×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Temple of the Winds (Sword of Truth Series #4)
     

Temple of the Winds (Sword of Truth Series #4)

4.5 232
by Terry Goodkind
 

See All Formats & Editions

On the red moon will come the firestorm...

Wielding the Sword of Truth, Richard Rahl has battled death itself and come to the defense of the D'Haran people. But now the power-mad Emperor Jagang confronts Richard with a swift and inexorable foe: a mystical plague cutting a deadly swath across the land and slaying thousands of innocent victims.

To quench the

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Temple of the Winds (Sword of Truth Series #4) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 232 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Gosh, I don't mind reading negative views, but the reasons some of these people gave for hating the book were just worthless and without point. It's almost as if some of them only wrote a negative review so they could write big, impressive words and show everybody how ridiculously high they can set their standards, pointing out at the end how they ripped apart or threw away the book. Ripping up literature, no matter how worthless or stupid you find it, doesn't make you impressive. In fact, it really makes you look hot-headed and psychotic. Don't get me wrong, I love hearing about others' opinions whether negative or positive--just stop trying to make yourself look high and mighty.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had read this book before and bought the audio to use while I multitasked. I found that it was very enjoyable and it was next to impossible for me to concentrate on something else as I listened to the continuing saga. Terry Goodking is a brilliant writer weaving many sub-plots throughout his story. This is the fourth in the Sword of Truth Series and is by far one of my favorites. The characters take on additional personality traits and Goodkind makes them more demensional. The story is told in very graphic language. At times it may seem that the sexual content and violence is gratudidous but as the story continues you can see that this specific content is very important to the unfolding of the tale. I would reccemend this series to anyone who likes the fantasy genre along with a really poingnant hero story. Goodkind is a master at weaving the mundane of the everyday with the epic search for truth.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the title of the book is Temple of the winds. the Authour to this book is terry Goodkind. this book was published on 08/01/1998.the type of book this is would be fiction. richard and kahlan work hard together to overcome the power of the temple of the winds. and to do this they may have to betray eachother. i think the intended audiance for this book would be adults looking for a book that has alot of action, but it does have some stuff that may be cosiderd a little over pg-13 so just a warnig but it is way good. this book had highs and lows so i would put it down and then pick it up and i could not put it down untill what seemed to be one of many climax came to an end. this book was an escape for me from school and everything else somtimes you just have to go into the world of the book i would recomend this book to a mature audiance that is looking for a book they cant put down. throught this book grow tremendusly in many ways for example richard starts out in the begining of the series as a farm boy then grows to be a ruler of a huge area and finds he has profound magic and he has to take on these major responsibilities in a short time. many of the other charachters also grow with him. in this book i kept guesing what would happen but i never hit it spot on this book keeps you guesing once they get to the climax it just shfits to another scene so you have to get back to the good part this is an awsome book i invite all to read this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another adventure. I do wish there was a little less explaining of past history for catch up purposes. The story is good.
ScourgeOfGod More than 1 year ago
Terry Goodkind's The Sword of Truth Series can arguably be called the Pre-Harry Potter. It has A place where young witches and wizards are trained,a crazy girl named Looney Lunnetta, and they call evil The Keeper while others call him The Nameless One. Sound familiar? It doesn't matter what kind of fan you are. The Sword of Truth Series are among the best books around. A continuing saga of Richard and Kahlan fighting against The Imperial Order's Quest to eliminate all magic. Richard Rahl is the first War Wizard to be born in thousands of years and has his true love The Mother Confessor Kahlan Amnell is the last of her kind. Together with First Wizard Zeddicus Zu'l Zorander they must stop Jagang Emperor of the Imperial Order from taking over The Midlands and the New World. Terry Goodkind is the highest paid first time Author of Fantasy for nothing. Give it a try and you'll find yourself engrossed in the entire series.
Astralwolf More than 1 year ago
Enthralling, absolutely enthralling. His true talent lies in his hawk-eye powers of description. Goodkind's writing is the High-Def of fantasy novels. He can also take the abstract, like the workings of magic, and make them feel as real as hooking up your computer (though a lot more interesting). Very few books make me read into the small hours of the morning, but the Sword of Truth novels do it every time. The way he can take several intricate plot point and converge them into such stunning and intense scenes and climaxes never ceases to amaze. His writing is so intense, I usually need to take a break and go read some humor/satire after. I was shocked by how dark this book was, with the plotline of the plague. For the first time, the book didn't have that element of separation where most of the horror is caused directly by magic. This is sickness, something we all deal with and that people have died of throughout history. And it's not something that can be fought against head on, like a war (as stated several times in the book). It added a great element of terror and is one of the reasons it will stick in my head for a long time. Also, kudos on the betrayal sequence, very haunting and raw. If you want an all-encompassing reading experience, look no further than this series.
Anonymous 8 days ago
PriPri 7 months ago
Okay, what to say without spoiling? This was a great story. I was never really sure what was going to happen next and whose side some characters were on, which is not easy to do. I can usually figure out characters' motivations and where the loyalties will eventually lie. This time I was flip-flopping. I love the journey and growth in Cara, Raina, and Berdine. They learned that they could love and be loved and yet maintained all of their power and confidence. Cara is by far my favorite Mord-Sith and I think she is the perfect protector for not only Richard, but Kahlan as well. And even though a lot of the story revolved around Richard and Kahlan's relationship, it wasn't all about the romance. Their romance didn't overtake the whole story, which can happen in a lot of books that feature romance between the main characters. I also liked that Lord Rahl and the Mother Confessor didn't take over the whole book, there were other subplots led by other characters that were important to the overall story and very interesting to read. I enjoyed how all of the other stories connected and were important to the main plot. This was full of surprises as we lost some characters and some that we thought were lost returned to the story. And while I feel like there was a clear ending, at the same time there wasn't. Kahlan and Richard are finally together and reunited with the people most important to them, and Jagang's plan was thwarted. But Jagang himself hasn't been stopped. He's still out there and he's been made aware of some prophecies and we have no idea what he knows or what he plans to do with the knowledge. My guess is, he's still coming for Richard and the New World, but how and when?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can i join the she cat asks
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kelley_Bean More than 1 year ago
The series is AMAZING!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago