when they first see Ted. As I kept reading the pages I could feel and sense the warmth of their friendship. Another part of this book that I enjoyed was on the car ride there they were discussing their baseball days. Especially when they talk about the players that they feared most and their favorite players to face against. As they had conversations on the way there I could see how much these men loved and cherished the memories. .In this book I wish there would been more information about the teammates playing days. This book gave me many lessons about life. Trust is one of the most important things you can put in a person. That friendship cannot be overturned. The most important lesson is to never give up on yourself. Anyone can achieve great things and have successful lives. I recommend this book to anyone who likes inspirational stories that make you feel good inside.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Halberstam ia a great writer, and this is a classic about four classy gentlemen who played when baseball was a sport without union control and owners with funds to match their egos. Owners had total control over Pesky, Doerr, Dimaggio and Williams, but the pendulum always swings too far, and it's way out there now.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I was somewhat disappointed that Mr. Halberstam did not spend more time on the actual team play.The players did much to give Red Sock's fans to hope for. I had hoped more space would be given to the actual on field action. I was not too interested in the trips that so much time was given by the author. I wish he had spent more time on Ted Williams contribution to the war effort. More details on Mr. Williams' sacrifices to his great baseball career in his duty to his country. I wish he had devoted more space to the interactions between the teamates, both on & off the field. The book was good, but not great & left me wanting more information & details.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the best baseball books I have ever read.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is spectacular.Every young baseball fan should read it to learn what it was like when loyalty to your team and teammates really meant something. The greedy,gypsy-like ballplayers of today pale compared to the great men brought to life in these pages.