×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Tempted (House of Night Series #6)
     

Tempted (House of Night Series #6)

4.5 2773
by P. C. Cast, Kristin Cast
 

See All Formats & Editions

So…you'd think after banishing an immortal being and a fallen High Priestess, saving Stark's life, biting Heath, getting a headache from Erik, and almost dying, Zoey Redbird would catch a break. Sadly, a break is not in the House of Night school forecast for the High Priestess in training and her gang. Juggling three guys is anything but a stress reliever,

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Tempted 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2773 reviews.
RowanJayne More than 1 year ago
I have devoured this series and I waited in anxious anticipation for this book to come out. Sadly, I was very disappointed. This book drags, describing the play by play (not very exciting action) of every one over the course of about two days. Two very unimportant days! The story only began to get interesting in the last 10 pages. Clearly we are seeing commercialism at its best. They know they have us hooked to the series so the authors are stringing us along, stretching out the plot to maximize their book sales and hooking us at the end so that we will want to buy the next book. This is a bridge book, a filler for the real action that SHOULD take place in the next book. If I were you I would wait for the next installment to come out and then read the two books together. Otherwise, you will be just as disappointed as I.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey, I love the House of Night. It starts off with a normal popular girl, Zoey, who is "dating" the top of the line guy, Heath. But, when Zoey is Marked, she must return to the House of Night where she learns how to become a vampire. Sadly, in order to do that, she must leave her friends, mother, and possesed step-"loser". (Ok. Let me explain. Zoey's father left them 3 years ago. Now, her mother is remarried to a religious pastor who is really messed up!!! He is totally controling Zoey's mother.) As she enters the House of Night, she soon learns that the reasoning behind her very sudden popularity isn't just because her "mentor" is a High Priestiss, but that she, even as a fledging, has even more power than the rest of the fledgings, and possbibly even more than some of the mentors, that have been there for a while. As Zoey becomes familiar with life at the House of Night, she makes some new friends, who now, and later, help her out, emencially. Zoey also might make something more than a friend. She is soon kicking Miss Popular, who is the leader of the Dark Daughters and Sons, out of her spot. Some think it is for her own popularity and some think it is because the leader, Aphroditie, is all wrong for the job, and is secretly evil, and on the side of either the humans, who think that keeping the fledgings locked up in houses so that they can't escape and get into trouble is just wrong, or on the side of... umm... you don't really find out WHAT they are. But, the one peoson that Zoey was supposed to be able to go to, is on the side of the "new" kind of vampyre. Can you handle to know the rest of what Zoey has to give up in order to save her life, and the lives of those closest to her?
seriesloverJE More than 1 year ago
This is another extraordinary series, will keep you in the thirsty mode to read and keep reading more, it's just addictive, really good, I just have to say is just awesome, is a must for your collection.....
AnbuKunoichi More than 1 year ago
After reading the fifth installment of The House of Night series, Hunted, I admit, I wasn't sure if I wanted to keep reading-I was so disappointed with the main character and plot, that purchasing Tempted and giving the series a second chance, was a long and difficult decision for me to make. I am so enthralled I made the right choice. Tempted surpasses Hunted, and all the other novels in the House of Night Series. My faith is restored and I finished the book in one-sitting. Couldn't put it down. Zoey shows growth, Stevie Rae and Aphrodite reign in as my favorite female leads, and completely stole the show. And my favorite male lead, Stark was perfect from start to finish. Then P.C. and Kristin Cast made me fall in love with a new character, showing both darkness and humanity, and the tormented decisions everyone faces at one point in their souls. Rephaim was amazing and a breath of fresh air and intrigue. I cannot wait for more interaction between Rephaim and Stevie Rae. Burned can not come fast enough.
J-Bailey More than 1 year ago
This is a GREAT series. I just love it. I'm SO excited for tempted. I almost wish i didnt see this because it's just going to be harder for me to wait till i think november when it comes out. I loved these books so much i would read them in almost a day. This series is good for anybody looking for a good teen book. The characters are like real teens would act today. It keeps you wondering whats going to happen next and sometimes i want to yell at Zoey for her decisions but then in the end its like oh yeah it worked out okay. Sometimes. lol Shes a teen you makes a lot of mistakes and knows shes doing it ut tries not to. if that makes sense. Anyway its a great series. It's a whole new way of looking at vampires. it's nothing like twilight but just as good i think.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am 27 yrs old but this has been my favorite series up until this book. Nothing was accomplished. It was slow and just went on and on with pointless banter and when it finally got to a good point, it ended 4 pages later with the sadest, crappiest ending of any book I've ever read! Nothing from Hunted was solved in Tempted. It was a complete waste of a book and I really want my $18 dollars back, which is just sad! It's almost as if they are running out of story lines cause they still have so many books to go that their gonna drag and drag in every book to come. Or maybe they just got sick of writing and just gave up on the creativity. I'm also EXTREMELY sick of Zoeys boy drama, just pick one already so these books can finally have some good romance, which lets face it ladies, we want that in books like these and this one didn't have ANY! I was so upset with this book that I will probably never buy another house of night book again in the future. And I find this very disappointing because I truely loved this series. And why are they always only 300 pages long? Are they in this only for the money? Just write as many 300 page books as they can to get as much cash as possible out of their fans? That would be fine with me if they were worth reading, which Tempted was not! I advise to not waste your money or time on this book, and sadly, just give up on this series. Below are some books that never disappoint, check them out instead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
there is supposed to be 9 books total in this series - we are only at #6...it's gonna be a good one!
Anukari More than 1 year ago
Ok I read the Twilight series as much as the next person (thankfully long before the movie came out and totally killed it) and enjoyed it a little, but when I picked up Chosen (I read them out of order because the books are poorly labeled in numeric order) I was totally thrilled with no sparkly vamps and insane baby mama bf drama, not to say the books weren't entertaining. I loved Chosen and read the whole series all be it out of order it was still a great series. However like so many other reviews I've read on this series I had major issues with the constant love triangle, quadrilateral, and maybe judging by the title now a pentagram. I've had my share of boy issues with the liking my best friend while having a boyfriend thing but come on, really? I don't know any girl like this! However I do think the book has a fairly realistic spin. You have to put yourself in the mindset of vamps have been real forever and everyone has known world but when you do the tie-ins of naming actors and authors makes it interesting. I'm currently dying for the new book but I sincerly hope the Zoey boy toy issues disipate because the repetitive issues with multiple men gets old quick. Her confusion and indecision reguarding what to do and her powers poses an interesting and honest view of teenage confusion when thrust into a new and foreign leadership position. The evolution of Neferets character was well timed and deffinatly a great twist. I do have one other concern however the situation with the People Of Faith killing vamps has not once again been addressed and at first it seemed to be Neferets doing so she had an excuse for her "war against humans" but since book four has been left totally unacknowledge with no leads as to who or what murdered the vamps. Also I felt the Casts did a good job minimizing the back story catch up in each book, except with Erin and Shaunee they repeat the same explanation which got annoying after book two. Shes white, shes mocha they share one brain we get it you call them twins. If you've ever read the Clan of the Cave Bear series you understand what I mean when I say the Casts don't say a lot of back story. One last concern, the books are insanly short. The intergrity of the books keep teens entertained so shouldn't we move past the 350 page mark by now? I mean Twilight is a best seller among teens and thats the size of a computer help manual, I think we can put some more pages in the book without dropping sales... We're teenager not simpletons, we have an attention span longer that a goldfishes... All in all I love the series and look forward to Tempted and any other novels that come out for this series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am so upset w/ the ending of this book. The book overall was a good and I love how it was laid out and the changes in Stevie Rae as well as the rest of the gang, but the ending, what was up with that. It just stopped, no conclussion nothing I am very disappointed and not sure if I even want to know the conclussion. Now it will be what another year before the next book is even released.
BluHawk More than 1 year ago
I completely devoured the first three books in this series: they were fantastic! However, these last few have really begun to drag...I don't know if the Cast duo are trying to capitalize on their fortune or what, but they really need to pick up the pace. If you like this series, then I definitely think you will enjoy the "Vampire Academy" series by Mead. Which, incidentally, is getting better and better as the series progresses!
Clover-Lionheart More than 1 year ago
I'll start off by saying that I do enjoy the books and am anticipating this next one's arrival to my collection. I loved the first one, and the second as well... but after that they kind of became almost annoying in some areas. The fact that Zoey is portrayed as almost 'the almighty' is irritating, give the other characters some more hand in saving the day. We get it, Zoey is the High Priestess in training.. that won't change. Also, the Heath/Erik/Stark love-triangle is seriously irritating. She's becoming a harlequin and often plays the damsel-in-distress card. In book 5 she fainted way too often and was awoken in the arms of one of the three of them. Get over yourself Zoey please, pick one and start the juicy romance because this stupid 'butterflies in my stomach' 12-year-old love story stuff is getting extremely boring. I'm not looking for extreme sex scenes, but a nice romance between her and ONE male would be welcomed. Any one of them. Or anyone else-just pick and be done with it already. A third annoying thing is the use of modern-day references. Seriously? Naming pop-culture celebrities as 'vampyres'? Turn off the E! channel and stick within the books genre...FICTION. That's all I want.. pure, un-skanky, fiction. Please and thank you. I personally was very disappointed with book 5, but I'm eagerly awaiting book 6 and hoping it is better and can allieve some of my annoyances.
Leelan More than 1 year ago
I have been a huge fan of the series and I was so excited for Tempted to come out yesterday. I really enjoyed the drama between Zoey and "her boys" and Stevie Rays growth. But the ending ruined the whole series for me! I am so angry right now with how things were left! I know that I will have to buy the next book, "Burned" when it comes out so that I can try to understand things again. I loved the ending of the last book but "Tempted" left me angry. JMHO
Vampyre-fire More than 1 year ago
I think that "Tempted" was an excellent continuation of the series and it concludes with an evil cliffie. To anyone considering reading the series I recomend it and to everyone reading this series who has not read this one, well, you need to read it. I can't wait for book 7 "Burned". Keep it up Casts!
bethberry More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed the first 4 books in the House of Night series, but Hunted wasn't very good, and Tempted is the worst book yet. Zoey is an extremely annoying main character, and if she'd stop worrying about her 4 boyfriends and not cursing, she might actually get something accomplished. The whole book strayed from the point of the story with all of Zoey's ridiculous drama. I don't know what the Casts are heading toward in the series, but I would never recommend the books to anyone anymore.
-shakira- More than 1 year ago
OMG!!i would have to say best series ever!!!i luv the book except for how zoey cant choose which guy she want,ugh.i would soo pick erik, he is tall,hot,nice,he loves her and her wont lie.i would have stop reading but its so addicting and i want to know what happens.i cant wait for the 6th book!!! and are they really going to have a 7th book? it would be alsomme! there also going to make it a movie
IloveVamps More than 1 year ago
As someone previously pointed out, after reading the "Twilight" sereies for the 5th time you start to recite the book by heart. I, too, started to notice that some parts in "Twilight" were very boring so I knew I needed to find another book. I still LOVED vampires and when a frind recommended this series to me I decided to read it. Ok. I have to admitt this series was great! However, its repetitve and Zoey is starting to look like a slut. The first book she's getting over 1 guy and then meets Erik. The second book she's imprinted with Heathand going out with Erik and THINKS her and Loren have a "thing" for eachother. The 3rd book she's imprinted with Heath, going out with Erik AND imprinted with LOREN!!!!!!!! The 4th book everyone basically hates Zoey, but shes meets Stark and she is interested in him but she wont admitt it, blah blah blah. The 5th book Erik and Zoey are back together Heath and Zoey are imprinted again AND Stark is now some kind of "warrior" person for her. So, again, Zoey is in the situation of having three boyfriends. Erik starts to get posessive with Zo BUT WHO COULD BLAME HIM? Shes cheated on him like A JILLION TIMES!!!!!! The same thing practically happens in every book. And speaking of that, I thought neferet and Kalona were gone?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!? And now they're saying they are coming back?!?!?!? MAKE. UP. YOUR. MIND. Anyway I will probably read this because onece I start a series I have to end it. Dont get me wrong, this series was overall, very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed reading Tempted because it keeps you interested. There is always something going on in this Vampire Series. In this book the main character Zoey continues her journey in finding herself. She learns more about who she is as a person now and who she was in a past life. As she continues her goals she is faced with a few complications of friendship and love. Her true friends seem to always stick by her; Even when she does not understand why. Zoey has a hard time with love. She loves many people but she has not figured out how to deal with it. She seems to have a hard time really letting them into her heart for fear of her own feelings. How will she decide to handle this? Only time will tell...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the most amazing books that I have ever read. It's full of excitment, challengs, drama, and hard choices. It makes you feel like your zoey herself.You will never get sick of reading this series. the ending of this books keeps you wanting more. I just finished it and I can't wait for the next book to come out!
EssenceBASS More than 1 year ago
This book was horrible in my opinion. It took place over 2 freaking days! I think in some ways they rush this series but they space it out. Zoey has been at the house of night for what only 2 months and her life goes from bad to the worse sooo quickly. I felt there was really no point to this book but the last 2 chapters. Everything was just a blur. I would say you should read this book to see what you think but I hated this book. Hopefully the next one is a zillion times better.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I REALLY LIKED ALL THE BOOKS UNTIL THIS ONE! I FEEL IT WAS TO SHORT WITH ALL THE DIFFERENT PEOPLE IN THE BOOKS NOW. THE BOOKS NEED TO BE LONGER SO ITS NOT SO RUSHED. I FELT LIKE IT WAS RUSHED AND THE ENDING WAS TERRIBLE. FOR A SERIES I THINK IT SHOULD HAVE ENDED BETTER. I THINK THEY WILL LOSE ALOT OF READERS BASED ON THE WAY THE AUTHORS WROTE AND ENDED THIS BOOK. THE AUTHORS ARE TRYING TO BE A BIG HIT LIKE THE TWILIGHT SERIES, AND IF THEY KEEP WRITING LIKE THEY DID IN TEMPTED, THEY WILL NEVER COME CLOSE!!!!
_miss_trista More than 1 year ago
It has been a few months since i read the other books in this series, and maybe i just forgot what they are like, but it seemed to me that this book was a great let down the the ongoing story. The past book shave been decent, but this book has horrid. This was a pointless book, it makes no sense if you haven't read the other books, and if my memory serves me right, the other books could be read and understood alone. This book is merely a fragment of a boring story that hardly resembles anything that a book should have. The story was incredibly slow and unentertaining. The book went no where, the plot was ridiculous. The author took so long to get the story going, that when the plot was actually moving along, the book ended. None of the problems presented in the book are solved, and when the book ended, i was left with an empty, unsatisfied feeling. To my knowledge, i enjoyed the other books, but this book has turned me sour to the whole series, that i once thought was worth reading. The author uses underdeveloped language, that leaves me feeling more stupid after reading the book. I understand that the book is geared towards teens, i am 17, and i felt like i was reading a book geared for a 12 year old. Not only does the author not know how to use adequate language, it is obvious they dont know how to write a good book. I dont recommend this book at all, and i wish i could get my money back. this is the last P.C. Cast and Kristin Cast book i will ever buy.
vinise123 More than 1 year ago
I enjoy this series but it's not one of my favorites. Time goes by slowly in one book only a few days have passed. This was the best written book yet in this series. I felt the characters developed a little more and I love Stevie Ray in this book. However I would NOT recommend you read this book until it gets closer to the release of Burned May 27th. The ending of this book does not end or slow down any it just totally stops. I have read many many books in my life time I know they should leave you hanging some to want to keep seeing what happens next. But come on this is crazy the story just STOPS. Otherwise I do recommend the series. If you like love triangles and a little suspense.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this series the more you read it sucks you in I read 5 books in like 7 days I just couldnt put them down. The characters are so funny and it keeps you on the edge of your seat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series is great if your looking for another vampire fanfic but that's about as far as the greatness travels for me. The first book was AMAZING! So much could have been done with this storyline, but the plot continues to repeat for every book. I think the authors take too much time recapping on the last book so that there isn't enough time to work on NEW ideas for the one they're writing. It needs a twist. Something new. Heath needs to go, he has no remaining importance besides bugging Zoey. Zoey's lovelife needs a new turn also. The whole 3 boyfriends at once is old. I give it two stars.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
the whole serise is...okay. it has its good moments but thats about it. almost every book was like a repeat. same problems, same friends, same solution, same everthing. now, the Cast women did throgh some loops in there but other then that it was... not that good. im so tired of hearing about zoeys love life. she needs to dump all of them and keep erik, cuze she just met stark and shes already in love with him. and i thought she dumped Heath in the first book. Erik maybe getting a little possesive but he has put up with zoey and all the trouble she caused for the entire story. and Heath needs to get his own life- and stop popping up at all the wrong times. her friends are... good, they have a lot of character. but zoey... needs help. shes so week, and helpless, even though she has all this power it like she dosent know what to do with it. unlike the main character of vampire academy- Rose. shes strong, smart, funny, and kicks ass in almost evey second of the day. while zoey lingers on small probles for the entire book. i'll buy this one just because i bought the rest. but i hope it has a huge turning point! cuze it's puting me to sleep