×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Ten Miles Past Normal
     

Ten Miles Past Normal

4.3 40
by Frances O'Roark Dowell
 

See All Formats & Editions

Janie Gorman wants to be normal. The problem with that: she’s not. She’s smart and creative and a little bit funky. She’s also an unwilling player in her parents’ modern-hippy, let’s-live-on-a-goat-farm experiment (regretfully, instigated by a younger, much more enthusiastic Janie). This, to put it simply, is not helping Janie

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ten Miles Past Normal 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 39 reviews.
Lauren817 More than 1 year ago
Ten Miles Past Normal is one of the most adorable and hilarious coming-of-age stories I've read in a while! How was little Jane supposed to know when requesting that her parents move to a farm, they would actually do so? Sure, it may sound like every little kid's dream, but come high school it won't be nearly as fun as cute, as Jane is soon to learn. For one, on the first day of high school school, Jane steps in goat poop when doing her daily farm chores (yes, farm chores) and goes to school with it not noticing, but everyone else does as they soon begin to call her "the girl who came to school with goat poop on her shoe." Adding to the horribleness that is Jane's freshman year of high school is the fact she has barley any classes with any of her friends, including lunch. But when gets offered the chance to learn bass and join Jam Band with her new friend Monster's help, she jumps at the chance, and when she meets a new girl at lunch, she quickly begins to see that things can get better, but will she realize being ten miles past normal is the best thing ever in time? Only more pages will tell in this sweet story of one girl's journey to becoming her own person. As with most books I enjoy, I really enjoyed the characters in Ten Miles Past Normal. All of them were there own unique people and that's what I loved most about them. For instance, there's Monster who's one of the tallest and scariest looking guys around, but as it turns out he's also one of the sweetest guys. Then there's Sarah, Jane's best friend, and Emma, Sarah's older sister, who are two girls who don't let anything get in the way of them getting what the want, which often cased for several laugh-out-load funny scenes. Finally, there's Jane, the queen of them all, and while Jane may think being "normal" is the thing to be, her journey to become anything but is funny and heartwarming. While the plot of this was kind of scattered over the place, I still enjoyed this book to the fullest potential possible. I loved how Frances tied so many different plot lines together in a way that they never felt overwhelming, and how she also managed to show through her characters that being normal is way overrated and that you should never judge a book by its cover. In all, Ten Miles Past Normal is a unique read filled with many lovable characters that will leave almost anyone with a smile on their face by the end. Grade: A+
BlkosinerBookBlog More than 1 year ago
Ten Miles Past Normal is quirky and easy read. Janie, the main character is easy to relate to, and her adventures are realistic. The secondary characters, such as Monster, are wonderful and add so much to the story. Another thing that I like is that Janie's mom is present in her life, and portrayed as a "normal" if a bit clueless and a tad annoying at times mom. I think its a good lesson how she realizes how other's opinions and thoughts are dictating her opinion and I liked how she accepted who she was. This is a sweet contemporary, and I really enjoyed.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im only 30pgs into the book and i already love it i strongly suggest for you to read it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was not like any other books I'm reading right now. I can honestly say I enjoyed reading this book. I recommend this to anyone who wants a bit of a different kind of story. -A
epicrat More than 1 year ago
Ten Miles Past Normal is one of those books where I got really sad when the last page came and had to leave all these interesting characters behind! This is definitely a book for anyone who went through high school feeling out of place but - hopefully, eventually, unexpectedly, happily - found a niche to call their own. Janie was such an excellent character! She was funny, easy to relate with, creative, level-headed, endearing, and when she finally found her groove in high school, Janie definitely became a rockstar - or she definitely had the makings of one (I say that because the ending really leaves it up in the air). Her family were interesting, her new friends were interesting, her best friend was interesting - seriously, Frances O'Roark Dowell has brought to life such fascinating characters that I wish they had gone to MY high school. What's unusual is that there really isn't any major romance arc. I say "unusual" because I like to have a little romance to further whet my curiosity. While I kept my eye out for one and thought there could have been one, Ten Miles Past Normal didn't need one. Janie didn't really need a guy. I didn't really need the romance to drive a story. The characters, like I said, really took off with the story and I gladly followed their lead! It was refreshing, truth be told, to see how Janie carved her own place in the world, without the support of a love interest and the distracting desire to have one. A really great contemporary, Ten Miles Past Normal delighted me with its larger-than-life characters and brought back fond memories of me not being normal during high school.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good. Very well written and epic characters. This book reminds me so much about myself!! A must read for anyone trying to fit in when you were born to stand out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Proves that nobody is perfect
Tawni More than 1 year ago
Ten Miles Past Normal was a quick and fun read, but I found that it was boring at times. There was very little dialogue, though when there was any, it was mostly funny. The writing was great and clear and I found myself giggling and heartbroken along the way. Janie just wants to blend in at school. She convinces herself that she doesn't need any new friends. After a few humiliating events, she just wants people NOT to notice her at all. I felt so sorry for her, because high school, as her mom said multiple times, is supposed to be a good time in someone's life. She felt alone and couldn't help but to think it was her fault, after all, she requested that they move to a mini-farm in the first place! Then Janie and her best friend Sarah finally get the chance to talk to Jeremy, the cute Jam Band kid. Without any musical talent, Janie and Sarah decide to join Jam Band and along the way meet Monster (yeah, that's his real name ;) ) and very talented musician who makes Janie feel special. Janie and Sarah, while working on a school project, find out that a local named Harlan Pritchard played a big role in a historical event. Then they go off on a sort of adventure, along with Sarah's older sister Emma (who is the wild child), to uncover the real stories and bring light to these heroes! I really loved the characters is this story. Everyone added a different aspect to it and they were all fun to learn about. My favorite was Monster. He was mature, but fun and made Janie feel like she didn't just blend into the wall and go unoticed. I loved the little adventures and self-discoveries Janie has throughout the book, but I just couldn't get past the dragging on of the first person point-of-view. I would have enjoyed more dialogue and feel that it could've added much more to the novel and broken up the monotonous vibe! Bottom line is that I feel it is a good, quick read, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Books_R_me-13 More than 1 year ago
Ten miles past normal is a fun Very relatable Story about Janie Gorman who just wants to be normal! From her Mother's Blog, To the Goat poop incident, and living on a farm. Then she meets Monster, Yes that is his real name. He teaches her how to play the bass. I would recommend this to anyone who wants an Easy read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Francis O'Roark Dowell really knows how to conect with teenage girls.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey guys so most of your reviews sound really good, but im still not sure i want to buy this book... so can you tell me about the plotline and the main character? Thanks! Please reply to Bianca ( thats me! )
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome all of alyson noel books are!!!! :) :) :)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was really good book. It was possibly one of the best books I have ever read. I don't know what makes it so good but something about it is just so deep an meaningfull.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Im loving it so far, im on page 45 i cant wait to see what happens!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago