×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tell No Lies
  • Alternative view 1 of Tell No Lies
  • Alternative view 2 of Tell No Lies
     

Tell No Lies

4.6 8
by Gregg Hurwitz
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Another winner from a top-tier thriller writer." —Kirkus Reviews
Daniel Brasher left a high-paying job as a money manager to marry his community-organizer wife and do the work he loves, leading group counseling sessions with recently paroled ex-cons. Now he's about to start a private practice. But just before his last day on the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tell No Lies 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
cohlie More than 1 year ago
Gregg Hurwitz can really write. This is a terrific mystery that never loses momentum. His best yet.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't want to finish the book so quickly. Wanted to savor it but I just couldn't stop reading. As usual, Gregg Hurwitz had me spellbound to the end. Without a doubt one of the best mystery writers of today. Thanks for another awesome book!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read several of Gregg Hurwitz's books and really enjoyed this one. Kept me guessing until the end with lots of interesting characters and plot shifts. Very good reading!
Sandy-thereadingcafe More than 1 year ago
Great story of murder, suspense and mystery: TELL NO LIES is a contemporary mystery storyline of murder and suspense. This is my first Gregg Hurwitz novel. The focus is on thirty something Daniel Brasher. Growing up privileged Daniel thumbed his nose at his family’s prestige and wealth and ventured into the world of psychology, group counseling with one-time rapists and thieves. A married man in a loving and committed relationship with his wife, three times per week Daniel leads and challenges a group of ex-cons and parolees to look within themselves at the who and what in their lives. But soon, Daniel will find himself on the receiving end of mysterious envelopes containing misdirected threats of murder and revenge. The messages are cryptic, threatening and contain deadlines for action. We are introduced to the colorful and diverse group members through a series of one on one interactions where each participant must face the reality of what they have done and how to make amends. And in doing so, the reader as well as our hero will discover that not everyone is who he or she pretends to be. Everyone has a secret to tell. As the storyline unfolds our hero Daniel is thrust into a world of grisly murders and psychotic killers. The local police detectives have nothing on Daniel as he seems to be able to ferret out the next victim before the authorities have time to blink and in doing so, Daniel places himself into a position where the killer begins to pull Daniel into the mystery that is unfolding before his eyes. But all too soon, the threats become personal and through a series of his own investigations Daniel will discover that the killer intends to make Daniel suffer in the same way the killer has suffered in the past. This is a story of murder and revenge; a story where the killer believes he has been betrayed down to the deepest part of his soul; and a story where one man’s grief turns ugly with the need to avenge a death that he believes could have been prevented if not for the money behind the rich and powerful. Tell No Lies is also a study of the sociological implications of who has the power over life and death; and the greed of big money, big business and big medicine. Gregg Hurwitz pulls the reader into a storyline of twists and turns. There is limited foul language; the murder scenes are not as graphically descriptive as are some other storylines I have read, but they do leave nothing to the imagination. The group of counseling characters are an interesting mix of cons, thieves, gang bangers and screw ups who through one reason or another have an axe to grind about how society and the ‘man’ have ruined their lives. And in the end, each will face their demons and come out of the sessions for better or for worse. TELL NO LIES is a dark tale where one man’s choices will snowball into a story of revenge: where money and power have all of the control; and where the lives of everyone you love will hang in the balance when horrendous grief knows no boundaries or ends. Tell No Lies takes the reader on a trail of mysterious messages, missing bodies, murder victims and revenge. Gregg Hurwitz writes an interesting story that will captivate the mystery lover in all readers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gregg Hurwitz seems to never write anything but a great book. This one may not be his best, but it is still better than almost any other author can write. Like all of his books it draws you into the story so totally you almost live it. This one is set in San Francisco, so if you love that city as I do it is a very special treat. It includes a sub plot of a psychological therapy group for felons, where you sit and listen as they open their hearts reluctantly, drawing you into their stories too. Yes, I had teary eyes many times before finishing this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just finished reading The Survivor...That was one of the best books I have read in a very long time. Honestly I didnt want it to end...It's like I'm right there with Nate,Janie and Cielle. This is the first book I have read written by Greg Hurwitz and I am hooked..I just checked out You're Next and cant wait to get taken away in these pages....
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago